We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Arden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$137
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stratford Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Swan Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$99
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$198
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Billesley Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$232
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$207
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,222)
Filter reviews
1,222 results
Traveller rating
820
306
74
18
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
306
74
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivermonkey puzzlechampagne bardirectly opposite the rscwaterside brasseriemaster roomcar parkrsc theatrelovely hotelpre theatreturn down servicefresh milk in the fridgeperfect locationhuge bathroomroyal shakespeare companysuperior roomwalk in shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
694 - 699 of 1,222 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Lovely hotel reception staff very helpful ,
rooms wonderful with everything you will need
The only let down was the restaurant no atmosphere
Staff unhelpful after eating there for two nights could
Not face another so canceled and ate in town
Apart from that a really lovely hotel would stay there
Again

Room Tip: We stayed in oak lovely room perfect for us
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

A good hotel with large spacious rooms. Decent food and friendly staff, but . . . Where is the air con in the rooms? I have stayed here twice and both times the room was too hot and i coudln't open the window as i was on the ground floor.

Overall - definitely worth a visit

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Scudamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Recently stayed in April lovely setting great views, nice town to walk around and later a nice meal down Sheep street. Alot of History to the Town and will be back again May for an overnight stay again.
Hotel is old but well maintained. Rooms are nice i stayed in the Ash Room. The only complaint i have is the rooms were far too hot AC did not offer much and the reception area was stifling. But thats it nothing else to moan about and yes i will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedermangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We travel to Stratford upon Avon a couple of times a year and the Arden was one of the hotels we had not yet stayed in. We have been in there often to eat and to sit at the bar and enjoy a few cocktails. The staff had always been efficient and friendly so we though we would treat ourselves with a 'twixmas' break.

When we arrived we were shown to an upgraded room which I have to say was very spacious and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was to die for. unfortunately the room was under the stairs and as luck would have it a herd of elephants had moved in upstairs. I must admit that I did not complain and therefore did not give the hotel the opportunity to move us.

When we went to the restuarant/bar to have our first cocktail, we noticed that the bar stools had been taken away. We were shown instead to a private guest bar upstairs. Lovely though it was, it seriously lacked atmosphere which was a shame because the previoulsy enjoyed atmosphere is what made us book.

In fact I'm afraid that the hotel lacked any form of atmosphere at all, and whilst the staff were efficient (in the main), I struggled to see a smile.

We decided to eat in the restaurant one night where we were waited upon by an officious little man who was as rude to guests as he was to staff. He was so condencending and rude that I almost leapt up in deffence of one poor waitress.

It is such a shame because I had such high hopes for this place. Perhaps if they reinstate the bar stools, teach their maitre de some manners and encourage the staff to engage and smiile a bit more I might give them another go...not just yet though.

By the way; although the food in the restuarant is excellent (with a particularly lovely Sunday lunch offer), the room service seems to be prepared in a completely different kitchen- I wouldn't bother.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the stairs
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluesterNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A return visit after 10 years for a theatre B & B. More luxury, but relaxed atmosphere, same nod towards it's history, but not over-the-top.
Wonderful room, try Redwood, loved it. Excellent breakfast which kept us going all day! Plenty of fruit and choices of traditional breakfasts, my husband really enjoyed his smoked haddock and poached eggs.
We highly recommend .

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews