We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Townhouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Stratheden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thistle(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The White Swan Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Courtland Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Payton Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveller rating
387
111
51
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
387
111
51
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary portchurch streetsmall decanter of porthair straightenersmr and mrs smithboutique hotelreal milklittle touchesroll top bathhomemade shortbreadnearby ncppre theatre mealfresh milkeggs benedictsmall hotelfriday eveningcar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 580 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Last week my wife and I had the pleasure of staying in this great little hotel. Rarely if ever have we received this standard of service, care and attention to detail. As regular World travellers we rate customer service as #1 priority and this Hotel rates #1 with us. The bedrooms, amenities, bar and dining room were first class, and the staff well trained, courteous and efficient. The great touch of having a young pianist playing from 5.30 to 6.30 was excellent and added to the atmosphere. The location is perfect for siteseeing and the theatre.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath in the room if required.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We have just stayed at the Church Street Townhouse for our Wedding Anniversary for one night. We stayed in Room 2 which was really beautiful with a big bathroom. The room has everything you need - huge comfy bed, fridge, ironing board, hairdryer, straightners, I could go on and on and is spotlessly clean. All of the staff were so friendly and the hotel buiding is decorated beautifuuly and really quaint. We ate in the hotel and the meal was gorgeous and there was a singer in the bar which made it even more special. The Dining room is lovely with low lighting and candle lit - so very romantic. Breakfast was in the same room and there is a big menu and the food again was gorgeous. Well worth the money and the position of the hotel is perfect for exploring Stratford. We will definitley be back next year.

Room Tip: Room 2 was lovely.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed here for one night in July 2011 and loved it. Had a gorgeous room with claw foot bath, powerful shower huge comfortable bed. It had everything you could need as well as great little touches such as a decanter of port and tasty biscuits.
I had the most gorgeous steak in the restaurant....I'm dribbling at the thought of it now! The staff were attentive but not intrusive.
The location was perfect for the town and theatre. The bar was busy but as soon as you were in the room, it could not be heard.
There was no parking at the hotel but you can park at a nearby NCP at a discounted rate.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

As a Stratford resident, I have visited the Townhouse on several occasions and enjoyed a few drinks in the bar. After several very enjoyable experiences I decided to choose this venue to plan a surprise 40th Birthday for my husband. The Library is the perfect private party venue. It seated 20 people comfortably and the stylish surroundings make it feel luxurious without an obscene price tag! At £25.00pp for a 3 course set menu and coffee i felt the cost of the meal was very good value. There was a choice of 4 starters, 4 mains and 4 desserts, certainly something for everyone! The food was beautiful, it was served quickly so we were all able to eat together.

In addition the service was fantastic. We had one waiter, Theo who looked after us for most of the night, he always seemed to be on hand for any of the guests to order drinks or a taxi. What a star!

We really had a fantastic night from the planning and arranging with Rachel to the service and food on the night. I couldn't fault it. I would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theonlyhsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

What can I say?... Had a wonderful long weekend here in April. Had lots of plans to visit the sites, and ended up spending most of our time in the hotel lounge, drinking tea, reading the newspaper and watching the world go by. Evenings sloped in on champagne happy hour, delicious snacks and a piano player in the bar. It was too hard too to leave, even though the hotel is right in the centre of town.

Gorgeous decor with an ultra-modern palette of soft grey, white, silver and red, combined with extra-comfortable vintage style and quirky detail. The staff were charming and couldn't do enough to help, food was fab (great breakfasts!) and the bed was huge and spectacularly comfy. Room 1 has a large wet-room bathroom with rainwater shower and all our comforts were taken care of, including complementary toiletries, biscuits, port, bottled water. I'd be very happy to live there on a permanent basis and the deal for a third night at 50% off was the icing on the cake

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank laughing_psammead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews