We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wolf hall”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Joined some old friends for a theatre break and had an excellent stay.Staff were very helpful and attentive.The porter must have been hiding in the car park ready to leap out to carry our bags.best of all the hotel is ideally placed for a visit to the RSC...and last nights performance of Wolf Hall was outstanding.We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Classic rooms are rather small.Worth an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

I'd booked The Arden Hotel at random in Stratford through Expedia as a place to stay on a night when we were going to the Swan Theatre.... I hadn't realised just how close it was! (The theatre is opposite the front door).
Our superior double room was lovely. Very comfortable king sized bed, fresh, crisp bedding and fluffy towels with nice bath robes. The room and the hotel feel very comfortably luxurious.
We dined in the Waterside Bistro before the performance. The food and wine were excellent. After the performance, we retired to the resident's bar, and thoroughly enjoyed sitting, discussing the play, life and the universe in the relaxed atmosphere.
Breakfast was also superb - my partner had the best looking poached eggs I've seen for a long time, and my scrambled eggs and salmon were excellent. (I do feel I'm now running out of superlatives).
Throughout our stay, the staff were totally delightful and helpful, and I'd like to thank them all.
We are now booking again for our next theatre visit, but I would recommend this hotel as a base for any visit.
It's been a wonderful opulent feeling treat, at a very reasonable cost!
Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cross-MacLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Jan and I stayed at the Arden as part of their New Year celebration. On arrival in the hotel's car park, there was a member of staff to make sure we had a parking spot, and he helped take our luggage into the hotel. Checking in was easily done and we were shown to our room.

The room was very comfortable, and had all the amenities that you would expect.

The quality of the food we ate, was very good.

There was a problem with the New Year event, and the management dealt with this extremely well. In fact, the service throughout our stay was first class.

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for a room with a bath. The baths are nice and deep, and very conducive for a rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Celebrated new years eve at the Arden Hotel. There was a champagne reception and canapés on arrival, then a 5 course dinner. The food was excellent, very well presented, staff very friendly and attentive. The table settings and decorations were very nice, the only disappointment was that the live band played during the meal which you could not really hear because of all the chatter, after dinner there was a disco but the choice of music was a little dull.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sutts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Brought 5 couples to the New Year gala ball. 3 of us stayed an extra night. Everything about the hotel was excellent. The staff were very professional but friendly. Met by Paul in the car park who helped with our luggage and has a superb attitude to his work and the guests. The food, 2 x dinner and 2 x breakfasts, was great and the service impeccable. The serving staff had a great attitude, again, professional, attentive and friendly. Rooms couldn't be better (our bathroom a bit of a squeeze but so what!).
Derby37 made good point on the band, no more to be said. Good Customer service is easy when things go right, the measure is when things go wrong. We had a problem that could have put a real dampner on our enjoyment, but this was handled immaculately and with great understanding - well done 10/10.
Enjoyed the hotel so much, we will go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terriermk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My daughter (7) and I stayed here recently while seeing Wendy and Peter Pan at the RSC. Its a wonderful hotel, really tastefully done out, great ambience and atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed an extra night. We found the service and food in restaurant great. My only comment would be they need to work on the kids menu a little - the food wasn't as good as the adults - and was a bit bland - they should nip over to the Rooftop at RSC where they have kids meals perfectly. Overall however couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offshore99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed for the 2013 Christmas package. This was our third time at the Arden, and was definitely our best experience of the hotel to date. Whilst some details of the advertised programme did not quite materialise as we expected they would (for example early evening drinks on Christmas Eve), this did not detract from our enjoyment and indeed might be expected at such a busy time of year.

Highlights of our experience were twofold: the overall atmosphere engendered by staff and other guests was ideal for the festive season; the food was of high quality and was served with panache.

We are pleased to see that this hotel is going from strength to strength, and anticipate that, with some extra attention to detail, it will be consistently deserving of the highest accolades.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliveupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,357 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,998 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £105 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing