We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Taxi to Stratford”
Review of The Garrick Inn

The Garrick Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The oldest pub in Stratford-upon-Avon. Link to their menu's http://www.pub-explorer.com/warwks/pub/garrickinnstratforduponavon.htm
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“River Taxi to Stratford”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We knew 'The Garrick' was a dog friendly pub/restaurant, from earlier reviews on trip advisor. Having arrived by River Taxi (recommended way to visit) and done our tourist bit, it was nice to visit such a friendly watering hole, together with our two dogs.

We were made to feel very welcome and each dog was duly provided with a water bowl.

We only had a sandwich for lunch, but the Welsh rabbit was really nice.

I would recommend - very friendly staff, good food and a warm welcome.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnPadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christoferson, Manager at The Garrick Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are a dog friendly pub and on a hot day outside we offer a cool air conditioned alternitive which is a great way for both you and your best friend to cool off.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your vist and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    397
    134
    71
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

took my parents here for fathers day, so it was really busy, and hence service was a bit slow - but staff were all really helpful and friendly. Food was gorgeous - all went for Sunday roast which was perfect, and great value for money. And would definitely recommend the gooseberry crumble - amazing!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wardfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christoferson, Manager at The Garrick Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Any day of celebration is always rather busy here at the Garrick, but its great to know that even so our staff still offer excellent service. We pride ourselves in our roast dinners and gooseberry crumble is extreamly popular.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great pint & service”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Popped into the Garrick for a pint, was met with a warm welcome and great beer. Traditional pub with good service, pop in for some refreshment. It's well worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christoferson, Manager at The Garrick Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you leaving us this review we pride our selves in great friendly service from all our front of house staff, we feel it creates the best enviroment for a drink.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
366 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“You have to try the oldest pub”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

After an afternoon of walking about Stratford, one needs a glass of wine and a pint. And what better place than the oldest pub in the town. It has a splendid atmosphere and both times we went in we were embraced by the other patrons. We somehow got tangled up with a birthday celebrating group and found ourselves joining them with drinks and hugs. It's what a good pub does, makes people companionable, outgoing and friendly. The place exuded a jolly atmosphere and we felt thoroughly at home. The crisps weren't bad either. Going for a drink, try the Garrick..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ&ERtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christoferson, Manager at The Garrick Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and a loverly one at that. Its always a pleasure to see two groups of strangers become friends even for just a short time. Our establishment wouldnt be the same without friendly, merry people. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
196 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Oldest Pub”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Wide choice of food on the menu at reasonable prices.The gooseberry crumble was truly stunning.Service was good and would advise reserving a table

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christoferson, Manager at The Garrick Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am glad that you have enjoyed your experience here. Due to our central location we are subject to various passers by, therefore booking is advisable but not necessary.

Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garrick Inn also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Garrick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing