We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My partner booked this hotel for a 2 night break and easily one of the best hotels I've stayed. Staff friendly and efficient, rooms spacious and well equipped and food in hotel restuarant absolutely spot on. Cannot fault the hotel at all. Would highly recommend and even if not staying there, the restuarant is quite excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasto65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    272
    65
    12
    2
See reviews for
120
692
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Recently had a lovely stay in Stratford Upon Avon, made even better by the warm and welcoming staff at this hotel. Great restaurant food & service. We stayed in a deluxe room which was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. A must to try is the old-fashioned sweets style cocktails!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful Sunday luncheon to celebrate Mother's Day, (10.03.13); which at £35 per head for three (3) courses was a little steep & inflated, although given it was Mother's Day & the majority of establishments increase their prices for such occasions, this is nothing unsual & since the entire experience oozed quality throughout, it was worth every penny! The food was delicious; Cornish crab salad for myself & my Mother chose asparagus spears with ham & poached egg; both were simply exquisite & utterly faultless! We both enjoyed traditional roast beef with all the trimmings; all beautiful cooked & the vegetables were al dente & perfection. Dessert was eaton mess for Mother, which was presented upon a slate board & was a work of art in terms of presentation & exceptionally delicious; whilst I enjoyed a cheese board which was plentiful with a great variety of cheeses. The service was attentive & friendly, yet not too stuffy or formal & Rose was particularly welcoming & helpful; delivering fantastic customer service & really demonstrating a genuine passion for her job.

We then checked in for our overnight stay & yet again the Reception Team were superb; polite, professional & really welcoming; particularly Charlotte, whom had really gone the extra mile in assisting us with our initial reservation & personally welcomed us to the Hotel. After check-in we were escorted to our room by a Member of the Reception Team & provided with a familiarisation/room-guide, which was a lovely touch & added to our welcome. Our room; "The Pine," (all the rooms are named after trees), was absolutely beautiful! The decor was tasteful country elegance, providing everything you could possibly require & the bathroom was equally stylish & everywhere was thoroughly spotless & clean. We were impressed with the evening turn-down service; a really lovely traditional tough which made us feel really cared for & the complimentary DVD facility was also a nice added extra!

Breakfast the following morning was wonderful; providing a wide celection of cereals, fruits, ham, cheeses, nuts, breads, yogurts, juices, patisseries & of course the full English was to die for! Perfectly poached eggs, thick crispy bacon, field mushrooms, fresh tomatoes, black pudding & fried bread; I'm salivating now even at the memory! Once again, the service was great all round.

In conclusion, I've stayed here a few times, taken lunch, dinner & afternoon tea & I can not find a single fault with anything! It's definitely worth trying & especially for a special occasion to treat a loved-one! You will not be disappointed.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Navilluso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed here three nights in a suite.
The room was spacious and comfortable with a good bathroom. A nice touch is the small personal fridge with fresh milk to use with the good quality tea and coffee- a change from being supplied with UHT. The bed was very comfortable.
The one evening meal in the brasserie was adequate and nothing more. It didn't encourage us to return. However, breakfast was good with hot choices served at the table when all too often good quality hotels serve everything buffet style.
There are drawbacks. The hotel is warren like with many stairs to negotiate. There is an attempt at a boutique hotel feel but it doesn't quite work. The carpets are beginning to show signs of wear but generally there is no complacency as decoration work was being carried out during our stay. Although there was the smell of paint on the corridor it didn't penetrate the room. We could distinctly hear noise from an adjoining room.
Our ground floor room looked out onto the street but we didn't experience external noise.
The best aspect is the fact the hotel is across the street from the RSC. If the main purpose of the stay is a theatre break this hotel is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acontributor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pecetto Torinese, Italy
Level Contributor
134 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed there one night in a business trip to Birmingham. Being SLH member I got an upgrade and free breakfast. Room was spacious and very well maintened. Wifi is fair. Breakfast was acceptable but below expectations given by the other services. Wide parking space is appreciable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessio315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

stayed at the Arden on Friday 8th March in a twin room. The decor was lovely and the room very clean. Full English breakfast in the pleasant brasserie, the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We lingered for an hour and a half, no being rushed. I would recommend this as a treat, ideally located opposite the theatre.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBrown844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We decided to visit Stratford upon Avon for our anniversary this year. I had been there as a child, but didn't remember a lot about it. The Arden was the first hotel that came up on an internet search, but after looking at others, I decided to book it.
We were not disappointed. I was amazed how close it was to the RSC, although we didn't book tickets. It was also very handy for town,and most of the attractions. The hotel was clean and comfortable,and despite the bed being a lot firmer (and bigger) than we would have chosen, we still managed to get 2 good nights sleep. The rosettes for the restaurant are well deserved. Our only difficulty was distinguishing the hot from the cold tap, and understanding the bath shower controls.
The staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. It was however a little bit warm in the hotel, but the weather was fairly cold, so not easy to get the balance right

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandyHemelHempstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing