We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On our favourites list” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Townhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“On our favourites list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We have recently had our second stay at this hotel and were not disappointed. Fantastic location, beautiful decor and lovely comfortable rooms. Nothing better than a pre dinner drink in the piano bar followed by superb food in the atmospheric dining room...and breakfast is amazing. Now becoming avid fans of the RSC just to have an excuse to stay at the Church Street Town House! Only one comment...a twin room might be good so that I can bring my two young adult kids who dont really want to share a double. Well done team.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    94
    41
    18
    8
See reviews for
46
304
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We spent 2 nights at the townhouse sun-mon 3rd 4th Feb on an excellent winter deal.The first thing that appealed to me was the friendly yet professional approach , from ringing to book (and then emailing to ask for a change of room) and throughout our stay the staff were lovely and eagre to make our stay the best it could be.the location is excellent 5 mins to the theatre lots of bars restaurants close by.
We stayed in room 12 a bright spacious room with both shower and rool top bath complete with a bathrack with champagne glass holder what more could a girl ask for? The room is at the front looking across at some wonderful timber buildings part of which are the grammar school it is a bright room having two windows we looked in several rooms all of which are decorated much the same and decided 12 was our favourite although rm 3 has a lot of atmosphere.The bed was large
and although firm was comfortable and we slept well we did hear the clock chime overnight but thats all part of the charm of the location.The room was well equipped hair dryer and straightners iron ironing board hospitality tray with tea and ground coffee cafetier fresh milk and water in the fridge a small decanter of port and cookies
The bar and restaurant is cosy and inviting with lots to look at ,the barman was friendly chatty and yet still professional.
We ate both nights in the restaurant the food was good (not excellent and maybe if i could i would give 4.5 insted of 5) service on the second night done mainly by the lovely barman was better than first and the same can be said for breakfast it was faultless on the second morning
there were a few minor issues the first morning i feel probably due to lack of experience and nothing major.There was live music on the sunday evening very good ,we missed the regular pianist on the monday
in summary i wouldnt hesitate to return and would recommend a stay here to my friends
i wish everyone the success they deserve ,reward for all their the hard work .

Room Tip: rm 3 romance atmosphere 12 for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkandfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Lovely, quirky & spotless....
We went for a two night stay just before Valentines in 2012. Immediatly felt like a guest in the owners home. Staff had a real sense of ownership.
Just sad we missed out on the pianist in the bar.
Will definitely be back!!! A soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowlifegoodfornothingbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

There are so many things to like about this hotel but many more to love and to keep you returning.

The staff - Nothing was a problem or too much trouble for the engaging and knowledgable staff at the Townhouse. From the initial emails regarding parking (I hadn't even booked at this point) to the follow ups about timings and dinner reservations. There was no snobbery or forced formality (which I have encountered in some Stratford hotels), here there was a warm welcome and an immediate feeling of relaxation.

The room - We stayed in a mid-price room and it was immaculate. The careful vintage design details that mix perfectly with the modern colour palette made this room a delight to be in. The size was great, the bed was extremely comfortable and everywhere was beautifully clean. We spent more time in this room than we usually would on a trip to Stratford just because it was such a lovely environment to be in. The little touches of the small decanter of port and the homemade shortbread biscuits were delightful. The bathroom was small but perfectly formed with a brilliant double shower and lovely toiletries.

The restaurant - We've been to the restaurant many times before (it's a staple for us whenever we're in Stratford) and breakfast is included when you book into the hotel - and it was amazing! From full english breakfasts to ham and cheese croissants to everything in between, it really was delicious. The staff were once again so friendly and helpful they put you completely at ease (so much so I wanted to wander down from our room in my pjs but I didn't want to put others off their breakfast!)

The location - It's exactly where you want to be in Stratford, a 5 minutes walk from wherever you want to be and see.

I would heartily recommend this beautiful hotel and it's lovely staff to anyone visiting Stratford-upon-Avon.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tink_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed here for our Honeymoon and could not have been happier with our choice. Even before we stayed the staff were really helpful giving us a great deal due to the special occasion. Its really easy to get to, the process of dropping bags off and picking up a parking permit for the multi-storey around the corner is genuinely very simple and not at all stressful. The carpark is 5mins walk, but as your bags have already been dropped off it doesnt really make a difference.

The location is perfect for exploring Stratford, its right in the middle of all the Shakespeare Venues and shops too. The theatres are a straight 5min walk down the road as well.

A word of warning to taller people, this is an old building and so does have some LOW beams and doorways. I'm 6-4 and I had to be mindful of where I was going, but you get used to it and its not a criticism at all.
We stayed in the top suite which was just stunning. As well as the bathroom with shower, there was a freestanding bath to relax in with a glass of the complimentary Port and/or Shortbread. The bed was huge, everything was immaculately clean and the best part was the antique furniture which gives a real cosy and homely feel.
Equally as impressive is the food, we had the best breakfasts we've ever had here and we also had a pre-theatre meal which was equally impressive. Stratford has a lot of good restaurants (just ask our waistlines!) and the Townhouse is definitely among them.

This is a Boutique Hotel and so is more expensive than most, but its worth every penny!

Room Tip: The Suite was great for a special occasion, but from what we saw all the rooms are as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BazinSalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

A last minute decision to surprise my husband for our wedding anniversary. From the moment i called to book i experienced a team of staff that consistently went out of their way to assist me, Everybody was friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. I was recommended places to visit, eat and park!
I am a big foodie and believe me i was in heaven! The rooms were superb and catered for every need. Thrilled to bits i chose this personable hotel. Well done everybody and thank you for making our weekend very memorable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeyb163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

In the round, the best hotel we've stayed in for a long weekend! It is perfectly located for all that Stratford has to offer, has a great little restaurant and beautiful rooms full of Character and panache. But above all tha,t it is the quality and friendliness of the staff that really make this guesthouse excellent. They are bubbly, knowledgeable and always keen to help.
Trust me; if you are going to Stratford, stay here. I probably go away half a dozen times a year and I have never written a review on Tripadvisor before - I hope that tells you all you need to know. Enjoy :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Cracklens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Townhouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This independently owned boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favourite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Townhouse Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing