We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Church Farm Barns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Church Farm Barns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for out three day stay in Stratford. We arrived at 1:30, and we were told no one would be there until 3. That was fine; we both understood.
We sat in the chairs by the jacuzzi and read the paper while having a nice chat. Around 2:45 Minty showed up, and upon seeing us, she already knew who we were (at least my husband since his name was on the reservation). She asked us our names and was very kind. She showed us our room (very nice) and the dining area. She told us we could go anywhere and that we weren't restricted to our room. She told us to call her if we needed anything.
The bed in our room was comfortable; I could sleep for days! However, the only problem me and my husband had was the heat. It was unseasonably hot (it's not their fault) so it became hard to sleep until it had cooled down dramatically outside. Perhaps we should have called Minty for a fan, but we're not really high maintenance people.
We highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaySalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    44
    20
    8
    25
See reviews for
47
120
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Stayed for 2 nights with my partner and small baby. We booked at the last minute and were lucky enough to have the whole barn to ourselves with a bedroom that had a small adjoining room for the baby cot they provided. It's usually a self-catering holiday let so you have access to a huge lounge and fully eqipped kitchen too. Breakfast was prepared by Minty, the lovely housekeeper, and was hot, fresh and tasty and also came with yogurts and fresh fruits - definitely a cut above average. It's about a mile from Stratford town centre and only a road away from Anne Hathaway's cottage, so the location is excellent.
The only downside would have been if anyone else had also been staying at the same time as you can't really tuck yourself away in your room - there's no TV or tea/coffee in the rooms so there's a certain amount of enforced communal living which isn't to everyone's taste.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkOutback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentor Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

Room comfortable and spacious.
Short walk to Pub or take footpath through the Park to Stratford Upon Avon.
Proprietors went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
Services are available to visit other other local attractions.
Easy access to transportation.
Definitely a five star B & B

Bill & Glenda Ohio, USA

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f100f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

it's in nice location , very comfortable to stay and good customer services,all you need to do is just carry your cloths and eatables b'cos it's self caterring let.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinesh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

We recently rented the entire cottage for a weekend in June. We were a group of 10 so the five bedrooms where ideal for us. As a previous reviewer has said the two twin rooms upstairs are into the roof space so headroom is restricted but if it's just a place to sleep in you're after it's fine. The ground floor has a very large living room with ample couches and a well fitted out kitchen and utility room.

We were met on site by Minty and the welcome and service throughout were great. Minty and her husband obviously take a lot of care of the gardens at the property.

There are two cottages on this plot - Church Farm Barns and Unicorn Barns. All in all the cottage was what we needed for our weekend get together.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerTravellingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertillery, South Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

Both I and my fiancee have never received a welcome like the one we had from Minty and Rakesh. They were most gracious and freindly. It was like they were old friends.

The B & B is in a wonderful location near AAnne Hathaways Cottage in Stratford within easy walking distance of the town.

The accommodation is self careting my design - but Minty serves lovely breakfasts - the quality of the bacon is first class I'm told (my fiancee tells me - I am vegetarian!).

The cost of our 2 day stay is very competitive considering the 5 star luxury on offer here.

Hugh and Brenda

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

We had the misfortune of choosing this cottage as a base for our family Christmas 2009.

Whilst the actual accommodation is ok - it is 'just ok'; it's not really suitable for larger families as 2 of the bedrooms are built so far in to the loft as you have to be a midget to be comfortable. Not sure how they managed to get the rating they have - not a great guide i'm afraid.

The business itself is hideous to deal with - at the end of our stay they took our deposit for blocking the drains. They claimed that nappies had been found in the drains - but we didn't have any babies with us! He promised to send a receipt and photo evidence but nothing ever showed up. We even complained to the EnjoyEngland tourist board and we were lead to believe we weren't the first!

We also had awful trouble with the bins which were full when we arrived! With another large home on the plot using the bins it became very smelly and annoying. The owner actually thought the bins would be collected on Christmas day!!??

I definitely wouldn't go back and, if asked, would strongly recommend to someone not to book with them. The owners are very rude and it would seem that repeat business is not their aim.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ed1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hunters Moon Guest House
Hunters Moon Guest House
#10 of 95 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moss Cottage
Moss Cottage
#12 of 95 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Avonpark House
Avonpark House
#6 of 95 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#16 of 95 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penryn Guest House
Penryn Guest House
#14 of 95 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Farm Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Barns

Property: Church Farm Barns
Address: Church Farm Barns Church Lane | Shottery, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Church Farm Barns 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16 Ensuite high quality rooms with free wifi, free parking, complimentary tea and coffee during the stay. Church Farm Barns is within walking distance of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Church Farm Barns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Farm Barns Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing