We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient with good car parking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very convenient with good car parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent a night in this hotel on a tour of the Cotswolds. It is beautifully situated across the road from the RSC. We had a family room overlooking a side street and were given a welcome gift of fresh fruit. The room and bathroom were spacious.
We had dinner in the outside area of the hotel which was a bit crowded as it was a warm evening and guests and members of the public were eating there. Unfortunately we found the meal not to our liking as the chicken was dry and the fish had lots of bones.however breakfast in the morning, served inside was very good .

Room Tip: Apple is spacious if you are not too bothered about a front or garden facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    263
    62
    12
    1
See reviews for
115
677
26
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

When I arrived in the Arden, I was surprisingly overjoyed that the hotel is just several steps away from Royal Shakespeare Company Theatre which is the mecca of my trip to Statford upon Avon.
I watched a play in spite of a modern one at the 450 years old theatre and I felt satisified. After the show, I took a late dinner at the hotel and I felt blessed. As a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, the Arden keeps the standard in every aspect although it is located in a town. I live comfortably for two nights.
The hotel room is not numbered and it seems not easy to find my room on the first day of my arrival. However on the day when I left the hotel, I found I missed it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 201Moonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Whilst day-tripping in Stratford, my partner and I decided to stay the night in Stratford.

Using tripadvisor and laterooms.com we came across this hotel in the centre of Stratford. On calling the hotel I was offered a cheaper rate than anywhere on-line and ended up in a superior room.

The room was really large, had a spa bath, a separate walk-in shower and large wardrobes.

The bed was really comfy, and in the morning we had a great choice of tea and coffee.

The full english breakfast was also included in the deal and it was great.

The staff in reception were really good in offering me the deal, and the staff serving breakfast were really friendly and great to chat to.

All the rooms are named after trees - but unfortunately can't remember the name of the room we stayed in - although it felt like a hike away from reception.

Overall - great value for money in a great setting - right by the theatre and river, plus all the shops and restaurants just around the corner.

The free on-site car park was a great bonus too.

Room Tip: If you can get a superior room, then great, as mine was faultless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here using there Sunday night offer. Excellent room lovely Sunday lunch, the staff were all friendly and helpful. The location is the best in Stratford perfect position near river and theatre really enjoyed our stay, try it you won't be disappointed

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel in July 2014 with my parents in a family room/large king size room. The room was called the 'apple' room as all rooms were named after trees. It was a very large room with 2 separate areas for the beds. My parents had an enormous bed, with beautiful linens and I was on the pull out sofa, but it was very comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious and had both a bath and shower.
The hotel is beautiful inside, very light and airy reception area and a variety of bars/restaurants with 2 outdoor areas. We ate dinner outside but it felt less glamorous being outside than inside. The evening meal was ok but not as high quality as a general surroundings. However the hotel was so close the theatre and the waterfront/boats for hire and idea for visiting the town.
The breakfast food was delicious, so much to choose from and in elegant surroundings.
Overall an lovely experience in the morning.
Fruit was on our living room table on arrival as well as free bottled water. Welcome cards/messages were there for us in the room which was a lovely touch.

Room Tip: The Apple had an enormous bed and pull out sofa, very spacious room. The view was ok but not to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greendream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I booked this hotel for a surprise overnight stay to celebrate my husband's birthday. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The room was excellent, very clean, spacious and comfortable with a very large bathroom.The room and bathroom had all the small touches that are often overlooked. A birthday card and small box of chocolates awaited my husband, courtesy of the hotel, a lovely touch. The location is wonderful, directly across from the RSC Theatre and the river. The weather was very kind to us and we dined and breakfasted on the Waterside Terrace. The food was excellent, service very professional and friendly. We chose the pre theatre dinning option having our starter and main course early and our dessert, coffee and liquors after the show. We are already looking forward to staying at The Arden again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussex14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Having read a few unfavourable reviews for both the hotel & it's restaurant, & given the price per room, I hoped this hotel would deliver - but deliver it did!

Not sure when those bad reviewers stayed, but I couldn't fault it. From the super-quiet aircon to the leaf tea at breakfast, everything was top class with super attention to detail.

Lovely room & great food in the restaurant, especially the chocolate & cherry pudding!

Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharpkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute and Odigeo so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing