We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LoVeLy ArDeN hOteL ”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“LoVeLy ArDeN hOteL ”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I booked this via a last minute.com site and took a chance as it was a mystery hotel. When was given the name ad web link to the hotel- I was very impressed. It really is as good as the pictures. Check in was a pleasure, the receptonist even showed us to out room!
The room ( called Fig) was lovely, its decor was superb and the bed was very comfortable. The en suite was of a high standard and everything you needed - even a bath robe - was provided. It was peaceful, well maintained and for what it cost-great value for money. The breakfast was freshly cooked and the staff were very pleasant. There was lots of choice and plenty of it.
The clincher for us was its proximity to the theatre- a mere stones throw accross the road. Its central location, great value for money and friendly staff make it my best hotel so far this year - cant wait to go back

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Scuba D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    281
    66
    12
    3
See reviews for
127
716
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for our wedding last night and held the reception and ceremony in the Brooke suite with a drinks reception in the club bar. All the staff made sure the day ran smoothly and were so attentive a special mention for Anthony who oversaw the whole event and made sure us and our guests were looked after. The bridal feature suite was incredible and like a little apartment with so much room and beautifully appointed. What a special day Thankyou so much xx

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seandoyle70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We went to a play at the RSC, so stayed just the one night. One of us is an RSC member so we were given a free upgrade (the company owns the hotel). Yes, it is pricey, but it is very, very attractive, and the staff we met were all lovely. The room was pristine - as though it had only just been renovated. The bathroom was massive, with lovely toiletries too.

There are lovely terraces for sitting outdoors, and very nice public rooms; also there is free, fast wifi & free parking until checkout.

Be aware that there is a lot of going up and downstairs (from the outside you can see why - the hotel is made up of several houses of different sizes and levels). The main theatres are literally across the road, with the main shopping centre just a few minutes' stroll away.

Highly recommended - can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Worth discussing reservation directly with the hotel if anyone in the party has problems with mobili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feline_charm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Hotel is outstanding in almost all areas. Yes a bit pricey but the staff were extremely helpful. The food was very good and although the cooked breakfast was 'minimalist', it was more than made up with the wide variety of choice. We will definitely stay here again.
The idea of being able to visit the RSC and come back fro drinks at the interval, and puddings after the performance is very nice.
All round, a good place to stay and in easy reach of all local facilities

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We eagerly anticipated our stay in this hotel. However despite paying a steep £255 a night the room was inadequate. Opening the door from the inside required some ingenuity.
There was not enough room for two chairs to be next to the table without restricting access to the wardrobe. The hotel takes advantage of the location to overcharge. Be warned!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, South Yorks.
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Arrived in foul weather - to be met in the car park by a man with an umbrella, a good start. Easy check-in and help with luggage - which was good, as we were on several levels en route to room. We did not choose one of the most expensive rooms available at the Arden but one of their in-house deals - which for us was better than via an agency. The room was a cut above that found at most 4* star hotels and my request for a quiet room was fulfilled. The only noise we noticed was due to a too powerful fire door closing mechanism somewhere nearby and that is 'nit-picking'. There is a lot to be said for smaller 4* hotels - you may not get a spa but you receive personal service.
Due to a late lunch on day of arrival, we did not have the afternoon tea but it looked rather good.
We took a deal that included the evening meal and whilst my wife - a fish lover - would have liked a wider choice, it was still excellent value for Stratford and far better than braving the weather again. We like our wine and the list is an interesting combination of usual and unusual but you can be safe in quality with the unusual. Cabernet Sauvignon from India actually rather drinkable and something to tell your friends about.
Breakfasts are good - with a choice to please everybody from the buffet or cooked to order, so my wife had her fish at breakfast time.
Only regret - we could not stay longer.

Room Tip: Talk to the very helpful receptionists - we thus avoided being either on the side road that also giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshirePud_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkhamsted
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We chose to stay at the Arden Hotel once we had booked our tickets for two performances at the RSC as a result of the reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. Finding the hotel was easy and there is a large car park accessible via Chapel Lane. We received a very warm reception and were given a large room overlooking Chapel Lane. The room was excellent with a very large bathroom and was very quiet. We ate in the restaurant on both nights - their pre-theatre meals starting at 5pm. The service was fast and efficient leaving us plenty of time to stroll across the road to the theatre. Apart from the theatre the Arden's location is very convenient for shopping and seeing the various Shakespeare sights in the town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJNUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,688 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,084 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,291 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing