We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for an RSC Visit”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Can't get closer to the Royal Shakespeare a theatre without being on stage so the obvious choice for theatre-goers but also very handy for tourists. Access can be tricky as car park is down a series of one way streets. if driving there get clear instructions before you arrive. Reception was a little under-staffed but when we got service it was amiable and efficient. Room we had was hard to get to with luggage. It looked big but when we tried to find room for our fairly large bags we realise it wasn't well designed. We had to do some furniture rearrangement before everything fitted. Bathroom was large and well equipped but bath was chipped. Bed large and comfortable. Breakfast was good and available nice and late though breakfast room a little dirty.

Room Tip: Close to reception avoiding lots of stairs and corridors.x
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

Positives: excellent room, free wifi, a stone's throw from the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, helpful and knowledgeable staff. It's expensive but well worth the price and you don't feel like you are being ripped off. The Arden is a hotel of real character, and I would go again.

The was a great choice for the inclusive breakfast; one minor point regarding breakfast was that the poached eggs were not runny.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eureka100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Arden Hotel is a perfect location if you are attending the theatre is Stratford on Avon. It is really just across the street. The hotel is modern and very stylish. Nice sized rooms and the staff was fine. We enjoyed our stay and were with a group of 30 and all seemed to really like the hotel. I would say that it is almost a 5 star hotel. This is probably the best hotel in Stratford and you can't beat the location if you are in town for the Shakesphere productions across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhowell92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just returned from weekend stay-our first in Stratford upon Avon. Came across the Arden after booking tickets to see a production at the RSC theatre (advert). Booked 2 nights with B&B and dinner on one night- amazing 3 days stay in the lovely and easy accessible town.
Our room was ready Friday at 1pm when we arrived and we were shown upstairs. Large room and bathroom with all the necesssarys and a lovely bed!
Breakfast was taken in the room both mornings with prompt service and a more than adequate breakfast. Dinner one night was delicious and lots of attentive staff- only downside was that the 'champagne bar' is in the middle of the restaurant so you find yourself in a 'very' relaxed situation which was okay for us but may not be to everyone's taste. Several groups laughing and joking whilst we were having dinner for 2! The outside space looked wonderful but weather was not warm enough on our particular stay to dine al fresco. Lovely hotel- as mentioned previously-a bit of a maze- but plenty of signs to help you around! Plenty of parking too! Will go again

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking Chapel Lane - no problems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACB40_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Booked a private dinning room at the Arden for my mother's 70th Birthday - it was fabulous. Food delicious, great wine selection, staff efficient and very friendly. Decor and furniture in the room luxurious and table decorations were beautifully executed to the brief. I would not hesitate to recommend it to fellow event organisers in future or clients.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalyn43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The hotel is a bit a of a maze but a very stylish one. We stayed there as we were going to the theatre and it is ideal being so close to both theatres. The staff were very nice, but a bit amateur - they need more training. Our room: Linden was very stylish, with a large bathroom, but a bit small and had the usual problem - we could not read our books in bed (which was not very comfortable considering that this is an expensive hotel), because of the mean lighting, which is such a shame. We had breakfast in our room, which was very disappointing. We chose to have eggs, but they brought no salt or pepper. We ordered one tea and one coffee - all we got was coffee with no sugar!! A pity because otherwise a good quality hotel.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a bright room. We were in Linden and it is small and rather dark, with a super large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiskerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

From the moment you first drive into the car park and check in you know you are in for a treat, manicured gardens on approach, into the reception which is very tastefully decorated to be greeted with a smile by the reception staff, great start to our anniversary weekend.

i'd booked originally booked a Superior room over the phone direct with the Hotel, when asked if i stayed before and said no the receptionist asked if it was a specific occasion, anniversary i said and left it at that, on arrival the reception staff advised me we had been upgraded to a master room which was an great touch by the General Manager Jason Adams along with his hand written anniversary card in the room.

i'd long forgotten about the little touches that this type of Hotel offer, like taking you and your bags to your room, showing you the way, explaining everything about the Hotel along the way.

The rooms are of a high quality feel and very well kept and the bathroom was of a very high standard, also very clean, there is nothing i can fault with the room, they even turn down the bedding at night before we got back from our evening out.

The food in the Brasserie on the Saturday afternoon was excellent and very well presented, the staff very polite and efficient at what they do.

Great choice of breakfast from cereal to full english and plentiful too.

in a nutshell for me its the little things that separates this type of Hotel from the norm, placing the napkin on your lap, butter wrapped in grease proof paper at breakfast, attentive but not over the top staff, efficient at what they do

Fantastic place which we will go back to time and time again i'm sure

Ian & Jo

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellow16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,903 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
924 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £102 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing