We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned in late August and had a wonderfull stay,as usual!”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Returned in late August and had a wonderfull stay,as usual!”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

As usual the stay from beginning to end was fantastic.The hotel is a joy to stay at, to relax and just make full use of a break. All staff from hotel manager down a extremely helpfull,cheerfull and have time to pass a word or two if you so wish,pressure of workload permitting. The only tip i have is go,enjoy and make full use of the amenities in and around the hotel. Guideline from me is, be prepared to not want to leave, it's a home from home feeling!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumacantii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    271
    65
    12
    2
See reviews for
119
692
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We chose this hotel on recommendation from tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. We stayed in a superior kingsize room and the room was spacious with great views. There wasn't a bath but a walk-in shower and the l'Occitane toiletires were appreciated. The room was decorated beautifully and it was a pleasure to spend the night there.

The reception staff were very efficent and helpful.

The only thing that let our stay down was our meal in The Waterside Brasserie which was very disappointing. We would like to stay at The Arden again but will eat elsewhere next time. Having said that, the cooked breakfast we had in the room the next morning was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cupcakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We had booked a four night stay for the bank holiday weekend, an annual theatre trip that we make with old school friends. We arrived late due to traffic problems and were very disappointed with the very small room ' Magnolia' in the old part of the building. The next day we decided to cut our losses and reduced our stay to 2 nights. The photos on the website give an unfair view of the size of the rooms. They have been refurbished with very large bathrooms; ours was nearly as large as the bedroom. The shower was over the bath and needed someone with althletic ability and long legs to enable safe access and good technology skills to work the taps. There were no safety handles and on the second day I slipped getting into the bath ,which resulted in a large bruise. I got little sympathy when I complained and asked for their accident book.... I was told that handles were available if I had ASKED for them to be fitted. Should I have needed to do this? When we shortened our visit we were offered a room change and a very helpful manager showed us some much better rooms with walk in showers BUT we couldn't face the hassle of moving so we went home.
Breakfast was good but the hot breakfast was lukewarm on both days, so we sent it back on the second day and waited 30 minutes for it to be replaced.
The RSC members brochure says 10% discount for RSC members at this hotel BUT when we checked on arrival this was NOT available if the booking had been made on their website. It was only available for telephone bookings.Luckily the RSC credited our tickets for the Monday performance that we missed because of this.
We asked for tea bags other than Twinings so the manager sent out for some Tetley's for us!
We would return but would only book after choosing a decent room. Much better than Alveston Manor where we have usually stayed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraSBolton_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had very high expectations for this hotel based on the very positive reviews written here, and also because the hotel is a member of the slh (small luxury hotels) group (and we have had previous experience of their hotels).

From check- in to check- out we could not fault the service. The staff at this hotel were exceptionally efficient and accommodating. No request was too much trouble. The quality of the room was superb (and yes, I agree with other reviews - it's very warm!!) and the location perfect.

This is the only hotel I would stay in if I returned to Stratford

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Absolutely great ! Great food, beautiful room. Staff who can't do enough for you. I have been coming to Stratford since 1973, and this hotel made this the best trip yet. Thank you !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddy5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longhope, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - clean, spacious, and relaxing room decor, fiendly and helpful staff, pleasant surroundings and car parking just off the Royal Shakespear theatre. More than what we expected.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

What can I say?! From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed everything was just perfect.

Stratford upon Avon is beautiful and the approach to the hotel really takes you through the heart of the town and shows its historic story at every turn - NB: ensure you get the car park postcode to tackle the one way system!

Met in the car park, Jason the GM and Andrew the very strong butler kindly showed us to our sumptuous suite. Velour bed spreads and 6 of the most sink into luxurious pillows I have ever had the pleasure of almost made it impossible to drag ourselves downstairs...but we did!

Sat on the tiered terrace, in glorious sunshine, over looking the theatre and the river with a very good bottle of wine was the setting for a lovely afternoon...we took an early dinner from the "pre theatre" menu and the pork belly was delicious...the best we have had anywhere! There is a really relaxed atomosphere on the terrace of people enjoying a glass of Champagne or enjoying dinner before going off to the theatre.

After a stroll through the park to Shakespeare's burial place it was time for cocktails...the hotel has an extensive range definitely recommend the Moitos and the staff even took the time to research a special cocktail request.

Breakfast offered a huge choice and the service was impeccable...

Service levels, the welcome and the goodbye are what makes The Arden especially special...

Our thanks go to the whole team for such a lovely stay and we will definitely be back in the very near future....you now have a special place in out hearts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squirrel1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing