We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Townhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Marple Bridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Had two wonderful nights at Church Street with our friends Deborah and Paul who have now been 4 times! and we can see why. The hotel is gorgeous, cosy and luxurious and had everything we needed. the attention to detail was fantastic and the staff couldn't have been more hospitable, friendly and welcoming, eveyone of them. The atmosphere is so warm you just don't want to move. We had a meal in the restaurant and had the bar snacks which were both delicious as were the breakfasts. We will back!! can't wait. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillwellybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    95
    42
    18
    8
See reviews for
47
313
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

From the complimentary port in the stylish bedroom, to the really friendly and helpful staff, with a fab mix of atmosphere, great dinner menu and a brilliant selection of wines thrown in, this is a gem in the very heart of Stratford.

We stayed for 2 nights and the excellent service did not slip once. The staff are all very friendly and nothing is too much trouble at all and this really makes a big difference from the run of the mill hotel chains that we've stayed in previously.

Our bedroom was really well decorated and maintained with a lovely big comfy bed and lots of pillows, a tea/coffee tray with a good selection of teas and water in the mini fridge and a lovely big bathroom with a brilliant drench shower, a large roll top claw foot bath and luxury Aromatherapy Associates toiletries.

The centre of Stratford is a 5 minute stroll away with lovely shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants.
The river and the Royal Shakespeare theatre are also very close by.

We would definitely recommend a stay at the Church Street Town House. It is a must.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraK030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

we celebrated my brothers 50th birthday here, what a good choice of hotel! the staff are lovely,friendly and accommodating, the rooms are luxurious with the best complimentary teas,coffees and products. everything catered for,iron, hair-dryer,bottle of port and home-made biscuits.Food was delicious. Only negative comment--difficult to unload luggage as no parking available nearby. a permit is given for a car park quite a walk away so may be difficult if elderly especially in the bad weather,but still have a cost of $£4.30 per 24 hrs. possibly should be funded by hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiesue_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Travelled to Stratford upon Avon for a 3 night break...could not fault the hotel, room was sumptuous and very quiet, restaurant was busy but service was good, food was excellent.only ate there one night. Breakfast also very good...very close to town centre and theatre. Would definitely recommend and return...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I was in Stratford for a business meeting and we came here for lunch. The surroundings are elegant and charming, and the food was excellent - highly recommend the smoked fish main course on the lunch fixed price menu which at £12 for 2 courses is outstanding value. It took the waitress a while to dig out the prix fixe menu, but let's put it down to her being new. I would definitely look the place up again when I am back in Stratford.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We have recently had our second stay at this hotel and were not disappointed. Fantastic location, beautiful decor and lovely comfortable rooms. Nothing better than a pre dinner drink in the piano bar followed by superb food in the atmospheric dining room...and breakfast is amazing. Now becoming avid fans of the RSC just to have an excuse to stay at the Church Street Town House! Only one comment...a twin room might be good so that I can bring my two young adult kids who dont really want to share a double. Well done team.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We spent 2 nights at the townhouse sun-mon 3rd 4th Feb on an excellent winter deal.The first thing that appealed to me was the friendly yet professional approach , from ringing to book (and then emailing to ask for a change of room) and throughout our stay the staff were lovely and eagre to make our stay the best it could be.the location is excellent 5 mins to the theatre lots of bars restaurants close by.
We stayed in room 12 a bright spacious room with both shower and rool top bath complete with a bathrack with champagne glass holder what more could a girl ask for? The room is at the front looking across at some wonderful timber buildings part of which are the grammar school it is a bright room having two windows we looked in several rooms all of which are decorated much the same and decided 12 was our favourite although rm 3 has a lot of atmosphere.The bed was large
and although firm was comfortable and we slept well we did hear the clock chime overnight but thats all part of the charm of the location.The room was well equipped hair dryer and straightners iron ironing board hospitality tray with tea and ground coffee cafetier fresh milk and water in the fridge a small decanter of port and cookies
The bar and restaurant is cosy and inviting with lots to look at ,the barman was friendly chatty and yet still professional.
We ate both nights in the restaurant the food was good (not excellent and maybe if i could i would give 4.5 insted of 5) service on the second night done mainly by the lovely barman was better than first and the same can be said for breakfast it was faultless on the second morning
there were a few minor issues the first morning i feel probably due to lack of experience and nothing major.There was live music on the sunday evening very good ,we missed the regular pianist on the monday
in summary i wouldnt hesitate to return and would recommend a stay here to my friends
i wish everyone the success they deserve ,reward for all their the hard work .

Room Tip: rm 3 romance atmosphere 12 for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkandfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,044 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Townhouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favorite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Townhouse Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing