We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply brilliant!”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Townhouse
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply brilliant!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This truly is one of the most wondeful hotels my partner and i have ever stayed in . The rooms are amazing, the shower is incredible and the location is unparalelled, with a beautiful view from the front rooms . The town itself is incredible, and staying at this hotel really topped off our stay. The staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much bother at all, the kind of people ( all of them ) one instantly likes ( even over a cheeky late night brandy) Little details like port and chocolates in the room, massive beds and crisp linen make this hotel somewhere which we will definitely return to again. Big thanks to the staff!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tklb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    97
    44
    18
    9
See reviews for
52
328
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I stayed at the Townhouse on 19 October having been given an excellent rate the previous day. The quality of the stay from initial conversation on the phone to departure was top class. The Church Street Townhouse is a true Boutique Hotel. Parking was very easy on the street outside. The care at the reception desk was overawed by the wonderful bar setting. I was escorted to my room and shown the essentials. A wonderful bag of homemade biscuits and the most welcome carafe of Port. The bed was amazing as were the decorative elements of the room. Top marks for the bathroom and the superb Aqua di Parma gifts that were laid on. The room (No.11) was very quiet, a true haven. I must also mention the smoking area outside, truly wonderful. As I had to leave early in the morning I could not enjoy the bar, but I made sure to have breakfast which was 110% fabulous!!! I will be back at this wonderful hotel. Full marks to everyone there!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful establishment and the only downfall was that we only stayed for 1 night. The staff are very knowledgable and helpful with tips on where to go in the area. The food was top class and it was a joy to eat there. The room was fantastic with everything even a hair straightener. I couldn't believe how friendly the staff were, they were just so lovely. I had just been on a three week tour of Europe and I must say staying at the Church Street Townhouse was one of my holiday highlights. Well done guys and girls will definately be back in the future :)

Room Tip: Room #3 was the best, huge room with claw bath and huge exposed beams (not low) really excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

What a fantastic hotel, great location, fabulous food and the staff are fantastic. We stayed here for two nights and chose this hotel after reading excellent reviews on Mr and Mrs Smith and Trip Advisor. Our room had everything you could need and more, but unfortunately the window looked out over the Bar's smoking area. With no double glazing, the noise of people chatting was very loud and you could smell the smoke even with the window closed! Only accept this room if you intend to sleep after midnight when the bar guests vacate the premises.
This was the only downside to a fantastic stay, and we would choose this hotel again (but a different room next time)!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rimigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Last week my wife and I had the pleasure of staying in this great little hotel. Rarely if ever have we received this standard of service, care and attention to detail. As regular World travellers we rate customer service as #1 priority and this Hotel rates #1 with us. The bedrooms, amenities, bar and dining room were first class, and the staff well trained, courteous and efficient. The great touch of having a young pianist playing from 5.30 to 6.30 was excellent and added to the atmosphere. The location is perfect for siteseeing and the theatre.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath in the room if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds, west yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We have just stayed at the Church Street Townhouse for our Wedding Anniversary for one night. We stayed in Room 2 which was really beautiful with a big bathroom. The room has everything you need - huge comfy bed, fridge, ironing board, hairdryer, straightners, I could go on and on and is spotlessly clean. All of the staff were so friendly and the hotel buiding is decorated beautifuuly and really quaint. We ate in the hotel and the meal was gorgeous and there was a singer in the bar which made it even more special. The Dining room is lovely with low lighting and candle lit - so very romantic. Breakfast was in the same room and there is a big menu and the food again was gorgeous. Well worth the money and the position of the hotel is perfect for exploring Stratford. We will definitley be back next year.

Room Tip: Room 2 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed here for one night in July 2011 and loved it. Had a gorgeous room with claw foot bath, powerful shower huge comfortable bed. It had everything you could need as well as great little touches such as a decanter of port and tasty biscuits.
I had the most gorgeous steak in the restaurant....I'm dribbling at the thought of it now! The staff were attentive but not intrusive.
The location was perfect for the town and theatre. The bar was busy but as soon as you were in the room, it could not be heard.
There was no parking at the hotel but you can park at a nearby NCP at a discounted rate.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,620 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,079 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,223 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Townhouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favorite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Townhouse Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing