We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Individual..”
Review of McKechnies - CLOSED

McKechnies
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Independent tea and coffee bar
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Perfect, nice friendly staff and great coffee. Atmosphere is good, a million miles away from the other high street coffee brands.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank plasticeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethan M, Owner at McKechnies, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thanks for posting this review, glad you enjoyed your visit :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

Walking around Stratford seeing the sights, but it was very cold. So we popped in to McKechnies. I had an Americano and my girlfriend had a Hot Chocolate and we shared a scone, jam and cream. The coffee was first class and the hot chocolate was amazing.

A very nice place to recover from a cold walk.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Idahodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Have used this cafe quite a few times.Very good initially but standards have started to fall.
The salads are not a patch on what they used to be.Had a hot (cold)breakfast ,eggs under done,tomatoes under cooked.Portion small for price paid.

My wife had a turkey & chutney sandwich- very litlle meat,bread thin,side salad garnish a joke.

Toilets messy,outside door rarely closed allowing smells out !

Come on owners put some effort into getting things back to what they were.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martian56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethan M, Owner at McKechnies, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

I am so sorry to hear you were disappointed on your most recent visit.

I would very much like to know which day you visited us on so that I can look into this further. My email address is beth@mckechnies-cafe.co.uk.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Bethan McKechnie
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Just popped in for coffee, really smooth latte and nice cosy atmosphere. Would go again. The food others were eating looked very nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Salmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stratford is pretty rubbish for children but this coffee shop has a nice selection of colouring sheets & really good books. Coffee & food is nice & is a good place to sit and watch the busy market

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank funkyfish5867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethan M, Owner at McKechnies, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The books were given to us by our local Waterstones branch :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McKechnies also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing