We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

The Arden is a high quality, hotel in the heart of Stratford upon Avon, directly over the road from the RSC. It has its own, ample parking facilities which in Stratford is defintiely a plus. We arrived close to the earliest check in time, but we were told the room wasn't quite ready yet, so they sent us to the bar with instructions to supply us with free drinks....and not just a tea or coffee. The staff handled this in a very friendly manner, providing service with a smile - as they did on any occasion when we came into contact with them.
We were only there one night, and we had not asked for anything special in terms of room, but the room (the Oak Room) was large, with a great view over the river and RSC and an exceptionally large and comfortable bed. The bathroom was modern and clean. It had no bath, but that's never an issue for me.
Breakfast was included our package, and was delicious, though I suspect I would have been a little disappointed if I'd had to rely on the contents cold buffet.
All in all, this was one of the best hotels I've stayed at and would not hestitate in recommending it, nor revisiting again. Hopefully soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sqwawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    266
    63
    12
    2
See reviews for
119
683
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

This is a beautiful, refurbished hotel in a fantastic location in Stratford and if you are going to to the RSC it is perfect as it is opposite the theatre. Parking is a breeze and the staff are all very helpful. We had both drinks, dinner and breakfast at the Arden and all were prepared with much care. We did have a couple of issues though, one was that our shower seal was broken and hence water poured all over the bathroom floor to which we had to use all of our towels to soak up the water. When we informed reception of this we were told that they would look into the issue, unfortunately they did not repair the seal but did provide us with more towels in order to aid us mopping up the inevitable flood (I only use this word because the water covered the bathroom floor and was also making its way into the carpeted hall).
Our second area of concern was to do with booking, we booked a Romantic package for our 10th wedding anniversary in a feature room, having seen the websites room description describing large rooms with feature tubs, stunning partner showers and spectacular views over the river Avon. Our room was the Maple room, it was large, having a separate living area (not mentioned on website description), but it had a fairly standard bathroom with shower over bath and bath screen, so no feature tub or stunning partner shower, Also we were directly looking onto the RSC and the street (so had quite a bit of noise from people leaving the theatre and bottle recycling!) and if you pressed yourself up against the single window you could just about get a glimpse of the river (so not what anyone would describe as spectacular). After seeing our room we spoke to reception because we thought we were in the wrong room. However reception told us we were in the correct room and informed us we should have pre-booked a specific feature room as not all the feature rooms have all the features (you can't actually book specific rooms on the website though, there is no mention of you needing to this on the website and no indication that not every feature is in each feature room). We were offered 1 night in a different feature room but would have had to move back to the original feature room the following day which really didn't seem too relaxing a way to spend a 2 night weekend! On return home we looked at the Arden website and the description for the feature rooms describes the features generically, so you would expect those features to be in whichever feature room you book. I would like to see the website description altered so as not to mislead customers. We paid for the best room in the hotel (as we mentioned it was our 10th wedding anniversary) and we wanted to treat ourselves. In hindsight we would have been better off booking a cheaper room because we didn't get the things we really wanted and hopefully it would have possibly been quieter with a better bathroom (the Deluxe and Master descriptions have "walk in' or rain showers). The feature of the Maple room is a separate sitting area and it's size (50sq m) which is the same for all feature rooms (according to the website). However, we had no need for a separate sitting room and didn't use it once during our stay and had we known that this was the "feature" we would not have booked this room - we certainly didn't see a mention of this separate area in the description of the feature rooms which as mentioned before is focused on feature tubs, partner showers and spectacular river views - none of which we had!
We feel sorry about giving only three stars but this is down to the booking/website issues, without these or the flooded bathroom we would have given five stars.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lizzy046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

My wife and I decided to book a short weekend break in Stratford, and after reading the Tripadvisor reviews decided that the Arden appeared to be miles ahead of any other hotel in the town. Whilst generally we agree with the overall comments, we had a few minor niggles during our stay which was disappointing as we had very high expectations. For example, the scones we ordered for afternoon tea were tiny and rock hard. We were kept waiting for nearly ten minutes before being greeted into the Brasserie for evening dinner, and then we had a similar wait for coffee and toast at breakfast the next morning. And the TV in our room kept losing signal.
However despite these aberrations we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the hotel, the food in the Brasserie is really excellent, the staff were very helpful and welcoming, and the location unbeatable. We shall almost certainly return to the hotel next time we visit Stratford.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ant14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

My wife and myself are frequent visitors to Stratford visiting the R.S.C. For the past thirty years we have stayed at the Arden Hotel from the days when it was owned by Robert Peel, through it's Thistle life and now the present owners. It has ALWAYS afforded first class comfort and service but it now excels the past if that is possible. From arrival through to check out everything is of the highest standard. The rooms are exquisite in both decoration and taste and the dining room affords meals of the highest standard. The only downside on the night we stayed was a party of revellers in the bar immediately below our room (Rowan). At 1-0'clock I phoned reception and the matter was cleared up immediately ensuring an otherwise excellent nights sleep. SO...if you are looking for the highest standards at a hotel where the customer matters, only twenty five yards from the theatres and overlooking the river, then this is the place for you. Thank you Arden hotel for 30 wonderful years...now better still.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeicesterActor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

My friends and I were looking for a nice daytime activity to celebrate a birthday and decided on a daytrip to Stratford, complete with Afternoon Tea at the Arden Hotel.

We had booked, which I'd recommend you do, and were thrilled to find our table beautifully laid out with a delightful china tea set, in-keeping with the traditional yet freshly modern decor of the hotel.

The four of us were waited on attentively by the charming concierge and other staff, our cups were never empty and every whim was catered for, including a hot chocolate in lieu of tea!

We all enjoyed the delicious scones, jam and clotted cream, with a great selection of cakes and sandwiches.
They went beyond just the traditional cucumber; we also had smoked salmon and chicken salad.
The fillings were plentiful, fresh and very tasty, I can assure you, you will be fully satisfied after one of these teas! We had three between four which was more than enough.

To surmise I would recommend this experience to anyone who wishes to while away an afternoon with the girls, or treat their mum or sister to an indulgent experience.
It is good value for money and the service is exceptional.

The only disappointment was that we couldn't stay for cocktails... maybe next time we'll book a room!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KlovesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

This was a birthday treat for my husband along with Romeo and Juliet tickets. If you are attending the RSC this hotel is the ideal stay.

We had been given an upgrade to a deluxe room which was a lovely room - however it was very hot and prevented us from sleeping very well. As we were staying a second night I mentioned this at reception and was informed that there should be a fan in the cupboard and the concierge would check for us. Luckily the second night was not as warm as there was no fan as I had first suspected.

Apart from this niggle there were no other problems. We only had breakfast at the Arden as Stratford has so many restaurants we decided to eat elsewhere. The standard of the breakfast was lovely though - but I must agree that the coffee was a little weak!

A very pleasant stay.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TerriPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

We decided to stay here for one night after getting married in Stratford upon Avon before we set off for our honeymoon. This was the best decision we made and mainly based on the reviews on TA. We had passed by it a few times when spending time in Stratford previously and were impressed by the outside alone, but this hotel is faultless (and I can be picky!!). The location, ambience, room, reception staff, bar staff etc. etc. The reception staff were so helpful and really couldn't do enough for us, even allowing us to use their computer to check in our flights online for the next day. The bedroom was tasteful and the bathroom was amaaaazing. We only wish now we could have stayed another night. Perhaps we will return for our first anniversary - I hope so!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reevesygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing