We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for RSCTheatre location”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for RSCTheatre location”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is a smart and comfortable hotel though rather bland as it is lacking in both style and atmosphere considering it's fantastic location across the road from the RSC Theatre main house & The Swan. Fairly recently refurbished, the designers could have used the connection of Shakespeare, his Play's and the RSC on it's doorstep to wow. What about fantastic photo's of RSC productions and the best of our Actors and Actresses from past repertoires to add glamour rather than 'non pictures' on the walls?
We used it, as intended, to allow us to run across the road and back from the theatre, in the pouring rain without getting too wet!
The staff were helpful and service was fine. The pre theatre supper was good; but cost more than advertised as VAT was slapped on without warning on the bill. Not quite the bargain that it initially seemed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank googoostick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    278
    66
    12
    2
See reviews for
123
704
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Super location for the theater and unexpectedly good to boot!

Stayed here for one night whilst going to the RSC theatre to see Hamlet (which was a real let down and a very poor production) however the night out was saved by a good hotel, with excellent attentive staff and a rather good brasserie style pre performance dinner.

Sensible parking arrangements and its brilliant position really should make this a first choice for a theatre or central visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BatmanMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel is fresh, modern and is finished to a high spec. The rooms are large, nicely decorated and well equipped. The bed was massive and comfy. The bathroom was large and had a separate bath and shower. A/c allowed the room to be kept at a comfortable temperature.

I found the hotel to be spotlessly clean. Location is perfect; opposite the RSC and a 30 second walk across a grassed area to the river.

The food in the restaurant was good and fairly priced. The outdoor champagne bar was perfect in the evening sun.

Only downside was that the restaurant / bar had run out of several food & drink options following a busy bank holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoingBoing23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My husband was booked in to this hotel for a work-related trip - I just came along for the ride. Because of this I can't comment on value for money. However the room was comfortable, tastefully decorated with a spacious bathroom and luxurious bed. Breakfast the next day was excellent, although service was a little dozy. Location was perfect, and I wished we had been going to the theatre, as the hotel is right across the road from Stratford's cultural hub. But the town is small, so easy to walk everywhere. A couple of quibbles: the car park is reached via a complex one-way system. We couldn't find it, and when we did it was full. The receptionist claimed information had been sent with our booking, but as we didn't actually make the booking, the info never reached us. Signs would be helpful - please? Also, I wouldn't recommend this hotel for elderly or disabled people - it is full of stairs and lengthy corridors, and finding your room isn't made easier by the hotel naming the rooms after trees: 'Oak", "Cypress', 'Beech', etc - like the 'Forest of Arden' (Geddit?) - and just as easy to get lost in. But in every other way, a place to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretBritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmardenhotel, General Manager at The Arden Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear MargaretBritish

Thank you for your kind review. Im glad you had a wonderful "classy" experience at the Arden Hotel. I would like to say that the confirmation we send to the person who makes the reservation has full driving instructions along with car park postcode, so driving to us is made as simple as possible. Full driving instructions can also be found on our website, which also includes the car park's postcode.

In regards to the car park, yes the car park was very busy last weekend. One of our team members could have parked the car for you, so you didnt have to worry about where to park. I must say it is very rare the car park is full and being Bank Holiday weekend it was of course very busy. Myself and the team kept a very close eye on the car park all weekend and were "juggling" cars most of the time. The car park is also compliementary to residents of the hotel unlike most of the other hotels in Stratford upon avon town centre.

On your last point, I would just like to make you aware that we have a disabled friendly room on the ground floor right next to reception and five other bedrooms, six steps away from reception, this makes it easier for our elderly guests to get around, as when the hotel was remodelled we were unable to install a lift due to the listed building constraints.We also have a wheelchair (Stair) lift.

I hope this has put your mind at rest and answered any questions that you may have had.

Thank you again for your comments, we very much look forward to welcoming you back the Arden Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Jason Adams
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk, uk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed here for one night in the Holly suite after a 2 night stay at The Lazy Cow in Warwick, and although it cost twice a much (and more!) I would gladly exchange one night here for 2 nights there. The suite was spacious, with a separate bathroom and toilet (the toilet being about the size of our bathroom at home!) and was beautifuly decorated. Everything was luxurious and the space just divine! We ate here as well and the only complaint was perhaps the size of the portions - a little too nouvelle cuisine for our liking. The staff, from cleaners through to the restaurant manager, were all friendly and courteous, and actually seemed to like working there. Would definately recommend a stay here - well worth the money.

Room Tip: Suites are spacious, but I think that all rooms would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helsvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We booked last minute to stay at The Arden Hotel on a Friday night a couple of weeks ago and will definitely return again. We were upgraded to a Master room which was tastefully furnished and equipped with everything needed for an overnight stay. The bathroom was huge with a bath & separate walk in shower, fluffy towels & bathrobes, high quality toiletries etc. The complimentary tea & coffee tray came with a cafetiere and proper milk which we really appreciated! A very comfortable kingsize bed, flat screen TV, hairdryer, a very pleasant sitting area & desk and free Wifi. The hotel is opposite the main theatre and overlooks the river, you could walk everywhere and parking was free. Breakfast was included, served efficiently and very good – huge range of items to choose from. After seeing Hamlet we had a drink in the main bar which was very pleasant. Would highly recommend The Arden Hotel as a great base to explore Stratford upon Avon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I previously reviewed The Arden after a business trip last year and I stayed there again some weeks ago. Last time, I complained that it was a lovely, cute hotel that was well situated for Aunty Ethel to visit the theatre but wasn't geared for business. I've changed my mind.

Everything was taken care of exactly the way it should have been. The room was great, the meeting room was superb, the staff were perfect.

I was so pleased I stayed at the Arden again, and I am glad I have the opportunity to get over myself and enjoy this fine hotel for what it is. I will definitely be back next time I am in town.

Room Tip: The master rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoziMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,611 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,054 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,865 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,212 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing