We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place just gets better each time”
Review of No 9 Church St

No 9 Church St
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$69
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located between the commercial centre and the heart of Stratford upon Avon’s “Old Town”, No9. Church St. is a grade II listed building dating back over 400 years.Renovated and refurbished to make the most of its original features and character the building is now home to Stratford’s latest addition to its vibrant and diverse restaurant scene.No.9 Church St. is the brain child of Wayne Thomson and Dan Robinson, friends and colleagues for the last 10 years and with over 30 years of culinary experience between them. Their aim is to make No.9 Church St. a town centre restaurant with a neighbourhood feel...serving seasonal British food with a contemporary twist in a relaxed environment with informal yet professional staff, the wine list will feature some fantastic Artisan wines at sensible prices.A unique feature of the restaurant will be Upstairs at No9. A private dining room offering bespoke, tailored menus and a dedicated Butler service to parties of up to 10 people, although larger parties can be catered for in the main restaurant by prior booking.
Salford Priors, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“This place just gets better each time”
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I've been several times since my last comment and it gets better each time. On this occasion lunch was an absolutely delicious Beef liver and another memorable lunch was the ubiquitous Friday option of Fish and chips: delicate, crisp and succulent at the same time .
Service is as ever swift, attentive and friendly without being imposing.
I love this place.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Majen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    142
    37
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We had a lovely dinner at No 9 Church Street. the staff were friendly and professional and the meal was superb. A lot of imagination had been put into the dishes my pan fried sole melted in my mouth - this is always a favourite of mine but it can be hit or miss. This was definately a hit, cooked to perfection. Another favourite - a selection of lemon desserts including a lemon tart- I was in heaven. Accompanied by a great Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand and my husband's company I couldn't ask for more. We will return, we are not local but it will be worth a stay over in beautiful Stratford. A big thank you from us.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew_whalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place to eat!”
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Having searched the reviews of Stratford restaurants for somewhere to take a party of friends and family for Sunday lunch, the 5 star reviews for No 9 were so outstanding I had to book - and I'm so glad I did. My party of eight (ranging from 7 years old to 80 years) dined in the private room at the top of the building. A very comfortable room and our waitress was friendly and attentive and she never lost her smile even though she had to navigate two steep flights of stairs to look after us.
The food was delicious, particularly the beef. They don't have a children's menu but were extremely accomodating in providing a suitable meal.
In terms of value, for the service and quality of food alone it was very reasonable and if you are familiar with Stratford you know so often price and quality are ill-matched at the many eateries - this is not the case at No 9. We shall certainly find an opportunity for another visit soon.
One small point by way of feedback for the restaurant - whilst the private dining room is a lovely place to eat, when our main meals arrived it took four trips for all the food to be delivered up from the ground floor kitchen - it seemed a long wait between when the first and last person were served.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMc-leam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford upon avon
1 review
“One of the best in Stratford”
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We ate here on Christmas Eve and having been recommended, we were not disappointed. We can honestly say that this is one of the best retaurants that Stratford has seen in the last few years . The food was fresh well prepared and excellently presented. Service was discreet, friendly and professional. We will cetainly be eating at No9 again early in the New Year. This is that we would definitely recommend and, eating out in Stratford as we regularly do, it is really nice to find a restaurant of this quality on your doorstep.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elliott_j0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loxley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and excellent service”
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We attended No 9 last night for the first time after seeing the very positive reviews and we were not disappointed. We had an excellent meal which in our opinion is the finest food we have sampled in Stratford to date. The dishes were freshly prepared with an abundance of flavour with all the staff providing a professional yet friendly service making this a great dining experience, compared to many of the restaurants we have tried nearby. We will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank burntoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No 9 Church St also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to No 9 Church St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing