We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay at The Arden, won't be the last.”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed at the Arden for a private family party. The attention to detail is evident throughout the hotel. Not just the fixtures and fittings, but all the staff as well. As has been said before, the fresh milk in the fridge was mentioned by every member of our party. The food, both at our party and for breakfast was excellent. Sadly couldn't stay for the Jazz Brunch, so that will have to wait for another time. No complaints, only praise

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

751 - 757 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

Picked the hotel for it's central location, closeness to the RSC and free parking - top class on all those points.
We booked the Valentine's package for 2 nights - DB&B, a deluxe room & glass of champagne included each night £235.
We stayed in the room called 'Pine'. It was spotless & comfortable with large bathroom - nice toiletries (but sadly they weren't replenished after day one. 1 small shower gel between 2 for 2 days).
On arrival the previous guests breakfast pots were outside our door (they stayed there until the following morning, seen by at least 2 members of staff who checked us in & turned down our beds - not good!)
Valentine's dinner was lovely, attentive restaurant staff and food of a high quality. 3 courses for £18 included in our deal, with glass of champagne. Lovely!
Back to our room for coffee, fresh milk in the fridge is a nice touch & would have expected a biscuit as we'd seen the room next door being turned around with biscuits in the refill tray (but no, not a biscuit in sight in our room)
Our second evening dining in the restaurant we were disappointed with the choice of menu - the starters were exactly the same (not eating salmon, my choice was again the cauliflour soup, small detail but with a talented chef I would have expected a change!)
After the theatre we returned to find a broken glass by our bedside - nice touch with the bottle of water but the obviously broken glass let it down again.
Breakfast was lovely & staff friendly.
The hotel just let us down in the small details that go to making this sort of break exceptional, & one to which we would have returned. Instead it was very average & it has left us looking at other similar central hotels for our theatre trips in the future.

Room Tip: we stayed in Pine, quiet & spotless faces Chapel Lane
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jarcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed at the Arden for one night on Tuesday 12 February. We stayed in a superior room, so I'm judging it as such. However, all the ingredients for a wonderful stay were there. Fresh milk in the fridge, complimentary still and sparkling water, selection of different teas as well as our own cafetiere with either decaf or regular coffee. When we returned to our room after our evening out, the bed had been turned down. This was useful but even better was that our mugs from earlier had been washed up. These are the little extras that all hotels should consider. The room was a good size. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom clean and sparkling with high quality products. Only problem was no bath mat. My husband did slip over but lucky didn't hurt himself. I mentioned this on check out and the receptionist said that there's supposed to be one in all rooms. Breakfast was wonderful too. Delicious home made granola, berries and yogurt. Hot breakfast cooked to order, so no ghastly buffet. All staff were friendly and helpful. Well done indeed. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in Robinia which was ok but could have been a problem as it was right by the stairs to 4 r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BossyladyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We have always loved this hotel. It really is the best location, especially for trips to the RSC. Staying this time, though, made me a bit sad. The renovations are recent but so incredibly 'modern hotel generic' that it has been sapped of character. Far too many, rapidly dating, 'feature walls' and chandeliers. It could have been so much more...
Still, getting back to business, the staff are pleasant and our room was large but expensive. Breakfasts were pretty good.
It still remains my top choice in stratford upon Avon for location, parking and comfort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbirdandgrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

When visiting a new town, the type of hotel isn't usually a major consideration, as we prefer to be out and about. However, as we were on a tight schedule and it was a special occasion, I pushed the boat out a little and booked the Arden. The hotel is lovely, and the location is perfect. Our room was upgraded (which was a real bonus) and we stayed in the "Acer". Depite facing the road the room was perfectly quiet. There wasn't anything we could have wished for that wasn't provided. There was plenty of choice for breakfast, and the room in which we ate was clean and bright. Didn't try the restaurant owing to time constraints. Would like to return when we could make the most of the beautiful outdoor seating areas. Parking is an added bonus in Stratford!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Possibly the most beautiful hotel in England with service to match. The rooms are second to none and worth every penny. Large TV, L'occitane products and a fridge come as standard. Free parking is also a bonus if you don't mind driving round the block a few times. Drinks are very expensive but worth it and all evening food is served on a slate which inevitabily gets stuck to the table, so I'm not quite sure what that's all about apart from pretentious nonsense. Actually, what you do get is superb but you really need to visit the chip shop either before or after which is a bit rubbish really. Breakfast is an experience especially if you like modern art - order a fry-up and it looks like something worthy of an exhibit in the tate modern. All in all a fantastic hotel - enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cloudybay69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

If you're looking for a hotel which is within easy walking distance of the theatre and Stratford upon Avon centre then look no further. In fact the RSC theatre is across the road and the town centre a street away. Often when one stays in a town centre hotel, car parking is limited, or not provided at all, but at the Arden ample guest car parking is available. I think it's free as well!

The hotel has a luxury boutique feel to it but without the pretentiousness which sometimes accompanies hotels in this category. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the guest room, whilst on the small side, was stylish, cosy and well appointed. To get to the room I had to negotiate a number of stairways, which was fine for me as an able bodied person but I'm not sure how someone less able would do so. Definitely worth asking the management before you book.

Breakfast and dinner were served in the Waterside Brasserie. No complaints here about either. The choice, quality and service was as good as I've had anywhere. Unfortunately on the Saturday night I had dinner, the place was empty, other than for one other couple, which was rather surprising. I hate it when staff are standing around waiting for you to finish your course and whisk away your plate.

As I was on a business trip, it was great to have access to Wi-FI in the room, but I'm not sure whether this was complementary or included in my room package.

Al in all a great hotel and definitely one that I will be coming back to.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhileasPhoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,359 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,005 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £104 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing