We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The room was lovely, very roomy, the bedding was luxurious; bathroom was fully appointed.. Staff excellent, and the food-not to be missed. What else can e said?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellady1Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    281
    67
    12
    3
See reviews for
128
718
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Great location, staff excellent, a little biit quirky in terms of rooms and getting around and very expensive. I would probably not return for this reason alone.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpikeyMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pully, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I picked this hotel based on its TripAdvisor rating and reviews, and was slightly disappointed, although there was nothing wrong with the hotel per se. The bed was very comfortable (wonderful pillows), the "superior" (i.e. standard) room a good size, the range of cooked breakfasts (included in our rate) admirable. Nice touches included (as other reviewers have mentioned) the real milk in the fridge for tea. And as we were there primarily for the theatre, the location could not have been better. However.... first negative is the rather odd arrangement of the reception being at the back of the hotel. This is to ease arrival by car. But the taxi driver who took us from the station didn't know this, and left us at the front, where there is simply an unattended concierge desk and no sign as to where the reception might be. One of the waiting staff led us up the hidden staircase (we carried our bags) to the reception. A slightly jangled beginning to the stay. Second negative I noticed because I was travelling with my rather elderly mother. I didn't request any special room because she's not disabled, simply 75 years old and 5 feet tall. She found the bed a little high for comfort, and the bath very difficult - high-sided and deep, with no hand rails AT ALL, which strikes me as odd in a hotel. Last gripe is the service in the restaurant where we ate just one evening. It started off very attentive (asked three times if we were enjoying the meal) and then petered off towards the end, when we were left staring at the remnants of our cheese-plate for a very long time while failing to summon the bill. And the restaurant was not very busy. All of these things taken together did not make for the luxurious and easy stay I had imagined given the Trip Advisor rating and, indeed, the price. I might go back if I was travelling with my partner. But then again.... maybe not.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the garden. our room ("Fig") was on the ground floor on chapel lane, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityGirlCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I stayed in the hotel for one night as part of a company away day. The location is great - right in the center and in the outside bar you can see the river, and there are lovely gardens and importantly parking!

The room was good size, very modern with comfy bed, separate dressing room and lovely bathroom with good toiletries.

The small let downs for me were - my room was right at the end of the building next to the entrance to the car park where the machine that you have to press in order to gain access to the car park made beeping noises when somebody left the car park. Second, you can hear people walking in the floor above you. And lastly, on the bed throw there were some short blonde hair which were not mine.

The breakfast is also very good in the hotel. The staff is very attentive and make you feel very special. I would like to return to this hotel again soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild_Panther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Many years ago we had stayed at the Arden Hotel whilst attending the RSC theatre. We can remember being in a small, attic-type room and walking around old corridors with dark wood. As it has been refurbished we decided to stay there whilst going to an evening performance at the theatre. What a difference! This is noticeable immediately in the new carpark - previously it was cramped and only allowed a certain number of cars. This new space was open with plenty of room. Also, the reception, which had been at the front of the old building is now a modern, spacious entrance directly from thecarpark. We had booked a cheaper room but were pleasantly surprised to have been given an upgrade - and what a room! It was stylish, clean and contained the largest en-suite I have ever seen. Breakfast in the morning was good although we did notice that people staying for more than one night did seem to have preferential treatment - although that might have been just our perception. The only drawback? Trying to find the entrance to the rooms by coming in through the "front" door as you have to work your way around bars and restaurants and there were no signs- much better to go through the garden and immediately to the new entrance. We are going back in January.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen_stewart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We have stayed in Stratford regularly for many years and decided to try the newly re furbed Arden.
Initially shown to a room we found disappointing , small, hot and potentially noisy . We asked to change and were shown to another slightly larger slightly cooler room. The room was nice but a bit corporate , bathroom was lovely >
The bed was fabulous, gorgeous thick white sheets and very comfy. The corridors and some rooms were unbearably hot and unpleasant because of this , discussion with reception did not really explain this , this needs addressing. Breakfast and dinner was ok but not special the service in the restaurant was not as calm and invisible as I would have liked , shortage of staff produced obvious stress.
Obviously great setting opposite the theatre , however on this sunny wend it was hard to get a table on the terrace to have a drink , not good when you are resident. The hotel is top dollar but misses on several counts, having said that probably the best Stratford has for it's captive audience currently.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed here for 1 night after attending Ladies Day at Stratford Races. We were upgraded by three level!!! Stayed in the "Monkey Puzzle" room, everything about the Hotel was first class. Booked through "Small Hotels of the World", right opposite the RSC with views over the river. Would visit again without hesitation

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taraDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,692 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,086 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,292 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing