We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest house accommodation at hotel prices”
Review of Church Farm Barns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Church Farm Barns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I'd tried to stay here before but got "Bumped" as they had drainage problems and arranged for us to stay at the Hilton. This time around it smelt like they still had the drainage problems and I wish we had been "Bumped" again. Got off to a bad start as we arrived early to find check in was really 4-8. Plenty of people around and a phone number to contact but not very helpful. It was explained housekeeping weren't there but had I called in advance they might have been able to help so choice was hang on almost two hours or go for a wander and come back. To be fair, we were met by Minty, a very pleasant lady, who made us feel welcome and at home. We were shown to our upstairs room with en-suite wet room. The bed was large and spacious but the mattress is not one of the best I've slept on and the pillows were not of the highest quality so great night's sleep was not delivered through that and the pervasive smell from the shower/wet room drain. We had an early evening table booked in Stratford followed by theatre so by the time we discovered the issues it was too late. Breakfast on Sunday was 08.00-09.00. Hmmm. No we didn't make that either. There was something going on in the main house/at the owners which meant a degree of late night noise and the early birds in the morning could be heard effectively through the closed windows. It looked like it could have been a quirky, interesting experience but ended up a disappointment. Next time up I'll pay few ponds more and stay in the centre, even in one of the chains. I like to support small and local but this was not value for money on any level

Room Tip: Check there's not a party going on and get a room behind the first building away from the road.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank STRAYCELT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Church Farm Barns
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We rang ahead 1 hour ahead to say we were close by. When we arrived at 20.05 everything was closed and we waited in the car park for 20 minutes with our luggage before anyone appeared.
We had written ahead asking for a quiet room and were given one next to a noisy road (beware) we were then moved to the smallest room I have ever been offered and we could still hear the traffic. Nowhere to put your luggage, nowhere to sit, the bathroom door hit you if you were sat on the bed!!
We went to the Bell; do not go to this soulless chain-pub with awful food.
Back to the room at 22h00 and to bed. But the bed was damp. Rang and was told help was on its way. No one turned up; rang again and again and my 8 calls were ignored. Eventually gave up and slept on top of the bed in our clothes!!!
In the morning the towels were still wet - the towel airer had been isolated and we could not put it on.
Everything is cheap (laminate flooring everywhere!!!!) and run for profit not for the guests. The owner doesn't appear to want anything to do with it and the 'housekeeper' just doesn't give a damn!
This place is terribly run, un cared for, over-priced and definitely not 5 stars (what exactly is that nonsense all about????)
I cannot believe the positive Tripadvisor ratings for this place.
And oh yes, the full English breakfast was cheap; poor bacon, basic sausage, etc
And it continues. No surprise after complaining to the housekeeper in the morning, the promised phone call from the owner and compensation never materialised
You cannot trust these people at all
Terrible, terrible, terrible!!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very friendly staff. Loved the lounge area attached to the rooms. Food was fresh and great. Close to town centre. This place would be a great for a family as is has several bedrooms around each lounge area plus a full kitchen if required.

Room Tip: All good (see photos)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A warm welcome from
Minty, the owner. Wonderful, comfortable, clean accommodation. Great breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Without doubt I would stay again and would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJetwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A lovely place to stay. We had a large bedroom upstairs with an unusual. Shaped large bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean and very comfortable and the breakfast delicious. Minty was the perfect hostess, very helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome. Close to Anne Hathaway's Cottage which is a must to visit and the local pub where we had a delicious meal is only a short walk away. We were so comfortable we stayed an extra night.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Maya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night 1/7/2014, on way to wedding up North. (Booking.com) Stylish accommodation, amazing super KING sized bed with elegant eastern furniture and very clean.. & is only 15min walk to the RSC... Best breakfast ever... Selection & quality!! (Even M&S marmalade!) but if you want to know what makes it different?? Minty... A wonderful lady who hosts the experience from start to finish... Exceptional!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityvisitor53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

After being promised a 5 star gold award experience we were disappointed to realise that this only applied to Minty and not the accommodation itself. The housekeeper was lovely. The bed was hard and uncomfortable and the coverings were stained. The bathroom smelled as if something had died in it and has stains down the wall. The bed itself was very dusty as an asthmatic I am still having trouble breathing several hours later. All in all not what we were expecting

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Carrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratfordSunshine, Manager at Church Farm Barns, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We are surprised to read your comments. Are you sure the review relates to " Church Farm Barns in Stratford Upon Avon"?
It seems in your travels and staying at different hotels/inns you have perhaps muddled up the reviews.
Good luck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,805 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
#21 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hunters Moon Guest House
Hunters Moon Guest House
#10 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
266 reviews
1.5 mi away
Avonpark House
Avonpark House
#9 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Farm Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Barns

Address: Church Farm Barns Church Lane | Shottery, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £82 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Church Farm Barns 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16 Ensuite high quality rooms with free wifi, free parking, complimentary tea and coffee during the stay. Church Farm Barns is within walking distance of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Church Farm Barns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Farm Barns Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing