We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room, the service and the food were all perfect”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The room, the service and the food were all perfect”
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We have just returned from a truly excellent stay at the Arden. As I mention in the title, the room was lovely with a great bathroom and the most comfortable bed Ive ever slept in. Everyone was friendly and attentive, and the food was just great. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    278
    66
    12
    2
See reviews for
123
706
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We booked the Arden as a romantic rest and relaxation weekend trip through Small Luxury Hotels. The service was excellent from the moment we arrived. Our suite was beautifully presented to a high standard with a very comfy bed and an enormous bathroom with bath and twin showers. There were hand made chocolates and champagne on ice waiting for us when we arrived which was a nice touch. We had a delicious evening meal in the restaurant, the food was faultless and the breakfast in bed the next morning was good too. My only concern was that being at street level it was difficult to let in natural light without wondering who could see in from outside, and the lighting in the room was quite low - fine for at night, but a bit gloomy in the morning. That said, the street outside was very quiet and I don't think anyone walked past at all during our stay. All in all I couldn't recommend this hotel more, especially for a romantic treat.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurieclarke87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed at The Arden as a valentines treat and i thought it was fantastic! The hotel itself was faultless and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The LIME room we stayed it was gorgeous with rose petals scattered on the huge bed, the champagne was on ice and the home made chocs were lush. The attention to detail was immense, never more so than in the resturant! The food was incredibile -a culenary masterpiece. The chefs innovitive style leaves me in no doubt that he is in fact some kind of gastro wizard. My most sincere complements to the chef!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha02930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Tucked at the bottom of Waterside St in Stratford upon Avon is the Arden hotel.
The service from the moment you walk through the door is top-notch and nothing is a problem should you need anything taken care of.
The room interior was chic but cosy at the same time (all the rooms are named after trees). Loved the size of the bed and the bathroom. I only wish I could have stayed another night!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat30776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Stayed 1 night for our 30th wedding anniversary treat. The Arden Hotel is in a fantastic location,set in lovely gardens alongside the River Avon opposite the RSC theatre with beautifully designed decor throughout. The Lime room (our bedroom) was very plush with a huge bed, plenty of space and a bathroom to die for. All the staff from the concierge meeting us in the car park to carry our luggage to the room and explaining where everything was, reception staff greeting, waiting staff serving curtiously with a smile, food cooked and served to perfection and even having our bedclothes prepared for us to retire to made our experience very special. Stratford is a lovely town with plent to do and see - shops, large and small, tearooms, restaurants ans pubs in abundance, of course the theatre and the river. We will hopefully go back soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyPaul30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We spent a night at the Arden Hotel this weekend – the first away from our little boy since he was born nearly 2 years ago.

The hotel was easy to find being right opposite the RSC theatre and it looked beautiful as we drove past it on our way to the car park behind. The location is perfect – right on the river with town and shops a 2 minute walk away. If you’re out and about try out the Black Swan pub on the same road going away from the RSC. It is now officially my favourite pub anywhere!

Back to the hotel though – on arrival, the gardens and car park looked immaculate straight away and the reception area looks brand new, beautifully decorated and inviting! A lovely gentleman carried our suitcase upstairs to our room. We had upgraded from the classic room to a superior as we wanted a bath and paid £199 for room, dinner and b&b. The room was a good size – not massive but then the bed would have fitted 4 people so it’s probably an optical illusion! The bathroom was gorgeous – same size as the bedroom and with a huge bath and a large walk in shower that was amazing.

Nice touches in the room as others have said – a couple of pears, fresh milk, filter coffee, robes, nice smellies – made it feel special and luxurious.

Love the décor of the hotel which is a tree theme and the hotel is filled with beautiful fabrics, flocked wallpaper and romantic lighting.

The restaurant is equally as beautiful and the food was stunning. Well thought out, tasty and filling too! With our package we were allotted a £30 budget each for dinner and my only slight disappointment was that although I had asked a number of times for the menu but was referred to the sample online which displayed the most expensive main as £15 whilst in reality main courses ranged from around £17 - £25. The allowance therefore just about covered a starter & main but left nothing in the budget for a desert. I actually don’t think the meals were overpriced for the quality but that they should increase the allowance to cover a 3 course meal.

Anyway – after dinner we retired to the lounge and soaked up the atmosphere, two happy customers!

Breakfast – wow! They offer pretty much everything that you could want – full English, veggie breakfast, eggs, salmon, haddock, duck eggs, omelettes, cereal, cheese, cold meats…and of course a choice of coffees. Loved it!

Overall we had an amazing stay and we would definitely like go back. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a touch of luxury.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZPWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Myself and my wife as making it a bit of a hobby to travel and seek new experiences in many hotels found that this hotel is above and beyond its category. The location puts you in the heart of the Town and directly opposite the Royal Shakespeare theater. From the moment we arrived and for the duration, the staff could not have done anything more to make our stay perfect.
The room we had was a master bedroom and could not find one fault. Spacious clean and of a very high standard. As for the restaurant, you would think that you were in a Michelin-starred restaurant and I know it won't be long before this becomes fact.
Also the Hotel has a lovely members/residents bar to have your after dinner coffee and relax in very well decor comfortable surrounding.
We will certainly be back and would recommend very strongly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,618 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,222 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Property: The Arden Hotel
Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing