We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food reasonably priced”
Review of Quills Restaurant

Quills Restaurant
Price range: US$30 - US$46
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Food is something we take very seriously at Quills and every dish has a little je ne sais quoi. Our menus have been devised by the Award Winning Chef, Mark Grigg; when you eat in our fabulous AA rosette restaurant your taste buds will love you forever.Our chef only uses fresh produce and likes to surprise us every day with something new. The menu varies with the season and picks up on current trends.
Kent
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food reasonably priced”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed at the hotel for weekend and are breakfast and dinner in the quills restaurant. Breakfast buffet had a good selection and was replenished regularly, could not fault the staff very polite and attentive. Dinner menu had a good choice and was very reasonable. Would definitely recommend if you are staying at the hotel or nearby.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jabkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStratford, Manager at Quills Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear jabkent,

Thank you for your review, its pleasing to hear you enjoyed both your breakfast and dinner in Quills. We have just launched our Spring/Summer menu so be sure to try this on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Matt Shakespeare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    6
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
worcs,england
Level Contributor
265 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Quality and service poor”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Starters hot onion soup and salmon very nice , unusually the onion soup had little onions in it which was a pleasant change and was a cream soup.

Problems really started with main course Rib eye steak dry and tough . Tbone pork chop even drier and tougher. With each dish yo uhad a choice of potatoes e.g chips ,dauphinoise but the only other item was a handful of rocket and with the steak a complete garlic bulb coked with what appeared to be the tough outer skin on.

Dessert signature dish carrot cake stodgy though the little jelly etc round the plate very pleasant.

Now we come to the main gripe , drinks and service. My wife ordered a 175ml glass of white , no way was it 175ml and we pointed this out but we were assured it was , she then asked for a second glass of the same wine but was given an entirely different wine which she asked to be replaced (still charged for 2 diferent wines on the bill ) again no way was it 175 ml . I have done some measuring at home and am sure it was at most 100 ml in the glass. Ordered a French coffee which took ages to appear and when it did it was spilling down the sides, waitress made no attempt to clean the glass. Service started well but then one got the slight feeling we were being ignored and certainly it seemed it took longer to serve us than other guests which meant that although we arrived for the meal at 7.30 p.m it was after 9.30 when we left and by then only guests who had arrived well after us were still there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food - fantastic service”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Staying at the hotel we dined in Quills. The atmosphere was really nice. The food was varied and amazing. Service was maybe to some slightly slow but I like it like that - unhurried. Will definitely be going there again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul N Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We ate breakfast here as guests of the hotel. There is a great selection of good quality and delicious foods. Something to please everyone.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, Staff and atmosphere”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Another fantastic meal at this restaurant. Came here to eat as I was staying at the hotels or my husbands 40th birthday. Food is amazing. Great quality great great presentation great food. They found out that it was my husbands birthday and they brought his dessert out on a plate iced in chocolate saying Happy Birthday what a lovely little touch. Thank you for making hubby's birthday special. Thank you to all staff for excellent customer service your management tea should be proud. Breakfast is also amazing, buffet style but plenty of choice fresh fruit, yogurts, full breakfast, cereals, pastries and I had them all. Amazing!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NewportTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quills Restaurant also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Quills Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing