We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Atmosphere”
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$19
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bistrot Pierre's 'raison d'être' is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and tarte au citron with our own take on regional favourites like tarte flambée, Bouillabaisse and paté de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Open seven days a week serving breakfast, lunch and dinner we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £10.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.50. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soireé Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That's why you'll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online.
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Le Bistrot Pierre had a very pleasant atmosphere and attentive friendly staff. During our two weeks in the UK we ate at so many places that most of the meals just run together. I can't remember what I had at Le Bistrot, but it certainly wasn't objectionable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBistrotPierreStrat, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Good evening,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant; it's greatly appreciated. We are always happy to read reviews both good positive and negative. It is always a joy to read comments from our customers about how much they really enjoyed their time eating with us here at Le Bistrot Pierre. Have you tried our 6 course Soirée Gastronomique menu which we run on a Tuesday twice a month? These menus give you an opportunity to try something a little different that isn’t always on our a la carte or lunch menus. Thank you once again for your custom and for making the effort to let us know you enjoyed your visit to us

Kind regards

Jason Billingham
Trainee Assistant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    242
    87
    44
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Consistent high quality every time we visit.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Every time we visit family in Stratford upon Avon, we always include a visit here.
Excellent choices on the menu and "specials" board at prices that don't scare the horses and combined with efficient and pleasant service, what's not to like!
Portion size and quality is spot on.
A bustling bistro atmosphere and sympathetic décor just add to the experience.
Certainly child friendly at lunchtime, which, now we have grandchildren, is our default option.
Would not hesitate to recommend. The Bear, literally the other side of the entrance, is also well worth a visit for an ample selection of real ales and bar food. (I cringe every time I hear "pub grub" and people referring to vegetables as "veggies")

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GarthGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBistrotPierreStrat, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant; it's greatly appreciated. We are always happy to read reviews both good positive and negative. It is always a joy to read comments from our customers about how much they really enjoyed their time eating with us here at Le Bistrot Pierre. Have you tried our 6 course Soirée Gastronomique menu which we run on a Tuesday twice a month? These menus give you an opportunity to try something a little different that isn’t always on our a la carte or lunch menus. Thank you once again for your custom and for making the effort to let us know you enjoyed your visit to us

Kind regards

Jason Billingham
Trainee Assistant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Oh dear, a bit Fawlty Towers”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We eat here perhaps twice a year and have never experienced an episode like last night.

We ordered two gin and tonics and both of us would swear that no gin had been put in the glasses - but having poured the tonic all over the ice, decided we were just too used to our alcohol and needed doubles these days to taste!

I specifically asked that no dill or relish be put on my cheeseburger. Needless to say, it arrived as I had asked it not to. Back to the kitchen and out it came with the meanest layer of cheese I have ever encountered. It tasted awful and the bun was also chewy and tasteless. My Uncle was already almost through his meal so to have complained again would have made us further apart.
By this stage we were worried about missing the beginning of our play so placed our dessert order with the waitress clearing our plates away.
It appears she could not understand us as a few minutes later another waitress appeared to take our order. Shortly after that another waiter appeared and put two portions of mushrooms on toast in front of us and three minutes later another waiter came to our table with menus wondering if we would like desserts.
Finally what we had ordered arrived and my "hot" chocolate sauce arrived "cold". This was rectified but all in all, a very disappointing meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markstradling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
584 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great change of pace”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I asked a French server at Nero's coffee for a referral for a French Restaurant and this was her recommendation. The server Jordan was very helpful as well as was the bartender, Grace. We had the Beef Bourguignon and the pork crusted in parmesan. Both came with veggies and roasted potatoes and were fantastic. For dessert we had the largest creme brûlée I have eve seen and a lemon posset ( which I had never had before), It was one of the best desserts I have ever had. Prices were very reasonable. Definitely a place to which I would return

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobxxxxCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBistrotPierreStrat, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant; it's greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Have you joined our members club on line via our website. Once you’re a member you will be kept up to date with all our news and offers and if you put in your birthday you will receive a complimentary bottle of champagne too.


Jason Billingham
Trainee Assistant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing but not for the faint hearted”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I recently experienced the 6 course gastronomy menu and it was amazing. I expected it to be a taster menu but oh no it is a full 6 course meal. The food was excellent quality and very tasty. I started to flag after the main course and the staff very kindly offered to give us a break before we continued. We completed the meal but for me, although really good, it was a struggle.
The staff are excellent, attentive and witty without being intrusive. It was a very special evening and a real treat.
We'll done Le Bistro Pierre. We will definitely be back, though I will probably choose fewer couses.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBistrotPierreStrat, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant; it's greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Have you joined our members club on line via our website. Once you’re a member you will be kept up to date with all our news and offers and if you put in your birthday you will receive a complimentary bottle of champagne too.


Jason Billingham
Trainee Assistant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing