We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all ways”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Townhouse
Blackpool
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent in all ways”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Very enjoyable stay in great place. Very nice room (12), comfortable bar, excellent staff.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    95
    43
    18
    9
See reviews for
50
324
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and it was just perfect. Very comfortable room, friendly, helpful staff, lovely breakfast, excellent location near to the theatre. We will definitely return. It has also solved the problem of Christmas gifts for our grown up children...hotel vouchers!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdavis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

What a perfect experience. The room was lovely. Excellent huge bed, linens and furnishings. The room felt clean, large, and luxurious. You sincerely felt like there was no luxury to large or to small for them to have thought of. Decanter of port refilled daily, package of little bars/cakes, still and sparkling water in the fridge, delicious breakfast, wonderful full size toiletries - all included in the price. Indulge indulge indulge is what it felt like they were saying the entire time. The staff was delightful - friendly, warm, and eager to point you in the right direction. DO NOT MISS the live piano playing in the bar! For an evening we felt like life long community members - singing along with the whole bar and shouting out requests and begging for him to play just one more.
Stratford is beautiful, and we were there during the river festival so there was an endless choice of things to do but we could honestly have spent every single moment nestled away in this delight of a hotel. This place is a great value for money, and if you are able to take advantage of their "stay two nights get the third for 50 pounds" the only draw back is feeling like you are stealing!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrswat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel last weekend for a romantic break. The room was big and spacious, with all the usual facilities (coffee, tea, iron, fridge...) and even a welcome gift! The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The only downside was that our room, no1, was very noisy. We could hear the staff walk around early in the morning and opening doors. The location is perfect, in the centre of town and 5 min away to all the tourist attractions. Dinner was just amazing, food was delicious and service impeccable, so was the breakfast. I had egg royal and my partner had a full English breakfast, both very nice.
I will definitely go back to this hotel although I will choose a less noisy room. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keen_eye_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The hotel is more of an all day restaurant with rooms and gave us just what we wanted for a two night theatre trip.
The hotel is recently converted from and has twelve rooms. Our family had two rooms overlooking Church Street. They were very well equipped but on the small side.
The whole of the ground floor was taken up by open bars and restaurant facilities which were buzzing with life. It is clearly a popular venue.
The hotel, bar and restaurant are all well run and the young staff go out of their way to ensure that you are looked after. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel on 9th June. It was terrific, the ambience, style and of course the professional and friendly staff makes this establishment en par with many of the finest 5 star hotels. I cannot recommend it enough. Excellent value for money and attention to detail in every way means that we will certainly return in the near future.
Thanks to all

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deniseconnor555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Lovely staff, EVERYONE went that little bit further. from the moment we arrived it was brilliant. We had a meal in the restaurant which was really good, good enough for me to go to the kitchen and thank the chef. The detail was brilliant, little decanter of port on the table at no charge. Lovely room, it goes on.......................Thanks so much, 1 tiny thing, and it's not the hotel it's the town, so so touristy and not SO great if you are not a shakespeare fan. The riverside has been done up, but overall , maybe I was expecting more, but if you look at a town like chester, or even dare I say it Bath, which is also very touristy but in a another league.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rvrman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
844 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Townhouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favorite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Townhouse Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing