We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday meal to remember”
Review of The Garrick Inn

The Garrick Inn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The oldest pub in Stratford-upon-Avon. Link to their menu's http://www.pub-explorer.com/warwks/pub/garrickinnstratforduponavon.htm
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday meal to remember”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Me and my husband went to Stratford Upon Avon for the weekend to celebrate my birthday. We had a fabulous meal at The Garrick. We ate three courses all beautifully presented and tasted beautiful - my husband is a chef so you can imagine how critical he can be!! The building itself is full of character and there is plenty of atmosphere. The Garrick is well worth a visit when you go to Stratford - we will certainly be making a return visit.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bake_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    419
    146
    76
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Should be on your bucket list on a visit to Stratford”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Very historical and remarkable building, brimming over with character. The hosts are very friendly and there is a great atmosphere of locals and visitors alike. Menu range offers something for everyone, it is good value and the food we ordered came quickly. We all enjoyed our food and there was no problem taking our younger child in. Ideal to have lunch with family and friends or to while away a few evening hours. You may have to wait for a seat to come up though.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank write2car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money!”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We went here on the first evening for pub grub and we were so impressed we went again the next evening even though normally we like to try different places. The food was fantastic. Well presented, very tasty and certainly not the "pub grub" we were expecting but instead was far better!! And when we asked for the bill we were so surprised at how cheap it was we had to do some adding up. We were sure they must have forgotten to charge for the drinks but it was all correct.

Amazing value, very tasty, lovely atmosphere, friendly staff. We are actually gutted we dont live in the area otherwise we would certainly make this out local eatery!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IceHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Garrick saved the day!”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We found ourselves in the Garrick Inn after putting up with a complete and utter shambolic. ignorant and unproffessional hour waiting for someone to bother to take our order at the black Swan(mucky duck) by th RSC theatre. The menu is IDENTICAL and, yes, it's pub food. But its very nice pub food.Well presented,Hot and appealing.Whilst the Black Swan clearly couldnt have cared less about anyone venturing there who wasn't a local.The Garrick's welcome was warm attentive and professional.It was a tuesday pm and the place was packed to the rafters.Pretty much a full menu was still available although this was the end of a no doubt busy bank hol w.end.We had a choice of 2 main courses at the other place despite a completely EMPTY restaurant-because the locals had pre ordered food for later that night.Would happily recommend the Garrick.Quirky,popular and atmospheric.Avoid the Black Swan like the plague.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 65S65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carms S.Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Having read favourable reviews we were most disappointed . The food on offer is very average pub food . Certain items on the menu read well but are of a very mediocre standard. e.g. hand carved ham sounds good but is in reality nothing more than cheap thinly sliced ham easily available at any supermarket. This establishment lacks any personalisation and together with The Dirty Duck (also located in Stratford ) is part of a chain. Both restaurants have a virtually identical menu . The Garrick proved to be a very uninspiring place to eat.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiggerCarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garrick Inn also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Garrick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing