We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay - they should sort out a few small points”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Nice hotel, good location and I would recommend it. The hotel tries really hard to be a luxury hotel.. and it is nearly there! A few things to sort out, like: no aircon in the room and the room was boiling so it needs it. It's noisy: every time the guests upstairs had a shower or went to the toilet, we could hear it. Also, our room was next to the cupboard for the cleaners who start at 0830 in the morning with a chitchat between each other outside our door. The breakfast is funny, you order a full english and amongst 1 small sausage and 1 tomato, we found a quarter of a mushroom. Not joking.
The breakfast buffet is very very limited compared to other hotels. I guess they are assuming everyone will eat a cooked breakfast. For a relatively expensive hotel, they need to up their game a bit.
The restaurant is good, very good by Stratford standards. Although they didnt have them on a menu, they do some excellent cocktails also.

Having said all that, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms very nice, location is perfect and overall we had a very pleasant stay and would go there again. Just a shame they didn't put the icing on the cake to make them 5*.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJP_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
There are newer reviews for The Arden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

989 - 995 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2011

I spend my life living in hotels due to my work and have stayed in hotels all over the world. We just had to pop over to Stratford for one night...again because of my work but also because we wanted a nice quiet night in good quality sheets!
Everything from check in, afternoon nibbles and the GORGEOUS breakfast were amazing, the room was divine, the bathroom a delight.......the staff friendly and helpful...some slightly eccentric but that only added to the charm
If I have to find a fault it would be in the bar on the afternoon that we left...my partner sat waiting to be served for over half an hour.....keys were on the table so it could clearly be seen that we were guests.....but apart from that i cant wait to go back.....

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonno101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and specifically booked the Mulberry Suite through consultation of availability of feature suites with the reception staff. The suite was beautiful and roomy with lovely decor and a freestanding bath in the window. It had views over to the river but the room was stifling due to the location above the restaurant kitchens. So upon opening the windows we discovered the ventilation system for said kitchens right outside which were both noisy and expelled the kitchen smells. In addition the telephone did not work and could not be fixed due to a bank holiday. We requested a move but the options offered were not to the standard of the room we booked, so refused them. We were promised that the vents would be switched off at 11pm so we stayed put for the first night. The vents stayed on all night so we were offered another room the next day which was a suitable swap and accepted for our second night. Given this issue had been discussed with a number of reception staff and assured it would be escalated to a manager we proceeded to have to repeat our complaints again when checking out to be told a manager was not available and no consideration to the cost of our bill had been dealt with. With a stroke of luck a manager arrived on duty at the same moment and immediately offered our first night free of charge. This was acceptable to us but tarnished what should have been a lovely stay. This hotel must be completely aware of the downside to this feature suite and are ignoring the negatives.

Room Tip: Always book by telephone and discuss the options.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Great hotel in a superb location opposite the RSC and overlooking the river. Lovely rooms, well furnished. Really well decorated and furnished communal areas. Gardens and terrace were perfect suntraps to take advantage of the perfect Easter weather. We booked a dinner, bed & breakfast deal and were not disappointed with the food in the restaurant either.
There is a but...well 2 actually! The rooms were stifling - unbearable - especially at night! There was no aircon and the fans that were provided were so loud they were impossible to use at night if you wanted to get a wink of sleep! They would have to sort this out before I would stayy or recommend again.
Secondly, we were so looking forward to having breakfast the following morning on the beautiful sunny terrace but were abruptly told No, we are already set up for lunch! So much for the customer always being right!
Like I say, so much more potential but these little things have to sorted out before this could be considered amongst the best.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We took some VIP guests from our work HQ here, to see Macbeth and to enjoy Shakespeares Birthday celebrations. From the start the hotel did not disappoint. The front of house staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly, our rooms were fantastic, clean modern and funky fabrics. The only downside was the service in the restaurant. The food was great, but very slow to arrive. Even taking an hour for 2 pains au chocolat to arrive for our daughters for breakfast. I have given sleep quality only 3 out of 5, as our room, Rowan had a very hard bed and poor pillows for a hotel of such high quality elsewhere. We also overlooked the front of the hotel and were awake until 3am on sat 30th April due to all the actors from Macbeth celebrating Prince Charles' visit to see their show - much merriment meant little sleep! Would highly recommend this hotel as location is just superb for all that Stratford offers and in all, it surpassed our requirements. One unfortunate checking out of 2 of our party was quickly rectified, another room found and many apologies later we received a discounted rate - all was handled with aplomb. Well done the Arden! Thanks for making a work and leisure trip work so well! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Go for the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samfa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

From the moment we arrived in the hotel, the service was excellent. We were allowed to park in the car park, despite being an hour or so early for check in. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times, and were happy to cater to any request. The room was very comfortable and the furnishings were high quality. The beds were great and both myself and my now fiancee slept very well indeed. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night. The food was superb, as was the service. Breakfast was the best I have had in any hotel and was clearly prepared and presented with care. I cannot speak highlt enough of this hotel, the staff were an abolute credit to the establishment. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevehaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The hotel is fantastic, and the staff all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Like many hotels lunch and evening meal provision for vegentarians is hopeless so we didn't eat there (but the nearby Garrick Inn is 1st class). The terrace and garden is lovely for sitting with a drink from the well stocked bar. Stratfordx is the first place we ever went to together and it hold lots of happy memories. We stayed in the hotel when it was a Thistle for our 10th wedding anniversary and having seen last summer it had reopened we booked for our 20th which falls on or close to the Shakespeare birthday celebrations...we shall be returning. Good sized car park so no problem parking, for no additional charge.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MParrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,804 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,969 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £103 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing