We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Townhouse
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed at the Church Street Townhouse for a 2 night break just before Christmas. It was featured on the Mr & Mrs Smith website so I was happy to book. We were not disappointed at all. The hotel itself mainly consists of a bar and restaurant which were warm and lively - a great atmosphere. We dined in the restaurant on the first evening and the food was really good. The room was delightful and spacious and the sherry and shortbread was a great touch. We stayed in room 5 which had a beautiful sash window and overlooked the street (delightful view), however, I was awoken at 6am by the church bells. When we mentioned this to one of the staff, they offered us a quieter room at the back. This room was also very well appointed and had a roll top bath and no bells! The staff were all great and helpful and we would definitely return if visiting Stratford Upon Avon again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    95
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
49
319
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Let me declare an interest, my son is one of several schoolboy musicians from King Edwards VI school that is situated directly oposite the Townhouse in Church Street who play the piano from 5-30 to 6-30pm Mon-Fri in the main bar. Also I must add that I have never stayed overnight. However I am here at least once a week throughout the year occasionally for a midmorning cup of coffee with a bacon sandwich and a read of the mornining papers in the lage back room and sometimes at night for dinner with family and friends and I have always been amazed at the quality and value for money of the cooking. Each and every time I visit, the young staff are polite and very efficient, the main bar and restraurant are candle lit ,the woodwork shines and the view opposite of Shakspears 15th century school and classroom at night is worth a visit alone. Last Wed 19th Dec when I parked outside the school choir was giving its all for the evening Carol service, just bliss.The Townhouse is not only centrally situated but very conveniently after 6pm there is a free car park only 50yds away. Ideally the Main bar should be be a little larger.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186398Johnchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This was our first time to Stratford Upon Avon so after research of reviews and on the town itself we decided to go with the Church Street Townhouse. We were not disappointed on any aspect of our stay. The staff were amazing - friendly, welcoming and quick to make sure that whatever we needed was catered for. The room was comfortable and cosy with a beautiful, spacious bathroom. We didn't have lunches or dinners in-house because we were out sightseeing and going to evening events, however, judging from the numbers of diners coming in to the restaurant, it would seem that the food was very good. Bar service was great with an excellent home made mulled wine available. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was delicious. We were able to order as per our wishes instead of the 'set' menu combinations. We would recommend the Church Street Townhouse to all and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We visited this hotel last year and were really impressed with the service and ambiance . This year , however we felt that standards had certainly slipped. The hotel ran out of a specific spirit on the first night and failed to replenish the drink on the second night , despite assuring us that they would . We booked dinner for the second night in the hotel , and we're told we had to vacate the table after two hours, but they were then unable to accommodate us in the bar area and we actually ended up sitting by the toilets!
In our opinion , we feel that priority was given to the non resident guests and we felt we were an inconvienance to the frankly poorly trained staff.
We also assertained that the hotel management had changed hands in the past year and that may be the cause of the shoddy service

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had never been to Stratford on Avon or hotel before, so we were very pleasantly surprised with both. The hotel is in a quiet but central part of town and in our opinion one of the nicest parts. The staff were very friendly and helpful during our short stay. My wife maintains the most comfortable bed she has ever slept in, and I'm inclined to agree with her. The decor was lovely, quirky and tasteful. The breakfast was served in the cosy resteraunt , which unfortunately was too busy for us to dine in on the previous night. The hotel is part of the mr & mrs smith group which is always a pleasure to stay in . Hope to return this xmas for more of the same.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

food excellent, staff excellent, we had a lovely experience and will be back very very soon. we would recommend the restaurant and bar to anyone. We hope to be back for the Christmas singalong and bring friends with us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenJoyce_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My partner and I stayed here from 28th September-1st October 2012 and this is by far the best hotel we've stayed in in the UK. The food, staff, hospitality and of course the room were outstanding. Well worth staying here. In the heart of Stratford Upon-Avon you really can't go wrong with this wonderful hotel. We will be going back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Townhouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favorite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Townhouse Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing