We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding!!”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Townhouse
Reviewed 11 August 2011

What a fabulous place to stay!!!! The rooms are gorgeous - really well appointed with everything you could possibly need. The bed is huge and extremely comfortable with high quality bed linen and feather quilt and pillows. They even give you a little decanter of port in your room - such a lovely touch! The atmosphere in the public areas is very cozy but also extremely classy. The staff are wonderful - so friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Stratford, in fact would go to Stratford just to stay at the Church St Townhouse again!! A wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Revelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights for my sister's hen party. There were 16 of us in 8 rooms and it surpassed all our expectations. The hotel was in a lovely old building and was very high spec. Every room had ipod speakers and TVs. I stayed in one of the superior rooms with an en suite including a fantastic freestanding bath. On arrival we were given a voucher for the local NCP car park and this reduced the cost of our 48 hour stay greatly. On the Friday night we enjoyed the private dining experience. The food was delicious and the wine excellent. The staff were very attentive and the hotel could not have been happier to let us bring our own cake to the meal. Both mornings we were able to pick anything from the breakfast menu and this was included in our room price. The eggs benedict was lovely, the poached eggs perfect. I honestly cannot recommend The Church Street Townhouse enough and will without a doubt be returning there. Thank you so much for making my sister's hen weekend such a special occasion!

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 12, one of the Superior rooms and it was lovely, but to be honest all the rooms wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritinSwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here on a hen weekend. The staff were amazing, so helpful and attentive. The rooms were FAB. The attention to detail, like having real milk instead of UHT in the rooms, and gorgeous flapjack instead of cheap biscuits, and really nice showergel and bodycream etc. really shows the owners have thought about what you want from a hotel room, not to mention the hair straighteners in every room.....one less thing for the ladies to pack :-). I'll definately come here again, perhaps even bring hubby next time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Hi, We held our "Secret Wedding" reception here last week. Which meant friends stayed and we took over the Library for our Wedding breakfast.

Ali and Dani as well as the rest of the staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and they made the Library very romantic for us. Chef gave us a fab menu and the food went down very well.

Our friends enjoyed the hotel, especially the location in the old town.

We can't recommend the Town House enough.

Many Thanks to all there (especially the night porter who kept the groom and best man company the night before the wedding!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn_201163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Me and my partner found this hotel on the Mr and Mrs Smith website, however we booked directly through the hotel. This was the start of a lovely break, booking was easy and Henrietta was so helpful while booking, we asked for a late check out and this did not seem to be a problem, I was even more impressed when she informed me there was no additional fee.

We walked from the Station to the hotel as it was so close it seemed silly to get a taxi. Having arrived an hour before check in, we dropped our bags off and went to explore the area. We soon found that the location was in walking distance from all the main attractions.

We were taken straight to our room and our bags were already there. We are not very easily satisfied as a couple, however, we could not fault a thing about the room! It was gorgeous (room 2). I went straight to the bathroom to check cleanliness as I am very particular, there was not even a watermark. We thought the complimentary shortbread biscuits and port on the dresser was a lovely touch and the Acqua di parma toiletries was a nice change to the normal Molton Brown or White Company products most places have.

The atmosphere in the bar is without doubt the best in all the places we had been to in Stratford Upon Avon. I can not talk highly enough of all the staff, it was astonishing to find that all the staff were so helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was delicious and we were so thankful it finished at 11am as opposed to 10am like most other hotels we have stayed at. We decided to eat at the restaurant and only wish we had more nights to eat there, it was delicious and reasonably priced. We did lunch at the Arden the next day however, it didn't quite compare to our dinner the night before.

We generally don't go back to a town once we have visited the main attractions as we like to travel around, however, Church Street Townhouse is definitely going to drag us back to Stratford Upon Avon, perhaps we will try out room 12 next time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel in July with my wife as a 'weekend break' and we were both delighted with the hotel. The building was charming, the room was very tastefully decorated, the food in the restaurant was excellent and the bar was very vibrant with a great atmosphere. But most importantly, the staff were all helpful, courteous and extremely friendly. The overall package was excellent, and I would hapily recommend the hotel to friends, family and any traveller looking for a relaxing break with a touch of class. Do enquire when booking the rooms about the ceiling height. The building has been extended over the centuries and some of the ceilings are low, and they vary from room to room. At 6'1" I managed to crack my head a few times, until I remembered to duck!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We had a lovely stay in june and we couldn't fault the b & b or the room , we had room 2 and it was absolutely gorgeous and well worth the £120 price tag. Location is brilliant. The only 2 negative things were the odd arrangements for ghe room cleaning; the cleaning is usually done quite discreetly but not here! We felt we were in the way when leaving our room to have breakfast and we had to walk around vacuum cleaners and over boxes of chemicals. We just thought that it could be done in a much better way . Also the cleaner came in 3 times in our room whilst we were still in there without knocking; not the best way to avoid an embarrassing moment!
But we would definitely be back as it was gorgeous and the service front of house was great.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baboushka24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,921 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,865 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £78 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favorite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Townhouse Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing