We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best in Stratford but not exceptional given the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Stratford but not exceptional given the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel was pretty good. We had a good room overlooking the river and the theatre. The bed was comfortable. The air conditioning didn't work. The service was average given the expense of the hotel. The breakfast was good but again let down by service. So although I have reviewed as average this is largely because it is not as good as it could be and is not great value for money. i would go back though and it seemed to be the best we saw in Stratford. And it is in a brilliant location

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jevandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    263
    61
    12
    1
See reviews for
115
676
26
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We visit Stratford for the theatre at least twice a year and have stayed in many of the 4-star hotels in and around Stratford in the past 20 years. However, our visit in June to the Arden was a very pleasant surprise. good welcome, a very stylish room, wide, comfortable bed and lovely outlook over the gardens and well appointed car park. Eating in Stratford over the years has been a hit and miss affair with overpriced food and often variable service. We enjoyed our pre-theatre evening meal in a pleasant outdoor garden patio and were offered our third course after the performance when time was short. Very courteous service both in the evening and at breakfast. The coffee was the best I have had in any hotel with a very good choice of breakfast. Excellent value for money overall

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jollytripper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I try to write balanced reviews and some have been acerbic to say the least! We know Stratford very well, but it is only in the last few years that we have stayed in Hotels in the area. They have all been overpriced with bad service (The Falcon stands out as being the worst hotel I have ever stayed in the UK although its bar is beautiful). Others are fine but designed for one off visitors and a bit soulless)

So we booked the Arden - when I booked the staff were very friendly and I mentioned it was a birthday weekend. On arrival we were upgraded and a card and chocolates were in the room. Room excellent,with good lighting and storage and superb bathroom : faultless. We booked for dinner in the evening and the Brasserie was excellent - great wine selection and helpful staff, food locally sourced and perfectly cooked. Breakfast was on the terrace and again faultless - both the food and service. We travel alot - I rarely (never) just leave "gushy" reviews but really this is without a doubt the best Hotel in Stratford and I really cant find anything to criticise! Thats a first!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyvernwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We hope to return to this hotel, sooner rather than later. Pleasant welcome, efficient at reception, stylish, well-appointed rooms with huge, comfortable beds, decent toiletries, even complimentary DVDs if you want them. The gardens are pretty, with benches to enjoy the sweetly scented peonies and lovely, manicured hedges. You can enjoy food and drink outdoors (heated if it's chilly) but we sampled their restaurant indoors; service and food were faultless. We all chose different starters, mains and puddings and all believed we had chosen well. Plenty to choose from at breakfast, continental, cooked, plenty of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals etc. The hotel could not be better placed, right opposite the RSC and central for exploring Stratford's shops and sights on foot. For example Shakespeare's grave is a ten-minute leisurely walk from the hotel. Checkout was effortless and speedy. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: You can park your car at the hotel and explore a number of sights on foot. You are minutes away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

2nd time to the Arden Hotel, previously been near Christmas for their market... however this visit was even better.. Arrived, parked up in the free secure hotel car park, checked in, although early we could leave our bags with the receptionist who would have them put in the rooms as soon as they were ready which was still ahead of the allowed official check in time. So we headed the short stroll into Stratford's picturesque town centre. The 2 rooms our party were allocated were connecting ones and both were excellent. Both had excellent views, one of the front to the river and theatre the other overlooking the garden area. Bathrooms nice and clean with toiletries that we liked so much they (the ones we half used) came home with us...!

Staff?..ALL very courteous, friendly, helpful and attentive.
Food?..From the breakfast to the dinner we couldn't find anything wrong and we thoroughly enjoyed both the food and hospitality.
Rooms?..As described both good size well presented with large (pushed together twin) beds.

Would we go again? Put it this way...we got back 2 hours ago and based on the extremely reasonable Sunday night deal...I'm already looking to book again..

Added bonus, but not guaranteed, was the fact it was 24'c which makes a great break at a great UK hotel even better....

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My sister and I booked this hotel for a sophisticated hen weekend for our other sister. The guests included our mum her friend and my sisers friends. When we arrived Saturday morning the staff were just wonderful and friendly.

On arrival we were taken to a beautiful area of the hotel and were brought out the most fantastic tea, cakes and sandwiches.
Our rooms were stunning, spacious and spotless!

The Hotel garden opposite the river avon is so relaxing and the breakfasts are truly yummy!
All the girls had the best time and will not stop talking about it.

If you go stay here you wont regret it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronijh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is located right next to the Royal Shakespeare Company's facilities in Stratford-upon-Avon, and so a very handy location if you have tickets to a play there. The hotel is a collection of buildings joined together, and so the internal layout is a just a bit odd - not quite 'ball of string' to find way back to reception, but nearly.

We had a Deluxe room and it was quite good - fairly spacious and with a truly classy bathroom with separate bath and shower. However, the ceiling was low, and the floor was really creaky. The bed was comfortable, and all in all we had a good night at the hotel.

We didn't have a full meal in the hotel's bar / restaurant, but did get a quick snack before leaving for the theatre and the food we had was good but expensive. The staff are used to people heading out for events elsewhere in Stratford and were happy to server a single course quickly when asked.

Breakfast was plentiful and tasty - standard UK hotel fare ('full english' etc.) but I guess that's sort of what you expect for this type of hotel / location.

The onsite parking was a boon - and there is plenty of it so no trouble finding a space.

Room Tip: Access to the Car Park is not obvious - due to the one-way system in Stratford to get to it from fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glawrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing