We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Church Farm Barns”
Review of Church Farm Barns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Church Farm Barns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at Church Farm Barns”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Excellent place to stay. Short walk into town makes this venue ideal location close to Stratford. The rooms are very clean and finished to a high standard. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very good, the choice and quality of the items on offer was fantastic. Thanks for a great stay. Would definitely return without question.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bladwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    44
    20
    8
    27
See reviews for
48
126
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A very last minute booking which turned into a find of gold. Minty was delightful in her meet and greet and this level of hospitality continued throughout our stay. The accommodation was a new block and was a restful place to come back to after a day in Stratford. The room provided a clean and peaceful environment, with service everyday, complimentary tea/coffee in the room and comfortable sleeping facilities. This ensured energy levels were returned for the next day's explorations. Minty, and her team, made sure a day was not started until you were full of freshly cooked food that kept you going for your adventures. The location meant that Stratford was accessible in a 25 minute walk which enabled you to be car free for your stay. Thank you for a great week - we will see you again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited for one night and the service we received was excellent. We stayed in the B&B style new block. The room was very modern and clean and the breakfast in the morning was first class. I would recommend this place to anybody visiting Stratford. It's a little outside the town centre but you can walk in, in about 15 mins. There is also a pub just up the road which is always a bonus!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WolvesDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

After finally arriving at 8.02pm we found the church farm barns reception in darkness and fully locked up. We parked the car and phoned the number on the side of the building. After ringing about 6 times and half an hour later I was met with a very rude and unsympathetic owner of church farm barns who informed me that the housekeeper had locked up and gone home. I explained that we were 2minutes later than the booking in time and that the reception, which is in full view as you arrive, was completely locked up when we arrived which seemed very prompt. I asked if there was any way they could come to let us in as we had paid for the night, so they knew we were coming. She just repeated the "housekeeper had left now." I asked if we could collect the keys from somewhere. She said there is no way for us to collect the keys. Therefore we could not stay where we had booked and paid for.

I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts and never been met with such rudeness and unsympathetic people before. They could have charged a small late fee if they felt the need. I would have rang in advance if I felt 2mins lateness was going to be met with this hostility. However the only number available to us was the number that took over 30minutes to answer so I doubt it would have helped as they don't even run their own B&B.

We were left with one option only to leave and pay for somewhere else to sleep. I phoned a nearby B&B called Adelphi Guest House, where Sue and Simon were horrified by how we had been treated and we were lucky to take there final room. They were very kind and the service, room and breakfast were excellent. We would stay at the Adelphi next time we visit the area.

Room Tip: Go to Adelphi Guest House instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carla L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We saw other great reviews for this place and decided to go for it- no regrets at all!
We contacted Church Farm Barns directly who were immediately friendly and helpful and upgraded us to a king room. The room was lovely, huge bed, very clean, bathroom modern and clean too.
Service was fabulous too, so attentive and even seemed to know everybody's name at breakfast! Breakfast fresh and brought promptly to large dining table shared with other guest, nice sociable atmosphere.
Also nice countryside walk, 15 mins walk into town, can go via The Bell pub with good reasonably priced food just 5 mins walk from B&B :)
Hot tub great perk too!! Only £8pp per use.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed two nights over Easter. Although nice we would definitely not rate as 5 star. We' were in a downstairs room. Floor boards above us creaked when the occupants upstairs moved which was often and rather annoying. Furnishings shabby,bath panel cracked. Didn't realise we would need to share a table at breakfast with everyone else who was staying . Ok for some but not for us. Housekeeper very helpful,grounds very pleasant. Probably rate as 3star.

Room Tip: Don't have a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Church Farm Barns and would recommend to anyone.

Highlights:
- huge super king size bed, which was really comfy
- easily accessible rooms (I'm on crutches)
- breakfast was fantastic
- staff were very friendly

Ares for improvement
- tea/coffee selection in room was limited (the choice was decaf coffee or tea, and there weren't any biscuits) [however this is me being overly critical]

Verdict
- overall we had an enjoyable time in Stratford and was well rested and well fed at the church farm barns.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,783 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,413 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hunters Moon Guest House
Hunters Moon Guest House
#9 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
263 reviews
1.5 mi away
Avonpark House
Avonpark House
#8 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
435 reviews
1.5 mi away
Faviere Guest House
Faviere Guest House
#15 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Farm Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Barns

Property: Church Farm Barns
Address: Church Farm Barns Church Lane | Shottery, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Church Farm Barns 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16 Ensuite high quality rooms with free wifi, free parking, complimentary tea and coffee during the stay. Church Farm Barns is within walking distance of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Church Farm Barns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Farm Barns Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing