We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms and great location”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely rooms and great location”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is a really lovely hotel. We stayed in a deluxe room which was furnished very nicely and had a large comfortable bed. The bathroom was gorgeous with separate bath and double shower. The food is good, the staff are welcoming and helpful, and the location is great. The only reason this hotel doesn't get 5 as an overall rating is that you get served by lots of different people in the restaurant and bar so the service doesn't feel particularly personal. Other than that, spot on!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are spacious and ours had a Nespresso machine. George Clooney would be proud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    277
    66
    12
    2
See reviews for
123
705
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Our stay at The Arden Hotel was exceptional. This is how hotels should operate. The staff were extremely helpful, and made us feel that we were very welcome guests. They were extremely attentive to our needs. The whole hotel was immaculately clean, with lovely decor; the room was a delight; and the restaurant and restaurant staff excellent. It is in a great position immediately opposite the main theatres, and within easy walking distance of the town centre, the river and other attractions. We would definitely stay again, and I can recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This has to be one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. Every single member of staff was courteous, friendly and helpful. The situation is perfect opposite the RSC, Everything was excellent from our room, to the public rooms... and the food and champagne were quite perfect too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed here in July to meet up with friends before going racing the next day.
Three rooms booked all with different tree names. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable with beautiful bathrooms. Had to try the bath even though we only stayed one night. After having drinks in the outside bar in the sunshine we ate in the hotel restaurant. Food was good and company even better. This hotel has a lovely outdoor garden to sit in and an outside bar. The reception is in a glass atrium. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed at the Arden for 2 nights, after knowing of the hotel and its location and family having stayed there. The reception greeting was lukewarm, but the receptionist did show us to the room, without being asked to. The room was very nice, although the bath did have a noticeable mark in the enamel and the sink had a dripping tap (which was swiftly attended to). We ate in the restaurant on the first night, but were very surprised that a hotel of this nature did not have a recognisable lounge bar, for pre-dinner drinks. There was a residents/members bar area, but this was not staffed full time; there were bar stalls at the central bar in the restaurant, but this would have meant sitting very close to restaurant diners and there was a side room, which looked much more like a sitting room for afternoon tea and had zero ambience as a pre-dinner bar. My wife and I ended up sitting in a back area of the restaurant, which felt more like a waiting area than a relaxing bar area. On a much more positive note, the restaurant food was excellent, with particular mention to the presentation of the breads and the dessert. Our waitress could have been friendlier and this became a little bit of a pattern with staff throughout our stay, the exception being the housekeeping staff, who were all very polite, professional and friendly. Overall, a very nice stay in a very nice hotel....although it did seem as though the hotel rests easily on its reputation, which could be an issue in to the future, with so much competition in SUA.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Myself and husband stayed at this hotel over the August bank holiday weekend.
We stayed in Walnut room, which faces the front over the outside dining bit on the top floor.

The room is decent size, however the bed is small double which we are not used to, bed throw had crumbs on and a stain on the inside and the shower was pretty grotty on the outside shower door rails (see photo), and you couldn't really watch TV from your bed as it didn't turn due to the wall being on the way. The walls are a bit thin and we got woken up by next door alarm at 7am. Plus just after 7, they were emptying bins in the theatre opposite and that was noisy and went on for some time.

On the positive points, all the toiletries were lovely, even loo roll is nice and soft, dressing gowns provided and fluffy towels. Great selection of teas and coffee, even tiny proper milk not horrid UHT stuff and nespresso coffee machine in the room. Shower has good water pressure and cubicle is larger than standard size

The view was lovely to the front or in the side window on hotel's perfect gardens.

The breakfast was lovely, really good quality with friendly staff who were around at all time ready to help. Large selection of cooked and continental foods, juices etc.

The hotel itself was lovely clean with friendly staff. Big bonus of having a car park especially in the center of Stratford.

I have stayed in this hotel before, about 2.5 years ago and had a room downstairs facing onto the carpark but it was much bigger in size, with huge bathroom with bath etc. It was spotless

Therefore, my experience over the weekend is some what disappointing but still giving 4 stars as you can see what you are paying for but cleanliness of the hotel should be top priority and on excuse for that!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild_Panther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

A lovely small elegant charming hotel in a great location. We had a superior room on the ground floor, all the rooms are named after trees. The room was tastefully furnished and very big, with a hugh luxurious bed, lovely big bathroom with quality towels and luxurious toiletries (Orla Kierly) . Our room had a fridge with complimentary fresh milk and water. The hotel is in a perfect location for the town centre. We had lunch in the Brasserie (sandwiches) which were very nice albeit a bit pricey. Breakfast was nice although I have had better, but nothing to really complain about, there was not a huge choice from the cold buffet, no breads just toast and no choice of pastries, only croissants, and limited fresh fruit. The cooked breakfast is served to your table, portions are small but nicely cooked. All the staff were courteous and friendly. All in all a really lovely stay, and will definately return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelsea021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,620 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,058 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing