We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garrick Inn

The Garrick Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The oldest pub in Stratford-upon-Avon. Link to their menu's http://www.pub-explorer.com/warwks/pub/garrickinnstratforduponavon.htm
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great pub atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

In Stratford on Avon for one night and while walking through the old town with heat character came across the Garrrick
Great pub atmosphere, old , original. back to Shakespear times
Good food, good beer , nice staff

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christoferson, Manager at The Garrick Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Im glad you enjoyed you find. Being a central location we have many people walk past and stop in for a quick drink and bite to eat. Im glad you enjoyed our company and it would be loverly to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    391
    128
    68
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely night out”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

A friend and I found ourselves in Stratford-Upon-Avon and looking for a quite meal last night. We stumbled across the Garrick Inn which turns out to be the oldest pub in town. The building is a classic Tudor style and oozes charm. There was even a one page summary of history for enthusiastic diners.

We had the chicken burger which was a juicy breast chicken crumbed in spices. My friend had the rarebit and enjoyed it.

Local beer was nice and the service was lovely overall.

Worth a stop if you're looking for a decent pub meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SIA_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christoferson, Manager at The Garrick Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Im glad you enjoyed your visit and the food that we offer. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old boozer”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

If you are visiting Stratford you can't miss the Garrick. It claims to be the oldest pub in Stratford so it's worth a punt.

We didn't eat here, but the beer was good, nice bar staff and great olde worlde atmosphere(e).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank StevenGrimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christoferson, Manager at The Garrick Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review we have a fantastic team who offer all our customers with a warm welcome and olde world atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb beer, excellent food and service”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I often go in this pub which not only serves the best kept beer in town but has very welcoming staff, and a friendly Landlord/Landlady. The food is good and reasonably priced giving great value for money - recommend the fish and chips and seafood platter. Generally the pub is fairly busy and the clientele pleasant although there is one gent who could be a one man quiz team - he knows everything about anything!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonnyMouse666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christoferson, Manager at The Garrick Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and for returning to us often. Our seaside platter is loverly great on a hot summers day. Our 'locals' are always friendly and tend to make a lasting impression. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Family lunch. Just simple done well, I would highly recommend. The female manager could be a bit more friendly and the filling in the steak and ale pie could be of a slightly more generous portion but overall I would happily go again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emrys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christoferson, Manager at The Garrick Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Being a managed house our food portions are controlled but I have passed on your feedback to the team and we are working to resolve such issues to prevent any ones dissapointment. Hope to see you agin soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garrick Inn also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Garrick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing