We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay despite the weak coffee”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay despite the weak coffee”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This hotel is everything one would expect from a top rated hotel. The location and ambiance are superb. We were delighted to find that the coffee making facilties in the room unsually included coffee grounds and a cafetiere. The downside was that coffee at breakfast on both mornings of our stay was very weak and watery. Would definitely stay again but would have breakfast at Carluccio's, which is about 50 yards along the street.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodieBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    271
    65
    12
    2
See reviews for
119
692
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

On arrival the Staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room was everything we had read about, with welcoming Champagne and Chocolates. The bathroom was large with whirlpool bath and large walkin shower. There is a car park at the hotel and the location is superb, a 2 minute walk into town or just over the road is the R.S.C and the river.
The food at the Hotel is also excellent. All in all I would thouroughly recomend this hotel and it is very good value for money

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandjowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We just booked a one night stay while visiting the RSC. The location is perfect, right opposite the theatre and in a quiet position, close to the river and a short stroll to the shops/restaurants. The decor throughout the hotel is bright and modern. Service at reception and in the restaurant was very good and we were made to feel welcome. Our room was spacious and well designed with a very comfortable super-king sized bed. Lovely, large bathroom with good quality fittings. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandJane09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2011

The perfect location for a visit to Stratford, especially if going to the RSC.
Friendly, helpful staff. Tasteful decor & very pleasant atmosphere. Breakfast delicious & well presented.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TopNoshPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights in mid-February 2011. I can only echo all the previous positive reviews so won't repeat all their detail.

The location is absolutely excellent, right in the town centre, the staff were friendly, the room a really good size with a large comfortable bed, the bathroom spotlessly clean with luxury toiletries. I can't comment on the bar or restaurant as we didn't use them, preferring to eat out, but we did have breakfast in bed on both mornings which was just perfect. I hope this hotel manages to keep up the high standards - I would recommend it to anyone for a weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

My daughter and I spent a very pleasant night at the Arden in March 2011 as part of a trip to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre.

The reception staff were excellent and our check in was quick and easy. We were shown personally to our room, one of 45 that are all named after trees (we stayed in Ash) and were very impressed with every feature of the room, specifically:

- The tea and coffee making facilities consisted of proper ground coffee and caffittiere rather than the more usual sachets of Nescafe. There was a wide selection of black, green and herbal teas and there was a carton of real milk (and two complimentary bottles of sparkling water) in the fridge

- The toiletries were really nice (from L'Occitane) and bath robes were provided

- There was fresh fruit on the table

- The flat screen TV came with a large selection of digital channels and a DVD player

- The beds were really comfortable

- There was free WiFi in the room

We treated ourselves to a pre-theatre champagne cocktail in the Champagne Bar which, although a bit pricey (£10 each) did make us feel wonderfully decadent!

The breakfast consisted of all the usual choices you would expect in a good hotel and was delicious.

We have stayed in several of the main hotels in Stratford Upon Avon and the Arden is without doubt both the most comfortable and the most conveniently located for a visit to the theatre – it is quite literally just across the road.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the Arden if you want to treat yourself to a little luxury .

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soozy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Super food,comfortable well appointed rooms,welcoming staff with nothing too much troubke and an excellent location.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonboyWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing