We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“xmas dinner”
Review of The Garrick Inn

The Garrick Inn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The oldest pub in Stratford-upon-Avon. Link to their menu's http://www.pub-explorer.com/warwks/pub/garrickinnstratforduponavon.htm
buckley
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“xmas dinner”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

excellent food as usual brilliant service from staff very good cask beers we use this pub diner every time we stay in stratford upon avon and recomend it all and every one

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maxwel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    408
    141
    75
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hutton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Popped in for a spot of lunch in a snow covered Stratford upon Avon. The Inn itself is lovely with several small areas for a more intimate dining experience. The food was lovely, filling and the staff very friendly and helpful. Price not bad either.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina64uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great pub, good food”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The first surprise about The Garrick is its size. There's a small room at the front which oozes character and a huge room at the back with lots of tables set up ready for diners.

We really enjoyed our meals. My fajitas were slightly overcooked but very tasty nonetheless. Several beers were being served, all of which were excellent (especially the Abbot Ale), and the staff were friendly & polite.

We wandered in on a Friday night without a table reservation and didn't have any problems securing a table (in January), though I suspect that this is a lot less likely in the Summer months when the tourists arrive.

I'd definitely recommend it for a drink and the food - if not great - is certainly very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llanelli wales
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Large pub, small bar at the front, then large bar/ dining area in the back, had a few drinks here nice atmosphere, we back to have Sunday lunch which was very good,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamworth
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great atmospheric pub for a quick lunch. Will go there again”
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Had a lunch here before a matinee. All our sandwiches and baked potatoes were good. The beer well kept and the wine good. Not particularly cheap but very atmospheric and very convenient. The staff were friendly and informative and confident about getting a group of eight to the theatre on time. Would happily go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bizzieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garrick Inn also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Garrick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing