We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel for weekend break”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Nice boutique style hotel. Lovely refurbished rooms in a great location. Food and drink a bit pricey but service excellent. Nice for a short weekend away. Stayed for a Sunday on the bed breakfast and diner rate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

When we booked this was #1 in Stratford, but currently it's #2...

I booked for a group of 10 for a 2 day meeting at short notice. All bedrooms were comfortable and spacious but lack in air conditioning, which is apparently being fitted soon, but there was a fan. I was on the ground floor and didn't want to sleep with the window open, so upstairs it may have been better.

Fantastic option for breakfast in bed with no extra charge.

I complained about the smell of drains coming from my bathroom, but I was the only one out of the 10 of us who had this problem, however I am still waiting for the hotel to come back to me about this and our stay was in early July.

The location is fantastic - right opposite the RSC.

The bar/restaurant area is nice with a lovely terrace.

As a meeting venue, there needs to be a few tweaks... Pens rather than just pencils in the room, but paper was provided. Extension cables already in the room for laptops would be good.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Anything we asked for was done with a smile.

Our stay was enjoyable but I would not rate as a 5*.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Button121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Lovely hotel at the best location in Stratford Upon Avon. A few hundred yards from the river, the Theatres and the shops. Private free car park at the hotel. Liked our room ( Spruce ) and the highest levels of customer service from all the staff. Stayed 2 nights. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RobertLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in late July, 2012 and combined it with a trip to the theatre. It's the perfect location for that as it's literally a hop across the street.

The Arden's a great hotel for a stay in Stratford and whoever is running it is doing a great job - the room went beyond our expectations and was very well appointed and clean and had a huge bathroom. It looked like it had seen renovation inside of the last year or two as everything felt pretty new.

We ate in the hotel's brasserie two nights running and also had breakfast there and were very impressed both by the quality of the food and by the way in which it's served. The food is really very good and the service runs like clockwork. We never had to ask for anything or question anything, it all just worked and was there to be enjoyed.

Even an early pre-theatre dinner worked out really well with the service just speeded up slightly to make sure that you don't miss the performance but, equally, not making you feel like you're being rushed out of the door.

I'd recommend The Arden to anyone looking to stay in Stratford and especially if you're there for the theatre as it's so convenient.

We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Went for the British Grand Prix and stayed here for three nights. Stayed in a Superior Room and it was very comfortable and clean. All the ammenties you would expect. Staff were very nice and helpful and breakfast good. Table Service in the bar area ( Terrace ) was a bit hit or miss. Sometimes, unbelievably slow and for the last evening we just ordered straight at the bar. Overall though, a comfortable stay and would return. Good location and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jleeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My other half booked to stay here for a birthday surprise weekend. We travelled from Kent in the evening and ended up arriving quite late, this was not a problem. On entering our room it was spotless, well presented and stylish. On request of my partner they made a personalised chocolate cake, strawberries dipped in chocolate and wine on ice. The rooms are large had a TV/DVD player. Fridge with water milk supplied. The bathroom was large and spacious dressing gowns and all little extras. The only one issue we had was the heat, the rooms were stifling but a fan is supplied and this did help, we did also mention it to the front desk and they ensured the heating in our room was turned off. The hotel was the perfect location directly opposite the Royal Shakespeare Company. Many local places to eat and many museums and historical places to visit within walking distance. Shakespeare's house is worth a visit and other locations along here. The only thing I would say is the restaurants were quite expensive and would recommend the pre theatre menus as gets you to your shows in record time! The hotel staff were very polite and would help you with anything, the breakfast was included in our room rate but if this wasn't included i would say it was quite pricey for what you get, for a full English breakfast and juice and tea it was £20. But as a treat.... Why not and you could sit outside and over look the canal was glorious. Highly recommend this hotel made our trip amazing in an lovely surroundings!

Room Tip: I stayed in bay and was amazing! Believe this was a superior room. Also there is a car park which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jomarie57151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

If your going to visit Stratford upon Avon stay here, it’s a great location opposite the R.S.C. with lost of historical sites close at hand as well as further a field, we arrived very late on a Sunday evening 11.00pm to be precise the receptionist was excellent greeting us bright and bubbly explaining all of the amenities, and organising a late night drink, rooms are very comfortable with all you could need and serviced at regular intervals. A good breakfast sets you up for the day & hearty dinner helps you sleep well, the staff are all very pleasant and eager to help, an excellent three-day break.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bigbear122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,359 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,005 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £104 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing