We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel with Excellent Friendly Staff!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel with Excellent Friendly Staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

Booked 2 rooms at this fabulous hotel through Olivia in reservations, who was most helpful and great to deal with, to celebrate my in-laws Ruby Wedding Anniversary. I had originally tried to get into Ettington Park Hotel, but it was full for the capacity/room level we required, which is when i discovered this hotel, and im so very glad i did because the level of service we received was impeccable. On arrival (at 1pm!) we were greeted in the car park by a lovely member of staff who welcomed us, checked us in then showed us to our room, which was just ready (we didnt expect) We were travelling with our 3yr old daughter and it was bitterly cold weather that day, but the hotel were so concerned about getting our daughter warm and into our room as soon as poss due to the cold snap, that they had it all sorted for us within 5 mins. Our in-laws who had travelled from the South of France to celebrate their anniversary with us, arrived just a little later, and the hotel rushed to get their room ready too. So far we were incredibly impressed with their service. The staff brought my in-laws to our room when they arrived and seated them in the separate lounge area of the Fab suite they had upgraded us to! (called Maple) A beautiful room with amazing views of the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, river, and so perfect if travelling with a child. This hotel is immaculate, the rooms are so clean, the housekeeping staff are very good and caring in their role, and particularly the lovely ladies that took such good care of us and our little girl. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel, it really is a gem of a find, and i cannot imagine ever wanting to stay anywhere else but at The Arden when ever i return to Stratford. We ate in their restaurant and the food was so delicious, the kids menu is very tasty too! Breakfast which we had in our suite was also perfectly cooked and presented. Overall we had a fantastic night and most importantly my in-laws enjoyed their experience of England in all its glory. Must also mention about how caring this hotel is... the hotel manager left cards in our rooms wishing us a happy anniversary night!...hows that for attention to detail? I cannot recommend this hotel enough if you are going to celebrate a special occasion as they really do listen and make an effort for you. Highly Recommended Hotel and will hopefully be returning for my birthday celebration!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDLMillSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    263
    61
    12
    1
See reviews for
115
676
26
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

We recently had a short break in Stratford staying at The Arden. The hotel is in a wonderful location - within a stones throw of the town but in a peaceful spot on the Waterside. If you are visiting the theatre, as we were, it is just a couple of minutes walk and so convenient. There are temporary road works at the Waterside at the moment and I did hear one guest complaining of the noise. I would suggest asking for a room at the back of the hotel where we didn't hear a thing. The staff are wonderful and I can not praise them enough. The service is excellent without being too over the top. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff seem genuinely interested that you have a lovely time. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. There were some nice touches in the room - fresh fruit, a good selection of tea, a pint of fresh milk in the fridge and lovely toiletries. I had trouble working out the taps in the shower/bath but that may be because I'm not very technical! I could only find one small criticism which is the TV on the wall didn't swivel around far enough to watch TV in bed but that was hardly enough to spoil the experience. I would recommend this hotel as a great base to explore Stratford. Plenty of secure car parking at the hotel and a good full English breakfast - what more do you need?!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

Hotel and staff are excellent food is perfect loaction is perfect just a 2 minute walk from pubs, restaurants, attractions i.e the birth place of William Shakespear, You can even pick up dvds in reception and take them back to your room which is amazing, the bed is sooo comfy and the bathroom is stunning, it is slightly pricey but its worth it. Deffo going back soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orrywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

The hotel is in a lovely location, right next to the RSC, the staff are first rate, couldn't be more helpful, you will want for nothing. The rooms are lovely, free wifi, comfy beds, modern flat screen tv with DVD player. The breakfast isn't cheap at £20 but it is first class. I've stayed in countless hotels all over the world with work and family and this is definately up there with the best, you won't be disapointed!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryRBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

My husband and I like to stay as close as possible to the theatres in Stratford-on-Avon, and you don't get closer than this! We used to come here when it was a Thistle hotel, and find the hotel transformed beyond all recognition. The welcome at reception was warm and friendly. Our room was gorgeous; furnishing, bed & bedding, amenities, - all excellent. At breakfast, the service was quick and food delicious. With parking almost at the door of the reception, this will always be our No 1 choice when visiting. Can't wait to come again!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indianlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford upon avon england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

We recieved such a warm welcome at this lovely hotel.
Andrew very kindly showed us to our room and carried our bags
and showed us where everything was ( ie dining room residents bar etc )
Our room was fab, we had a HUGE BED! so comfy and the bathroom had a huge bath and a walk in shower.
Everything was so clean, no mould in the shower or cracked tiles in this hotel!
We did not have dinner here so cannot comment on that but if breakfast was anything to go by i'm sure it would have been exellent.
Plenty of choice for breakfast and all fresh and very tasty and again exellent service from the staff.
Hotel is opposite the Rsc with great views towards the river from the terrace.
All in all a fab stay and i would just like to say a big thankyou to all and keep up the good work. would recommend this hotel as one of the top hotels to stay in stratford.
Almost forgot thanks for the card and chocolates! nice gesture x

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celticdrag0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

I felt I must write a review as the reviews for the Arden Hotel are very encouraging. My partner and myself visited in June for the 'trial and test' weekend. We found though it hadn't officially opened it to be a charming and lovely presented hotel in a smashing location. The restaurant food was excellent and service very good. The thing that let the beautiful rooms down was the lack of air conditioning, it was Summer and very warm. Our room had one window which opened only gradually and it became unbearably hot (and at night). We hope the hotel can install air conditioning soon as this will enhance an experience that is charming and deserving of praise. The only other grumble was breakfast lacked co ordination from the staff and no pastries were on offer. I presume these were down to teething troubles as it was a trial and test weekend. In light of these reviews from fellow TA members we hope to try the Arden again in the new year. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoetfromBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmardenhotel, General Manager at The Arden Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. As you are aware you were an invited guest of the Arden's to test that everything was working as it should before we opened. The whole reason for the exercise was to make sure we had things right when we did finally open in July, since then and looking at the subsequent reviews by fellow guest TA Memebers it seems that we have improved greatly over the past months, and hopefully we will continue to work hard to make the Arden even better.

As also mentioned to another TA member we are also looking at ways of cooling the hotel ready for summer 2011 and this should be in place by early next year

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards


Jason adams
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing