We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute decision but brill”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Thatch Tavern

Old Thatch Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Thatched, low beamed and flag stone floor tavern. Dates from 1470 and has many original features. Log fires., Lovely leaded windows and a cosy atmosphere.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Last minute decision but brill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed round the corner and happened on it by chance. Not an extensive menu but the food is fab home cooked food. I had roast pork and my partner had the mixed grill. The portion sizes were huge. Brill staff. Seemed like a local for some but brill service

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    211
    58
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ageless with Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

A friendly and warm pub steeped in history. The food was great too. Our host was helpful and informative about things to do in town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dodeclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Exceptional value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a great place to eat the food is all freshly cooked to a very high standard, the service was also excellent, the waitress came over and explained what the meals of the day were without a need to ask from our party.
With traditional beers/ciders and exceptional food this olde worldy black and white Tavern is a great choice for eating out.
I would recommend booking though as it does get busy

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“Impeccable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This is a busy traditional pub with a dining area and we were lucky to get a table as almost all the tables were reserved. The menu was not overly large and made up of traditional English food. We were served by two younger men with excellent customer skills - attentive without being pushy and genuinely interested in making sure everything was alright. The portion size of the 'roast of the day' was huge and we couldn't finish it all - meat, three veg, two types of potato etc! By the time we were finished they were turning people away which shows how popular it is. For two three course meals the bill came to about £50 which we thought excellent value for money.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The musicians on view on the Sunday night were great especially Carrick and Chloe Hanks. I only wish my daughter was able to make that weekend, as she loves folk and country music. The Tavern also had a lovely atmosphere and a great selection of beers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Thatch Tavern also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Old Thatch Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing