We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Year”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Celebrated new years eve at the Arden Hotel. There was a champagne reception and canapés on arrival, then a 5 course dinner. The food was excellent, very well presented, staff very friendly and attentive. The table settings and decorations were very nice, the only disappointment was that the live band played during the meal which you could not really hear because of all the chatter, after dinner there was a disco but the choice of music was a little dull.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sutts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Brought 5 couples to the New Year gala ball. 3 of us stayed an extra night. Everything about the hotel was excellent. The staff were very professional but friendly. Met by Paul in the car park who helped with our luggage and has a superb attitude to his work and the guests. The food, 2 x dinner and 2 x breakfasts, was great and the service impeccable. The serving staff had a great attitude, again, professional, attentive and friendly. Rooms couldn't be better (our bathroom a bit of a squeeze but so what!).
Derby37 made good point on the band, no more to be said. Good Customer service is easy when things go right, the measure is when things go wrong. We had a problem that could have put a real dampner on our enjoyment, but this was handled immaculately and with great understanding - well done 10/10.
Enjoyed the hotel so much, we will go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terriermk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My daughter (7) and I stayed here recently while seeing Wendy and Peter Pan at the RSC. Its a wonderful hotel, really tastefully done out, great ambience and atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed an extra night. We found the service and food in restaurant great. My only comment would be they need to work on the kids menu a little - the food wasn't as good as the adults - and was a bit bland - they should nip over to the Rooftop at RSC where they have kids meals perfectly. Overall however couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offshore99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed for the 2013 Christmas package. This was our third time at the Arden, and was definitely our best experience of the hotel to date. Whilst some details of the advertised programme did not quite materialise as we expected they would (for example early evening drinks on Christmas Eve), this did not detract from our enjoyment and indeed might be expected at such a busy time of year.

Highlights of our experience were twofold: the overall atmosphere engendered by staff and other guests was ideal for the festive season; the food was of high quality and was served with panache.

We are pleased to see that this hotel is going from strength to strength, and anticipate that, with some extra attention to detail, it will be consistently deserving of the highest accolades.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliveupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Booked a New Year package for 3 couples. We stayed in deluxe rooms which we all thought were great - super king beds with lovely bedding, large bathrooms with nice extra touches (Orla Kiely toiletries and bathrobes). The only complaint about the room was that it was so hot - but this could be adjusted as the rooms had air con so not a problem!
The breakfast was lovely, however the service at breakfast was a bit hit and miss. First day we were asked 3 times if we wanted tea / coffee & toast but nothing ever arrived. We had to ask for a 4th time before these items were served. Second days breakfast was much the same - problems getting the tea & toast out. Maybe an idea would be to have 1 person serving one or two tables as it did seem like a case of 'too many cooks' with drink orders getting lost. This is not to say that the staff were unhelpful as they were very friendly and tried very hard to please.
The food served for the New Year's Eve dinner was excellent. I have to agree with previous review that the 'live band' was not right for the event as the music they played didn't encourage any dancing. No-one really got up to dance until the band had more or less finished which was after 11pm.
The hotel itself is in a great location - less than 5 mins walk into Stratford right opposite the RSC theatre. There was ample parking in the hotel car park and we didn't move the car in all the time we were there as everything was in easy walking distance.
We would definitely return to The Arden and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Four of us booked into The Arden for their New Years Eve package.
The hotel has recently undergone an extensive refurbishment and everything looks fresh and new. The hotel's situation is excellent, just by the river, right opposite the RSC theatre and on the edge of the town centre.
Each couple had a deluxe bedroom, the actual size of the bedroom was small, in one case the bathroom seemed larger. The beds were comfortable and the furnishings adequate - although there was little drawer space and in keeping with many new hotels the bedrooms were quite gloomy - the lighting could be improved.
The highlight of our stay was the NYE banquet, the food was excellent and couldn't be faulted, however, the music was not in keeping with the audience or the occasion - New Year arrived with hardly a mention, let alone a fanfare. The choice at breakfast was also excellent.
Again, in common with many new hotels, the majority of the restaurant tables were the same size for 2 and 4 - therefore for 4, it was cramped.
All the staff were friendly, they just need to be more efficient. The initial serving of Oakey beer was cloudy and should never have been brought to the table. A request for an additional chair in one bedroom took 3 attempts and a request to see the duty manager, before it arrived and the bill on checkout was incorrect. Perhaps they were overwhelmed by the number of hotel guests plus NYE diners - but they need to get these gltiches sorted, if they are to remain THE HOTEL in Stratford.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We just spent three nights at the Arden. We loved the hotel - the locations, rooms and breakfast. Stratford is such a pretty town and everything is within walking distance. The rooms were lovely, with Orly Kiely toiletries, bathrobes and slippers. The velvet duvets were a little dodgy thought, and the floors creaked - but all part of the experience. The staff are helpful without being overwhelming. It is a short walk to the Giggling Squid along Church St and Ely St - our daily stop for superb, value-for-money Thai food. The hotel is just across the river from the recreation grounds and down the road from the Holy Trinity Church. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aspine67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,359 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,005 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £104 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing