We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Arden Hotel is a really lovely place to stay. The room we had (Hawthorn) was a decent size standard room. Nicely decorated with a queen size bed, decent wardrobe space for a weekend and a mini fridge and safe. The bathroom was adequate, with shower over a very deep bath. Personally, I prefer a walk in shower, which would have allowed a little more space in the bathroom, but I realise it is a personal preference. The room was very warm and cosy and heating could be adjusted to suit. The hot drinks tray provided a wide selection of tea, fruit & herbal teas as well as hot chocolate and ground coffee with cafetiere. There was fresh milk and still and sparkling water in the fridge. There was a small plate with fresh fruit in the room, which was a nice touch. The room was spotlessly clean and fresh.

The rooms, all named after trees, are positioned on long and disjointed corridors with lots of different changes in level via a range of different stairs, all of which make it very quirky and quaint, although could be very difficult for anyone with mobility difficulties.

The staff were very friendly and courteous, and were always very happy to help. Breakfast was very good, with a good choice and freshly cooked to order. A couple of minor improvements would be that items that should have been, were not always available on the table and had to be requested e.g. cups and saucers, milk, marmalade and butter were not available on different days. toast and tea did not always appear after ordering and had to be requested again. However, staff were always apologetic and happy to oblige in getting whatever was requested.
The coffee room and residents lounge bar were both very pleasant and comfortable and provided nice surroundings in which to take some time to chat or read and relax.

The location couldn't be better. it is bang opposite the Swan Theatre and a very short stroll to the shops and restaurants.

All in all, a real gem of a hotel and one where we will definitely be spending more time in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Cakehole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    281
    66
    12
    3
See reviews for
127
714
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Arden is the nearest hotel to the Shakespeatre Theatre in Stratford. Indeed the front door is only about 40 metres from the entrance to the Swan, so one could literally remain in the restaurant until the final bell rings, before dashing across the street to take a seat.in the theatre. The Hotel was completely refurbished about four years ago, and is decorated in a palette of muted olive, light grey, cream and beige. Even the exterior timbers of the old house are painted light grey, instead of the customary black, giving it a curious ghostly appearance. As a hotel it is almost perfect, with great comfort and facilities, just spoiled by small glitches in service and house-keeping. Likewise the Brasserie is of a very high standard (must be close to getting a Michelin Star), but marred by a few little details in service and cuisine. All in all, an escape to the Arden is now a much more attractive proposition than it was to the Forest for Rosalind and her companions in 'As You Like It'.

Room Tip: Ask to look at them before choosing. Every one is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colour-Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

What an excellent stay. First the staff; so very friendly and helpful. Professional and attentive at all times. The room was super with a great view over the park, river and RSC. The breakfast was very well prepared and varied, unfortunately we didn't eat there in the evening as we were hankering for a curry! But the menu looked excellent. They have a good bar serving all tastes with an extra bar for residents if you want something quieter. Book up and go!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_E8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

What can I say? This hotel is amazing. There is nothing negative to say about this place. The staff, the rooms, the location, the food were wonderful. We stayed one night to celebrate our anniversary and when we got to the room there was an anniversary card from the management and staff. When we got to the restaurant the waiter already knew one of us was a veggie. Its little things like that that make such a big difference. Would absolutely recommend The Arden. Its a one minute walk to the city centre and has on site parking. A very big plus. All in all it was fab and are already looking forwards to stopping there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendiesolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Dealing with the staff before I arrived was lovely. I asked for a room on the top floor, and that's just what I got. Most hotels these, days, seem to file one's room requests in the trash bin. Room was cozy, warm, quiet, pretty, with a comfortable bed, giant tub, clean, and with a view of the Royal shakespeare Company Theater, across the road. The hotel is clean, the staff are helpful and knowledgeable and efficient, and the hotel has been re-done, but is in an old building, so still has a unique British feel and charm. There is a full restaurant downstairs, plus bar, and a lounge with a cozy fireplace. Numerous theater greats grace the walls, i costume, from plays they appeared in, just across the way, over many years. The Swan Theater is also just across the street, plus, the Courtyard theater nearby. Shakespeare's birthplace is around the corner, as are other related historic sites. If you don't have a car, the tour bus stops just across the street as well, just bring pounds. The hotel is surrounded by lovely shops as well, and terrific restaurants, my favorite, so far, being "Lamb's", on Sheep Street, where I enjoyed one of the nicest meals of my life, in a wonderful atmosphere. The Arden also has plenty of parking if you're driving or rented a car. On top of all of this, it's facing the River! With plenty of walking, swans, ducks, sights and parks. Really, a no lose situation. I didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are nice, I just like to be up high, like in a eagle perch! But I peeked in to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InlovewGstaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel for visiting the theatre. Spacious comfortable rooms. Good breakfast woth an excellent choice of food. Dinner also good value. My husband and I spent three nights there recently and will certaibly go back again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MangoSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epsom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just returned from a night away at the Arden we chose this hotel because of the location for the RSC. We had 3 rooms one of which was disabled access all rooms were very comfortable with tea & coffee facilities. The staff were exceptional the lady with us was to be celebrating her 100th birthday & there was a hand written card waiting in her room with a box of chocs. We had our evening meal in two sittings having the starter & main course then going to see play & returning for dessert & coffee. The chef also arrange a beautiful dessert dish decorated in chocolate with a candle which was another lovely touch I would recommend eating in the brasserie as the food was exceptional also breakfast this morning was of equally high standard

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeybr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,682 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,079 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,283 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing