We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed for one night and found everything to be perfect and exceeded expectations. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was beautifully served. The room had recently been re-furbished and was both tasteful and comfortable. Free parking was much appreciated as was free wi-fi. The location is fantastic. We went out of season and can highly recommend this as a great destination to both explore the area and, of course, with the Swan Theatre across the road to see the RSC perform.

Room Tip: Holly is a real treat with an amazing bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuzanneSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    266
    63
    12
    2
See reviews for
119
683
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed at the Arden for one night during our trip to Britain, and in all cases the Arden met or exceeded our expectations. We had notified them prior to our arrival that we would be arriving early and would require left luggage service, and the response was friendly, professional, and timely. When we arrived, our luggage was taken care of, and we were able to take advantage of the excellent location to get a couple of last-minute return tickets to the RSC theatre, literally across the street.

Our room (the Elm) included fresh milk for tea, bathrobes, and other bathroom goodies from L'Occitane in addition to free WiFi. We had pre-theatre dinner at the hotel restaurant, which was flavorful and showed a mastery of fusion without being too fussy, and the desserts were delightful.

Breakfast the next morning was also excellent, and our check-out was smooth. Overall, The Arden Hotel was a wonderful experience, from service to amenities to location, and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gabriel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
195 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed here as part of a two-day Christmas package that included afternoon tea, two dinners, Christmas carols, breakfasts, and Christmas lunch. We met up with family members for the Christmas lunch, and they all enjoyed it. So -- 10 out of 10 for a relaxing holiday break.

Our room, the Beech (they're all named after trees), was either a deluxe or a master. The room itself wasn't spacious, but the bathroom was roomy, with a bathtub that was separate from the shower. There was a small separate dressing area that I found surprisingly useful.

Stratford-upon-Avon may be firmly on the UK tourist map, but it doesn't seem to have a distinguished collection of hotels. The Arden is probably the best choice, especially given its proximity to the RSC.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Excellent location opposite RSC theatre and recently refurbished to a high standard. The service delivered by all staff was friendly and excellent.

Room Tip: Have the hotel confirm the size (Double or King) on the reservation based on room range. The website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Welshopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Arden Hotel was everything we expected it to be; stylish, modern and throughly relaxing. Our bathroom included a double shower and huge bath which was most welcome after all the christmas shopping! Breakfast was excellent and the service was just right. If you are lucky you can take a window seat and enjoy a wonderful view of the River Arden whilst enjoying breakfast. The hotel is right next to the RSC theatre and central to all the shops and restaurants (with free parking). We stayed for 3 nights and I wrote in the hotel guest book that I was going home a different woman - thanks to the Arden.

Room Tip: We had room Azalea which is situated at the end of a corner and very quiet - we therefore didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We have have just returned from a couple of days at The Arden with our family. We cant fault the Hotel - the rooms were amazing -very spacious and comfortable and each one totally different. The service from the moment we arrived to leaving could not have been better. We also ate in the Hotel pre theatre - food was delicious and presented by friendly efficient staff. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The Hotel's location is ideal - next to the RSC Waterfront Theatre and the river. All in all it was an amazing experience which we would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms and all at various parts of the Hotel and all of our family were very pleased with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dolly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Gorgeous room, very clean and attractive. Super bar/ restaurant, food excellent, attentive staff. Copious hotel car parking Excellent position right opposite RSC and close to river. Plenty to do around Strattford- we toured 5 residences connected with Shakespeare. A lovely weekend break which we intend to repeat again-soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing