We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good - Choose room carefully”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Townhouse
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights over the new year period 2011 - 2012. The hotel is beautiful, and the staff fabulous. The only issue we had was that we were in room one, which ajoins the bar and was very noisy indeed. We have however spoken to the staff about this and they assure us measures have been put in place to reduce the noise / warn any guests that there may be noise. We are heading back in March so will be keen to see. The hotel is perfecty located for a break in Stratford, within minutes of the very centre of town. The breakfast (included in the room price) was lovely and the rooms themselves are clean and tidy, beautifully decorated in a boutique hotel feel, and had some lovely touches. Complimentary biscuits and port, hair dryer and straighteners to use, and nice toiletries and tea & coffee. Overall it was lovely and we are happy to be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room - 11 or 12 looked best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had the most amazing weekend in Room 5 of this beautiful boutique hotel...we are already planning our next trip...also pinching a few of their furnishing idea's....the food is wonderful and the staff..especially Rachel so friendly and accomodating...we couldnt recommend this hotel highly enough...we were so sad to leave..........

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LegalKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have just spent a weekend here and I can't speak highly enough of this hotel. From the moment I walked through the door I was amazed at the standard of service and approach from the staff here. As I walked in I was offered a drink, help to my room all with a genuine smile from one of the very lovely staff! We stayed in room 12 after looking at reviews and mr&mrs smith website. Could not have been happier! Stunning view, decor, bathroom, and lots of touches that will appeal like candles, free port, hair straighteners. The only slight negative would be there is no phone to call downstairs and being a few flights upstairs you have to venture down to get drinks. The bar is amazing, great vibe and drinks, although very small and gets packed so get there early! We ate here twice and it was as good as the food in any top London restaurant that I have been to! Again all waiting staff were amazing and the kitchen is run impeccably. Hat off to the chefs......all in all this is one of the nicest small boutique hotels I have been to recently. Be prepared that you have noise from clock tower and outside crowds but that is what you get in a town centre location and it did not affect our enjoyment one bit. Thank you and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlelollyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My wife and I enjoyed two nights here staying in room 12 on the upper floor.
Check is was easy and the staff gave us a little map with details of how to get to the car park where overnight parking is discounted to £4.
Room 12 was spacious and full of charm, with a seperate bathroom containing deluge shower cubicle as well as a bath.
The room had everything you will need, including fridge, tea/coffee. large flat screen TV, two very efficient radiators, clock radio, ample lighting, wardrobe and draws, nice big mirrors and a king size bed.
The only thing missing was a telephone for calling reception if required.
The decanter of port was a nice touch and a perfect nightcap.

We ate in the townhouse on both evenings and found the food superb.
Everything made fresh, from the open style kitchen and not a microwave ping to be heard.
Breakfast was very good, and all made to order which is great unless your in a hurry so best ensure you have ample time.

The bar area as well as the entire building is very furnished which makes for a very warm and cosy place to be. On both evenings a pianist was playing in the bar, this added a very attractive atmosphere. Two real ales are available from proper hand pumps and both were very good indeed.
All the staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. In particular Henrietta deserves a mention for her welcoming personality and friendliness.

I would agree with some other reviews about road noise, but when you consider the age of this building this is to be expected. I didn't bother us but I can imagine light sleepers being disturbed.
We had no problems with hot water as some reviews state, this is because the building renewed its boiler some months ago. Our baths and showers had ample hot water.
The free wifi signal is a bit on the weak side, but it really didn't cause us any problems.

After looking around Stratford at the other hotels available we feel we chose the right place in the Town house, although I have to say I feel their room rates could do with being lowered by 15%, we would stay here again without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath, our room (12) did but it was on the top floor was was one of the most ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rangestormer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed over Valentines for our anniversary & on arriving we're upgraded to one of the most expensive rooms for free, which was a lovely gesture by the hotel staff & made our experience all the more memorable! The room was stunning, beautiful views over the Shakespeare school & Nash's house- the location made it a little noisy during the day, but really we spent most of our days walking round the town, but at night was wonderfully peaceful (minus the clock chimming every hour)! We ate in the restaurant and again nothing to complian about, even thought it was jam-packed the service was speedy & with a smile- as usual & the food was absolutely delicious (i'd recconmend the Sea Bream & pasta). Breakfast was to the same high standard! But most of all the staff were perfect, always friendly, smiling & willing to assist you in any way possible! I'd go as far to say one the best hotels we've ever stayed in & will defintely be visiting again!

Room Tip: The rooms to the front of the house will be a tad noiser due to being on the main street (not extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Perfect location, lovely rooms with some thoughtful extras! We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms ( £140 a night over the weekend) but we felt that perhaps the room could be £20-£30 a night cheaper. The bar is lovely although absolutely packed on weekend evenings meaning that although the atmosphere is great, it's impossible to get a table for a drink before bed. Breakfast was lovely with lots of options. Overall, I think we'd possibly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bris2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Fantastic hotel, we stayed in Room 10 and nothing to complain about at all. Probably the nicest hotel we have stayed in in the UK and we will definitely return. The bar is fantastic with a really good atmosphere we also ate off the bar menu and in the restaurant and both were excellent. Breakfast was nice and we were able to order what we asked for (fussy eaters)
Our room was gorgeous and so was the whole hotel, we spent a lot of time just relaxing in the hotel – perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy_Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,903 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,435 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,173 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £77 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favorite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Townhouse Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing