We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of No 9 Church St

No 9 Church St
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$67
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located between the commercial centre and the heart of Stratford upon Avon’s “Old Town”, No9. Church St. is a grade II listed building dating back over 400 years.Renovated and refurbished to make the most of its original features and character the building is now home to Stratford’s latest addition to its vibrant and diverse restaurant scene.No.9 Church St. is the brain child of Wayne Thomson and Dan Robinson, friends and colleagues for the last 10 years and with over 30 years of culinary experience between them. Their aim is to make No.9 Church St. a town centre restaurant with a neighbourhood feel...serving seasonal British food with a contemporary twist in a relaxed environment with informal yet professional staff, the wine list will feature some fantastic Artisan wines at sensible prices.A unique feature of the restaurant will be Upstairs at No9. A private dining room offering bespoke, tailored menus and a dedicated Butler service to parties of up to 10 people, although larger parties can be catered for in the main restaurant by prior booking.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Good food nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had lunch here again, the food is very good and nicely presented and tasty, good value two course deal, very friendly and the service is with a smile, look forward to going again when next in Stratford, highly recommended, try it it's worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Winks6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    136
    35
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another great meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We dined here with our grand-children on Saturday. The service was attentive and pleasant; the food beautifully cooked and presented. My grand-daughter (9), pronounced the chicken as " delicious" and " absolutely perfect"! The crab salad tasted really fresh and the fish moist and firm. Of particular note seemed to be the gingerbread ice cream with gooseberry crumble. The Fondant chocolat with Pistachio ice cream and cherries also went down well with them. A great evening - thank you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting menu at good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

If you need a good place for lunch or dinner in Stratford upon Avon. No 9 church street is well worth considering. Excellent menu with good choice of fish dishes, good wine list, friendly and efficient staff. Central location but off the main tourist trail and prices are reasonable for the quality of food and surroundings.

Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“How Sunday Lunch Should be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

It feels like I have relocated to Stratford this week - having been here more than at home over the past 7 days visiting the Shakespeare Trusts sites with friends and family! So its been more than pleasant to explore beneath the surface and to go off the normal tourist routes which is how we bumped into No 9 by chance yesterday.... We were between New Place and Nash's house looking at the hotels and restaurants and had pretty much decided on where we were going to have lunch and then passed No 9 and doubled back to take a closer look... and decided to book a table for a late lunch... then carried on to Nash's but decided not to risk missing out on the Beef so doubled back (again!) and went straight to eat! A great little place, contemporary design and a charming team... all very good so far... A very good menu and price with some exciting dishes - I went for the mixed fish grill and swapped the mash for triple cooked chips (heathen that I am - not having had a potato for weeks on a healthy eating kick I though this the place to be naughty!)... and the other half the beef (him not wanting to miss out and hence our early table decision!)... With a beer and cola and the great idea of a carafe of wine - just enough at a lunch time we waited in anticipation... And we were proven right on all of our decisions for the day, right, to double back twice, right to over rule our original restaurant choice and right to pick the beef and fish (and TCC's)... Food was all perfect - a good Sunday lunch is difficult to find - it shouldn't be but is though to qualify its very easy to find at No 9 - tender and succulent and with plenty of gravy!!! And from the sea a perfect combination of plaice, mackerel and cod - sweet and buttery! To follow the parfait (for him) and the brownie (for me!) were superb - if all brownies tasted like this I would be converted - and the cherry and pistachio accompaniments were perfect... So we left happy and trotted off in the sun to Nashs house and at less than fifty quid agreed that we need to come to Stratford more (though in my case that would mean moving there based on my recent whereabouts!)...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Absolutely Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Had a pre theatre meal here last week and everything was perfect: the food must be the best in Stratford Upon Avon; wine list reasonably priced and they do 375m carafes; a glass of Prosecco is generously large; ambience great; service very efficient

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandavLymngton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No 9 Church St also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to No 9 Church St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing