We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, perfect location, great food...”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place, perfect location, great food...”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here for a short honeymoon and booked the Holly room which was very well-equipped with a fabulous bathroom, separate loo, and a little seating area. The room was very comfortable with a huge bed, and the housekeeping and turn down service were great. Overall, service was excellent: a very nice complementary bottle of bubbles was waiting for us, someone brought our bags to the room and requests for an iron/ironing board and a replacement kettle were carried out very quickly with no fuss. The real highlights of this hotel however are its brilliant location - right opposite the RSC theatre, and its food. There was only one dish which wasn't a huge hit - a rather odd cod in broth which had a non-crusty sesame seed crust! But otherwise the food was wonderful: amazing beautiful meals on two nights and lovely breakfasts, including one served hot in our room. I have to say though, there is probably even better food in the Rooftop restaurant at the RSC which is just as well executed but even more 'interesting' and with a kind of contemporary British feel: potted old spot pig, unbelievable lamb shoulder and 'flummery' which was delicious, even though I still don't know what it is!

The Arden could tweak a few details, but nothing that caused us any aggro: a couple of mosaic tiles in the shower popped up in the very powerful shower jets (a good thing?), there isn't any drawer space in the room we were in (women don't really put their knickers, tights and hair straighteners on shelves: it just seems WRONG! ;) and as others have said the rooms/corridors in the hotel are boiling hot. This last point is a tough one -the beautiful building clearly can't just accommodate air con, but we did wonder about low energy light bulbs since the corridor lights themselves seem to throw off loads of heat. But these things really did not affect our stay at all: we'd love to go back again, perhaps with the kids this time.

Room Tip: Holly is a lovely room - right on Chapel St but this means it is pretty quiet well away from the pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaKeele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    281
    67
    12
    3
See reviews for
128
719
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, AUS & Prague, CZ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

One of the nicest boutique hotels I have stayed in.

I stayed here on business in January 2012, and the Arden was my home away from home. The hotel has class and quirk, starting with the rooms.. no numbers, just names. I recommend the ACER room.. The Arden is in the old town, and is directly opposite the RSC & the Avon river, a 6 minute walk to the Holy Trinity Church and a 3 minute walk to the town center - really good location. The hotel had a close knit group of staff that looked after me during my stay, friendly and efficient - the key to good hospitality. F&B at the hotel was of good standard and the breakfast was top shelf.



THE PROS: Best location in town. Clean and well appointed rooms with L'Occitane amenities. 5 Star Service with a smile. Secure parking. Free WiFi for multiple devices!

THE CONS: No lift, tight hallways, noises from people in the hallways, no fitness centre, coffee needs improvement..



For discounted accomodation checkout the hotel's own website for great deals, and also review the 'small luxury hotels of the world' website. The Arden Hotel is a true luxury boutique hotel and is fortunate to have the best hotel location in Stratford Upon Avon. No need to look at the other hotels, do what you can to stay here - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The Master Rooms are the ones you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bulletpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in mid June when the weather was unseasonally cold. Our room was on the second floor which as soon as you climbed the stairs to the corridor the heat hit you - as it did in the room. No heating on but I would not like to stay here if the weather had been hot as when we mentioned it we were ignored and there did not appear to be any air conditioning on this floor. Room ok but the deep bath is a danger and the shower/tap unit is certainly a case of design over function. First night at the restaurant I ordered sea trout only to get salmon, I mentioned this to the waiter who said he would speak to the chef. At the end of the meal - I had decided to eat it as we were going to the theater and it was good - I asked the waiter what the chef had said. He had obviously not mentioned anything to the chef and merely assured me that sea trout were probably different where I came from!! The theatre menu choices were not good so did not eat in the restaurant again. Difficult to get service during the afternoon but saved by a local waitress who was great on two occasions while about 6 others talked among themselves and ignored us.
Its location is great for the theatre but doubt we will be paying the high prices when we next visit the theatre.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor at all costs, can't speak about the othrers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delyth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel is amazing - cleanliness, service, food and ambience are perfect. If you appreciate luxury and top quality this is the place to stay. My favourite hotel in the UK.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alz1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/Worcs
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The hotel is literally on the doorstep of the theatre and the river so the location could be no better. We only stopped for a very quick lunch so sat in the small lounge next to the brasserie and ordered sandwiches which were freshly made and generous in portion size accompanied by mixed leaves and coleslaw. Although the ham sandwich was described as ham and mustard there was no mustard on the sandwich but on asking for some mustard this was quickly rectified. Service was friendly and efficient. The outside area (weather permitting) for dining or drinks is very inviting and the internal decor is nicely styled with a relaxing feel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

First of all, if you're going to the theatre this hotel is just across the road. It couldn't be in a better location. Next, we experienced only friendly and helpful staff, so no problems on that score. It's a good hotel, even very good, but a few things make if fall short of what you should expect for your money, for example we had to ask for someone to come and take our cocktail order (on two separate occasions). On a positive note, room service delivered two fresh and well-made sandwiches within 10 minutes just after 11 pm. We weren't far away from awarding an 'excellent', but, well, it wasn't, and it could be with a little more effort. Would we go back? Probably, but we would prefer to be saying 'certainly'.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacD_of_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Great location and the roomwe had was super but service generally was a bit iffy. Reception & check in was ok but a porter to help with luggage would have been appreciated. The food in the restaurant both breakfast and dinner was good(breakfast buffet itself was poor) but the service was very poor. Our rooms were not made up till after 3pm which is unacceptable. For the theatre - which is why we were there- the location of the Arden is perfect but they need to buck up a bit as there are plenty of other options nearby

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Persephone20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,698 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,086 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,292 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing