We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Old Thatch Tavern

Old Thatch Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Thatched, low beamed and flag stone floor tavern. Dates from 1470 and has many original features. Log fires., Lovely leaded windows and a cosy atmosphere.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We Visited The Old Thatched Tavern when we were having a short break lovely pub and small restaurant, excellent food and staff werebrilliant especially the bar lady, meals served till 9 but worth a visit not cheap tho

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa123186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    224
    62
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Food was average and a little too pricey. Too many modern touches considering its an old property. We preferred the White Swan which is a beautiful place which has kept a lot of its history the building is beautiful with some unique touches.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pixie472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Nice place for a pint!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Nice old pub that's always been quite quiet and welcoming during the day when I've been in. Good beer, well kept. Good place for a chat with mates!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank neddyb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Consistency”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here previously and noted how good the whole package venue, food was.

But, while a good night was had with family eating out, expectations were high, based on previous experience. The issue is consistency. This was a Tuesday night the plates of food presented were not as well cooked as our previous visit.

Our best experience at this venue has interestingly been when they are busiest at the weekends.

Helpful?
Thank MedTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food was like home made”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our meal.

Cottage Pie was served on hot plates and with fresh cooked vegetables. They were perfect cooked. Not less. I got the impression the chef had been out in the yard and picked them right before we came. :)

Played around 10 GBP for the meal, and I will say it was worth it.

Waitress was very sweet and helpfull.

A little bit untidy on tables but not a too bad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rtollef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Thatch Tavern also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Welford-on-Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon
 

Been to Old Thatch Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing