We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a really lovely english hotel”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a really lovely english hotel”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

a great place to stay when going to see shakespeare. the hotel has real character and style (like the town) and the staff were particularly friendly. a must for your next trip to shakespeare's home town!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    277
    66
    12
    2
See reviews for
123
705
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend at this hotel. It met every expectation - a superb room with top quality fittings and furniture, excellent, helpful and friendly staff and excellent food. We stayed at the Alveston Manor for many years when visiting Stratford, but sadly it is becoming tired and dated with too many things going wrong, so The Arden was a most welcome and refrshing change!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dianeanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I found this by reviewing tripadvisor reviews. All were positive and I could not agree more. Very friendly and efficient staff who gave us a double upgrade. Guess they weren't too busy. However, they did not recommend the best place for dinner; they just said it was the best after we found it on our own (through tripadvisor). Still rate the hotel tops. Can't beat the location, right across from RSC/Swan Theatre.

Room Tip: We just chose the 'classic'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePrize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at the Arden for two nights - Friday and Saturday.

The building is characterful and the "Master" room was fine. We had a pre theatre supper on the Friday evening in the hotel brasserie which was good food, well served, as was breakfast on Saturday. Breakfast on Sunday couldn't have been more different. The "cooked to order" breakfast wasn't ( cooked) and swimming in the grease on the plate, underneath the bacon, was a black hair. The staff were assiduous in avoiding any contact with us so I didn't send it back - I had lost my appetite and didn't want another undercooked offering. When asked on checking out if everything had been OK I mentioned it, but got no meaningful response. My advice would be avoid Saturday nights - the Sunday staff don't care as much as their colleagues, based on this experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We only had two nights here thinking that Stratford would be touristy and horrible. What a surprise. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts and dinner fantastic. To cap it off, the seats they obtained for us at the RSC were so close to the front that we really felt part of the action.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

What a beautifully stylish hotel the decor is outstanding. We visited for a mini weekend break and we were upgraded to a Deluxe double bedroom the room and bathroom were gorgeous the bed was huge and sooo comfortable I fell in love with the bathroom big bath and double shower and LOccitane bath products everything was top quality. The service was excellent from all staff. The position of the hotel I would think is the best in Stratford a few steps away from the RSC theatre and cross the road to wonderful walks round the River Avon. The shopping in Stratford is of top class many shops you dont see in other places. We ate in the Waterside restaurant and the food was top quality again. All I can say the best place to stay in Stratford.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My wife and I decided on the spur of the moment we would like to spend a few days in Stratford upon Avon. We decided to stay at The Arden, from the web site it looked too good to resist.

What an experience. From the slick web site booking to the flow of emails to check all are requirements were met the experience was nothing short of stunning!

The staff were very welcoming and courteous, nothing was too much trouble. The attention to detail throughout the hotel was outstanding.

The food in the Waterside Brasserie was to die for. Whether it was breakfast or the evening meal you will experience outstanding creative food.

Many thanks to all the staff for a memorable stay. Hope to see you all again very soon!

Room Tip: Room at the front over looking the Theatre and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timlumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,624 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,058 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing