We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good staff, lovely hotel, disappointing food service”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2011

My family and I have just returned from a weekend staying at the Arden with some friends.
The rooms are excellent - very high quality, clean and very comfortable. The bed was one
of the best I have ever slept on. The staff in general were extremely helpful, courteous and went about their work efficiently and professionally. The food quality in the
restaurant was high and there was a good varied menu. However some aspects of the restaurant were well below par, certainly for the price paid. The food was excellent if a little over priced. We also had to send several plates back for cold food. Overall the waiting staff were not as well trained as would be expected and the communication between them was poor. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Arden but would strongly recommend that people eat elsewhere until standards are lifted.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turnep01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,079 - 1,085 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2011

I can clearly see why the Arden has its no1 status on tripadvisor. The service and location of the hotel are second to none, we stay in hotels a lot both on business and leisure and I can sincerely state the Arden is one of the best.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravelsfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We spent two night here and we were very satisfied with most things. Finding your way to the rooms took some getting used to, and we were never quite sure which door we should use to get in and out of the hotel. The room was smaller than I expected and badly laid out in the fact that there was only the bed to sit on to watch tv. The very comfortable arm-chairs were at the the end of the room. The service was excellent and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was very good, with an excellent choice and excellent service.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkFlossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

What a pity that our stay in this lovely hotel was spoilt by a restless night caused by an external fan or fans which kept noisily bursting into action throughout the night. When we complained next morning the receptionists seemed astonished and told us that no-one else had ever complained about this. How extrordinary! Are we such light sleepers? Everything else about the hotel was first class. We had a very warm welcome on arrival and though the way to our room seemed like travelling through a rabbit warren (and on one occasion we became entirely lost and had to ask our way back to our room) it was clean, pleasant, comfortable and very well furnished. On returning to the room early evening we discovered that the radiator was not working and after an unsuccesful attempt to remedy this we were quickly offered a change of rooms and spent the night in 'Redwood'. We had a delicious supper in the restaurant and the staff were attentive and pleasant. Only the issue about the noisy fan would unfortunately cause me to not recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmardenhotel, Manager at The Arden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review, first of all I would like say how pleased I was that you enjoyed dinner in the Waterside Brassiere, I am also glad that you found the staff attentive and pleasant across the hotel.

I am of course disappointed that you were kept awake by some external noise. Last week we did have a problem on an external piece of equipment which has now been resolved.

From time to time things do breakdown, but I can assure you and other guests that this is a one off.

I would very much like the opportunity to welcome you again to the Arden in the very near future, so please do not hesitate in contacting me directly should you wish to stay again.

Kind Regards


Jason Adams
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Despite having never written a review before, I feel compelled to do one for this Hotel. I will keep it brief and to the point. The hotel has the perfect location for a visit to Stratford. Just walk out of the door and you're in the middle of everything. The hotel rooms are new and beautifully decorated, and everything is spotless. But even better than all this, is the service. We were welcomed on the car park by Andrew, who helped with our cases and could not do enough to ensure we were settled in comfortably. And another mention has to be for waiter in the restaurant. Despite being just a young man, the level of attention and service was like no other restaurant I've been to. Gordon Ramsey would snap him up an instant!!! All in all, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We booked one night in one of the better rooms. It was probably the best hotel room I've stayed in. Enormous room, with 2 sofas and massive, comfortable bed. Equally large bathroom with separate bath and shower. Very quiet and great position. Staff pleasant and helpful.
If I can afford it, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurugilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed for two nights as a treat to get away, picked hotel based on Tripadvisor. It lives up to all the good reviews. From entry into reception the staff are first rate, it's friendly yet professional. You feel genuinely welcomed.
We had booked a superior room, but were upgraded to deluxe, and it was fab, really good.
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and not a horrible hot buffet (a pet hate of mine!)
We didn't use the brasserie as there is a massive choice in Stratford of places to eat, and this hotel is close to everything,
Well worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen100Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
917 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,070 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £148 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing