We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocktails!”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My 2 daughters and I went to the hotel before a theatre visit.
The hotel itself is in an amazing location for the theatres and the river
We only went for cocktails which were mighty expensive but were made with the finest ingredients right in front of us by a knowledgeable and friendly bar man
At the end of our visit the bar man came to see us to ask which was out favourite cocktail
We felt special, welcome and as if our custom was really valued
As we didn't spend the night there I can't comment on the rooms

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sauciehunnibunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Friends and I travel fairly regularly for short breaks to various parts of this country and Europe. I found this hotel and its staff friendly and professional. The atmosphere, position and décor was above average for a four star hotel . We enjoyed lunch, dinner and breakfast which were well presented and served. A lovely garden and good sized car park.
I highly recommend a stay at the Arden

Room Tip: we stayed in a deluxe which faced a quiet side road overlooking a RSC building, which was architectu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsb-m.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I booked this hotel for my wife's xxth birthday celebration and had a great time with our children.
Location is of course wonderful. We used the resident's area for a post-matinee present ceremony and had very attentive service from Marenza (l hope I got her name correct). Then she served us a lovely dinner in a separate lounge which was great and lo and behold she was there in the early morning looking after breakfast and mid-morning coffee ! The rooms were very comfortable and worth the admittedly premium-ish pricing. I hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Elm is a lovely room with a very inviting bath and huge shower. It overlooks Chapel St so we had tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul8hours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

After a few hours of retail therapy we popped in for a light lunch. I chose the salad with prawns - asian style - which had a tasty chilli sauce; my dining companion had a toastie which came with salad and crisps and a decent glass of sauvignon blanc.

Service was swift and friendly, however the dining room was practially empty on a Saturday lunch time so I do get teh impression that most people use the hotel restaurant in the summer when al fresco dining is possible.

Room Tip: Only had lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here on a Sunday evening,  arriving an hour early but room was not available. When we returned booking in process was completed quickly and easily.  It has an elegant reception, foyer area and landscaped garden and terraced area...the perfect venue for business and pleasure.  Staff were very helpful and friendly throughout the hotel.
We were shown to our room on first floor, 'Beech' . It was a nicely decorated large room with quality furniture and bedding. It contained a desk with chair, a small coffee table with two comfortable chairs, tv and DVD player (complimentary DVDs available from reception). There was a small room with wardrobe, tea /coffee making facilities, fridge with fresh milk, still and sparkling water, also. It also has a safe and large mirror and hair dryer. A large bathroom with. Bath and separate large shower. Large fluffy towels and bathrobes. Room also had air conditioning. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel.

We ate in  the Waterside Brasserie Restaurant for dinner,  from the Pre theatre menu , very good and exciting  food and service. The portions were not large but overall it was sufficient and not expensive.  A good selction of wine and Champagne is availbale. I had a Starter of prawn and crab cocktail with caviar, followed by fillet of sea bass on a bed of olive and mashed potatoes, then  Desert, apple & rhubarb crumble with custard. It was all nicely presented and enjoyable.  The menu does change regularly. 

Had a good nights sleep but was awoken just after 7am by the sound of refuse collectors in the street outside. Good choice for breakfast of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruits, pastries, cold meats and  fruit juices. Cooked breakfast was very good, including a vegetarian  meal, but had to wait nearly 15 minutes after asking twice for additional toast. 

The hotel is in a marvelous location and only a couple of  minutes walk to the shops and attractions, but away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre.
This is a quality hotel which is not expensive compared to some of the other hotels close by or those located outside of town which require you to drive and pay for car parking.

If you are looking for a hotel in Stratford, then I would recommend you look no further and make your reservation now, if it is available!
We have stayed at other 'Small Luxury Hotels of the World' so knew we would not be disappointed, but it did exceed our expectations.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank OldBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A lovely hotel with an incredibly comfortable bed and pillows. Tastefully decorated throughout with nice little touches which made the stay more special (fresh milk for tea in the bedrooms and an couple of pieces of fruit). I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bathwickdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked a break with theatre tickets. The hotel is just across the road from the theatre. We booked a superior room and it was great. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast good. Unfortunately the dining room was closed for our stay, but good places to eat and drink nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,865 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
917 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £162 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing