We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Recently stayed in April lovely setting great views, nice town to walk around and later a nice meal down Sheep street. Alot of History to the Town and will be back again May for an overnight stay again.
Hotel is old but well maintained. Rooms are nice i stayed in the Ash Room. The only complaint i have is the rooms were far too hot AC did not offer much and the reception area was stifling. But thats it nothing else to moan about and yes i will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedermangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We travel to Stratford upon Avon a couple of times a year and the Arden was one of the hotels we had not yet stayed in. We have been in there often to eat and to sit at the bar and enjoy a few cocktails. The staff had always been efficient and friendly so we though we would treat ourselves with a 'twixmas' break.

When we arrived we were shown to an upgraded room which I have to say was very spacious and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was to die for. unfortunately the room was under the stairs and as luck would have it a herd of elephants had moved in upstairs. I must admit that I did not complain and therefore did not give the hotel the opportunity to move us.

When we went to the restuarant/bar to have our first cocktail, we noticed that the bar stools had been taken away. We were shown instead to a private guest bar upstairs. Lovely though it was, it seriously lacked atmosphere which was a shame because the previoulsy enjoyed atmosphere is what made us book.

In fact I'm afraid that the hotel lacked any form of atmosphere at all, and whilst the staff were efficient (in the main), I struggled to see a smile.

We decided to eat in the restaurant one night where we were waited upon by an officious little man who was as rude to guests as he was to staff. He was so condencending and rude that I almost leapt up in deffence of one poor waitress.

It is such a shame because I had such high hopes for this place. Perhaps if they reinstate the bar stools, teach their maitre de some manners and encourage the staff to engage and smiile a bit more I might give them another go...not just yet though.

By the way; although the food in the restuarant is excellent (with a particularly lovely Sunday lunch offer), the room service seems to be prepared in a completely different kitchen- I wouldn't bother.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluesterNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A return visit after 10 years for a theatre B & B. More luxury, but relaxed atmosphere, same nod towards it's history, but not over-the-top.
Wonderful room, try Redwood, loved it. Excellent breakfast which kept us going all day! Plenty of fruit and choices of traditional breakfasts, my husband really enjoyed his smoked haddock and poached eggs.
We highly recommend .

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel is ideally placed for visitors to RSC theatres, just across the road. It has been extensively refurbished to a high standard, but retains some of the quirks of the original building. Reception staff were not particularly welcoming, but all others were excellent: efficient and pleasant. The generous breakfast, with waiter service, was perfect - even the tricky problem of getting boiled and poached eggs just right seems to have been solved. Lunchtime light meals were also of high quality, as was the evening meal, though with limited menu. Timing is critical for theatre-goers, and that was taken into account. We also thought the meals were very reasonably priced. The rooms suffer somewhat from the alterations that have taken place, and some are a strange shape. However, the new bathrooms are large and pristine, and beds new and very comfortable with more pillows than you could ever need! There is only one room suitabled for visitors with a physical disability. Anyone who cannot walk too far should check where their proposed room is situated, as some are a long way from Reception. Overall, a very satisfactory place to stay, in a beautiful setting overlooking the Avon.

Room Tip: As above, check room location if you don't want to walk too far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed at the Arden last week for (I think) the tenth time. It was lovely as usual, but some small details left me disappointed, especially as I had brought my wife in this business trip for the first time and she was looking forward to seeing The Arden which I always rave about.

Despite booking long in advance we were given a room at ground level which looked right onto the entrance to reception which meant for privacy we always needed to keep the curtains closed. Little disappointments such as an empty box of tissues in the bathroom, and a newspaper which never arrived (although they did apologise when we checked out). The "King" bed was actually two singles held together to a fitted sheet. This was uncomfortable for the two of us.

Breakfast the next morning was slow despite an empty restaurant. Toast ordered more than once never arrived.

All in all, there were so many small issues that ordinarily would go unnoticed, that they all contributed to a disappointing stay. My wife told me she didn't understand why I always go on about enjoying the Arden, when it was like any other little hotel she'd stayed at.

I'm now wondering if I should go back to The Arden next time I am in Stratford.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoziMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have recently returned from a three night stay at this lovely hotel..Staff were very helpful and pleasant ,rooms clean, but what a shame our experience was marred by the service in the dining room. At breakfast and dinner it was so slow and disorganised( except for the two occasions when the manager was on duty) that several guests complained..

Room Tip: We had the room adapted for disabled YEW and it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redhair82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We booked a Winter Warmer package for one night to allow us to see the two parts of RSC's dramatisation of Hilary Mantel's Cromwell novels. We were able to use the hotel''s car park from 11am, without extra charges, had our luggage stored until after the matinee performance when we then checked into our room, which was spacious, immaculately clean, with free bottles of water and some fresh fruit - and our luggage was there waiting for us. A two course pre-theatre dinner was included, which was excellent and graciously served; then the welcome short walk across the road to the theatre again. After the evening performance we were given free hot chocolate drinks with marshmallows and cookies - a delicious, relaxed end to the day. Our bedding had been turned down ready for us and there were.warm dressing gowns and plush towels. - all very attentive to our creature comforts. A full English breakfast was also included and again the food was excellent, with plenty of choices all attractively displayed. We had free WiiFi access and didn't need to check out until 11am - allowing a short time for shopping before departure. Elegant excellence at a reasonable rate, with every concern for our enjoyment of the stay in Stratford. Thank you Arden staff, and well done.

Jon

Room Tip: As there are no lifts but plenty of stairs and long corridors to some rooms request a room with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon260613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,197 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,925 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,162 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £91 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing