We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standards need to be watched” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Standards need to be watched”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed here with an all inclusive Gourmet Break and was a little disappointed with some of the internal housekeeping. We had a great welcome and our bags were taken to our room which was overlooking the river. The room was tastefully furnished, but the bed, although comfortable, was too big for the room (or was the room too small for the bed?), and with the rest of the furniture, it was impossible to open the door fully to get in. Why do they put four pillows on the bed, when the only use for them is decoration? These were put in the windowsill for the duration of our stay. The bathroom had only one set of towels for the two of us, but was put right as soon as we mentioned it. I share other reviewers remarks on the water system, there is no hot water at the busiest time of the day, and needs to be sorted. With our package, we were met with a bottle of champagne in our room. The bucket and empty bottle were still there two days later, and it was only when we saw someone cleaning the rooms, that we asked her to take it away.
As far as the food was concerned, it was OK, but the menu doesn't really change apart from one dish per day, and the lack of people eating in the restaurant in the evening told it's own story. We found out later that most people stay on a B & B basis, and go out for a meal, as there is such a great range of restaurants in Stratford, with a greater choice of food at more reasonable prices. Again, is it me, or is this latest craze for putting food on the equivalent of a roof tile really necessary. To see a waiter trying to pick one up off the table without pushing it to the edge to be able to hold it is just stupid. They came with a choice of breads at the start of the meal, but this was all soft bread with no crunchy varieties, which if pate is ordered is just not acceptable. To the waitresses credit, she did put some bread in the toaster when I pointed this out. For pate not to be served with toast or equivalent is not on and is quite sickly. The breakfast menu was quite good, although on the second morning, the bowl of yoghurt was missing, and I was informed that they had run out.
Sorry if this sounds crabby, it isn't, but the more we stay in various places, the more we realise that a hotel can be let down so easily by lack of attention to detail. This is one of those hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid Rowan room, it is too small for the amount of furniture and bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    263
    62
    12
    1
See reviews for
115
677
26
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed as part of wedding package, found very over priced for a small room with pretty poor facilities. Bath/shower water took ages to get hot, and when showering the water goes very hot and cold quickly for a couple of seconds whenever someone else puts a tap on, before recovering to the temp before. Breakfast was good, no more than expected. We had the Willow room, one of the better rooms, and for £138 a night well over priced, in my humble opinion, for a small room with a very small not comfortable double bed.
Location however was very good for Stratford, car park good and secure. but will not stay there again. Room's too small, bathroom dated, hot water terrible and double bed too small and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Just stayed for 3 nights with my mum to have a girlie break. From the minute we checked in the staff could not have been more helpful! From the restaurant staff to the housekeepers everyone was very attentive and curteous. We had a lovely room and dinner in the restaurant one night, The food was very very good and not overly priced, Breakfast was lovely with no rushing and was fresh, tasty with lots of choice, Location was superb and sooo quiet in the night, The waiting staff in the restaurant were so friendly and so helpful you really did feel looked after. My only complaint (if you can call it that) was I would recommend a bell or some form of buzzer in the residents bar to alert staff we were in there. As it was quiet the bar was not staffed and we had to go and ask whether we could be served a drink in there. Apart from this very small observation we are returning seperately with our husbands for another wonderful break very soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelandkaren29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel in March and I placed a glowing review on this site. We returned in July for a three night stay on the strength of the previous visit and had a much less positive experience. Like the previous reviewer, we were greeted rather frostily with a receptionist telling us check in was not until two. When we did check in we asked for a table to be reserved for us and four friends for the following evening. All went well with the stay until the six of us arrived on the Saturday evening to be told no table had been reserved, but that we would be fitted in.Our hopefully happy evening with our friends went from bad to worse. Nobody who understood the wine list could be bothered to come to talk to us, leaving a flustered waitress going to ask somebody for information - twice! Two of my friends were served with the wrong meal, nobody topped up our wine or water or replaced the bread. The side orders finally arrived after the main courses had been almost eaten. My husband's dessert, which he had enjoyed on the previous evening, and which he recommended to one of our friends, was totally different and inferior and neither of them liked it. We spoke to the duty manager, who was exceptionally understanding and professional and did not charge for the meal. This was, however, not what we wanted. We did not set out to have a poor meal for free, but a good meal for the full price, and I was left feeing very upset and embarrassed in front of my friends. We only see each other a few times a years and it had been my choice of restaurant. On departure I decided not to complete the questionnaire but to write in detail to the general manager telling him both good and bad points about our stay and also how well his duty manager had coped. No response! A few weeks later I wrote again. Also no answer! I eventually contacted the head office of the group, and was then told in an e- mail from the general manager that he had not seen either of my letters. The tone seemed to be that as the matter had been dealt with, I had no reason to be writing anyway. Yes, we do appreciate what was done to make amends, but in an establishment such as this and at the prices they charge, there really should be no amends to be made. We visit Stratford several times a year and thought we had found a new favourite place to stay, but our experience in July and the follow up to that makes me doubt whether we will return to this hotel. I note that the previous reviewer, Peter E, also had no response to his letter. Either the Stratford post office is failing to deliver letters to the hotel or they are going missing (or even being ignored!) within the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We selected the Arden due to its central location in Stratford. The hotel is a maze of narrow corridors, many staircases; poor layout; and less than functional room design. The bathroom lighting is not properly located over the sink making shaving or putting on makeup a challenge; we were provided with one tiny bar of soap and were told that was all the hotel includes; cabinets lacked drawers (only had shelves); the shower floor was an ice rink when wet; and the mold on the shower walls a special feature. The restaurant food was barely passable and the included breakfast minimal. The front desk clerk when we checked in was extremely rude and suggested we carry our own bags to our room. All this for only 270 pounds per night! FYI: There is a very nice Holiday Inn only two blocks away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend at The Arden.We found the location perfect .The food was excellent both at lunch and at dinner.Our room was very well appointed and very comfortable . We have stayed in many wonderful four and five star hotels and The Arden is now at the top of our favourites list . So much so that we have just booked again for Easter next year.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank carolyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Stayed at hotel for three night in April. Master room, with separate lounge. Very hot in lounge and unable to use because we could not open sealed windows. The bedroom 'Maple' did not have a walk in rain shower as advertised on web. We requested coffee pods and ONE was delivered to the room after waiting for 45 mins.... We arrived at the hotel at 1.30pm and was told to come back at 2pm because our room was not ready. Receptionist never even checked. Lunch time we sat down for a meal at 1pm and was told we couldnt be served for a time because they were very busy.... This is a room for which we paid £798 for three days. I leave it up to the readers whether or not they think this is up to standard. Finally, I wrote to the management four weeks ago and have not received a reply to date. I do not think that customer relations is their strong point. I never write on these sites, but I have made an exception this time, in view of the fact that I have been ignored by the management.

Room Tip: Dont go into Maple...very hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing