We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little diamond; the jewel of Stratford!”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights & enjoyed the afternoon tea on the Friday afternoon, which was superb & outstanding value @ just £15 a head! Gorgeous fine china, a delicious selection of fresh sandwiches, exquisite pastries & warm home made scones served with clotted cream & variety of jams! We enjoyed a glass of champers, which was extra & polished it off nicely with a mojito cocktail each! The service was friendly, efficient & professional but not too in your face/over the top! The bedrooms were stylish, beautifully appointed & tastefully decorated but also fantastically clean & cosy & what a view; the river avon literally on its' doorstep.
Breakfast was plentiful, offering so much choice & once again the service was tremendous; welcoming & friendly & nothing was too much trouble! Dinner in the restaurant was equally excellent in all areas & once again the service was second to none. Lewis, at the bar is particularly enthusiastic, courteous & customer orientated & certainly is a great representative for the Arden Hotel. We are frequent Patrons at the Arden's sister-hotel; the Mallory Court near Leamington Spa & favour the less formal & more relaxed vibe apparent at the Arden!
The Arden is conveniently located to all the local attractions & it was a pleasure to be so close to the Town Centre; for popping to the shops, dropping our shopping back when the bags became too heavy to carry & wondering back & forth to explore the beautiful streets of Stratford Upon Avon.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navilluso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
There are newer reviews for The Arden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012

Very recently we overnighted at this hotel, where we have eaten previously but never stayed. We had chosen it for a New Year' Eve break and wanted to see what it was like. We had business in Birmingham so it was a good place to stay.
We had booked a DeLuxe room, and were upgraded to a Master Room. The hotel was clearly not very busy. The room was extremely good, it was, basically, a junior suite. There was a definable "lounge" part of the room, with settee and chairs together with all the amenities one would wish for. The bed was king size, and very comfortable. The bathroom had a large walk-in shower, a very large but comfortable bath, there was plenty of shelving space around the wash basin to set out one's touiletries - always something my wife judges a hotel by! and overall, the whole room was extremely well furnished.
The common areas of the hotel are limited, it's not the largest hotel in the world, but there are a couple of lounges/bars where one can sprawl into an easy chair. The restaurant is good, no, it's more than that, it's very good, and I shall be reviewing that separately. The staff were unfailingly courteous and helpful when we were there, and finally, the position of the hotel is to die for, overlooking the River Avon, opposite the Royal Shakespeare Theatre and a 5 minute stroll from the shopping centre.
This hotel is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World Group; we thought they fully justified their membership.

Room Tip: Probably not necessary.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FORRES33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Strategically located opposite the Shakespeare Company Theatre, down the road from parks and a canal, round the corner from the central shopping, business and restaurant area. Superb deluxe room with quality fittings, huge bathroom, bathrobes, wifi, table/chairs, desk, Robe and views to an attractive side street. High tea with champers and scones was a treat one afternoon whilst breakfast whether continental or cooked was amazing. Friendly staff throughout the hotel .... dining room wait staff most accomodating. Spotless, high quality, efficient are amongst the hotels many qualities. Maybe 10 euros for a taxi from the station. Easy walk to attractions within the town and 30-40 min walk to Anne Hatheways cottage. Yes would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynny07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

2nd visit to Arden Hotel was very much a disappointment. Paid for a deluxe room which was small, dark and somewhat dingy!! there was workmen installing air conditioning which meant as we were placed the furthest from the reception and then had to detour around works it proved rather inconvenient. Would not return!!! The best part of the break was plenty of parking and the shops were close.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Juniper!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 812Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

A colleague and I stayed over for one night while on business.

The girls on reception were great. Very friendly and down to earth, but totally professionally and managed the booking brilliantly.

The hotel itself is in a fantastic position overlooking the river and the rooms were way beyond expectation. Absolutely top drawer, immaculate and the bathrooms were superb.

We didn't eat in restaurant in the evening, but I had afternoon tea which nearly sunk the boat.

Would definitely recommend the Arden and I'll be back for sure next time I'm in Statford which itself is well worth a visit.

Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights at The Arden for our Wedding Anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is in the perfect location, close to the river and shops and directly opposite the RSC Theatre. The staff were friendly and polite, the room was clean, warm and comfortable. We had breakfast in our room both days and it was plentiful and well presented. We had a meal in the Restaurant one night, which was wonderful and also treated ourselves to afternoon tea one day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motherofthetwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend at the Arden with some friends as a base for horse racing on Saturday and a long walk around Stratford-upon Avon on the Sunday.

The hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes stroll to pubs/restaurants and the Shakespearean bits and its got lots of parking spaces.

We only had breakfast and one lunch at the hotel, which was superb, as we ate out at nearby restaurants.

In terms of the hotel staff, wonderful and efficient - the gentlemen at reception even ran us to the racecourse in his own car as we were struggling to get a taxi at short notice.

A very relaxed and very enjoyable place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papasteve1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,801 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,968 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £104 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing